2006, Wed, Sep 13

Adriana Lunardi (Brazil)

Adriana Lunardi | Copyright: Christelle Mata

Adriana Lunardi | Copyright: Christelle Mata

In “Vesperas” the author traces the last moments in the lives of great female writers. She reads “Dottie” - the last moments of Dorothy Parker, told from the perspective of her dog.

Adriana Lunardi is an author, journalist and television script-writer whose literary debut has already been honoured with two Brazilian literature awards. In her widely acclaimed collection of short stories, As meninas da Torre Helsinque (The Girls of the Helsinki Tower), published in 1996, Lunardi addresses the theme of love and sexuality in the lives of young girls. And her latest work, Vésperas (Afternoons), which recounts the last hours of famous women writers, is an equally sensitive and imaginative homage to women's contribution to world literature.


Despite the gravity of their subject matter, the nine short stories about the dying moments of Dorothy Parker, Virginia Woolf, Clarice Lispector, Colette, Katherine Mansfield, Sylvia Plath, Zelda Fitzgerald, Ana Cristina César and Julia da Costa are written in a style that is both light and devoid of pathos. For Virginia Woolf, for example, who is tormented by the voices of unwritten texts, the walk to the river was a liberation. Dorothy Parkers' lonely death is told from the restricted viewpoint of a dog. Without mimicking the writers' own style, and by relating their last thoughts and gestures, Adriana Lunardi manages to establish a connection with their works by taking literary form beyond that which has already been authenticated by their biographers.

Adriana Lunardi, who lives and works in Rio de Janeiro, was born in 1964 in the Brazilian state of Santa Catarina. She was awarded the Brazilian National Library's writers' scholarship and was honoured with the Prêmio Fumproarte and the Prêmio Açorianos in the categories "New Discoveries" and "Best Stories". "Vésperas" has been translated into French, Croatian and Spanish and was also published in Portugal in 2006.



An event held by the international literature festival berlin as part of the project "Copa da Cultura – Brazil and Germany 2006" in co-operation with the House of World Cultures and the Ministério da Cultura do Brasil.

Mi, 13. September 2006

Adriana Lunardi (Brasilien)

Adriana Lunardi | Copyright: Christelle Mata

Adriana Lunardi | Copyright: Christelle Mata

In „Vesperas“ zeichnet die Autorin die letzten Momente im Leben großer Autorinnen nach. Sie liest „Dottie“ – die letzten Augenblicke von Dorothy Parker, aufgezeichnet aus der Perspektive ihres Hundes.

Das literarische Debüt der Schriftstellerin, Journalistin und Fernsehautorin wurde bereits mit zwei brasilianischen Literaturpreisen ausgezeichnet. In dem vielbeachteten Erzählband von 1996 „As meninas da Torre Helsinque“ (Die Mädchen des Helsinki-Turms) thematisiert Adriana Lunardi Liebe und Sexualität im Leben junger Mädchen. Und ihr neuestes Werk „Vésperas“ (Vorabende), das die letzten Stunden prominenter Schriftstellerinnen schildert, ist eine ebenso einfühlsame und phantasievolle Hommage an den weiblichen Beitrag zur Weltliteratur.


Die neun Kurzgeschichten zu den Todesmomenten von Dorothy Parker, Virginia Woolf, Clarice Lispector, Colette, Katherine Mansfield, Sylvia Plath, Zelda Fitzgerald, Ana Cristina César und Julia da Costa sind trotz der Schwere des Themas mit Leichtigkeit und ohne jedes Pathos geschrieben. Für Virginia Woolf zum Beispiel, die von den Stimmen ungeschriebener Texte verfolgt wird, bedeutet der Gang zum Fluss eine Befreiung. Dorothy Parkers einsamer Tod wird aus der eingeschränkten Perspektive ihres Hundes gesehen. Ohne den Stil der Autorinnen nachzuahmen, gelingt es Adriana Lunardi, in der Schilderung letzter Gedanken und Gesten eine Verbindung zu den Werken der Autorinnen herzustellen, indem sie die literarische Gestaltung über biografisch Verbürgtes hinausführt.

Adriana Lunardi, die in Rio de Janeiro lebt und arbeitet, wurde 1964 im brasilianischen Bundesstaat Santa Catarina geboren. Sie erhielt das Schriftstellerstipendium der brasilianischen Nationalbibliothek, wurde mit dem Prêmio Fumproarte und dem Prêmio Açorianos in den Sparten „Neuentdeckungen“ und „beste Erzählungen“ ausgezeichnet. „Vésperas“ wurde ins Französische, Kroatische sowie ins Spanische übersetzt und erschien 2006 auch in Portugal.


Eine Veranstaltung des internationalen literaturfestivals berlin im Rahmen des Projektes "Copa da Cultura - Brasilien und Deutschland 2006" in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und dem Ministério da Cultura do Brasil.