Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2016, Fri, Apr 29 and 2016, Sat, Apr 30

POPTOUR

With Pekka Gronow und Stephan Wuthe

Berlin in the 1920s: record factories and recording studios line the Ritterstraße in Kreuzberg. The ethnomusicologist Pekka Gronow and the Swing expert Stephan Wuthe lead a guided tour of this center of the then-burgeoning international music industry—and other hidden sites of Pop history. With a demonstration of historical playback devices at the Märkisches Museum, Stadtmuseum Berlin.

Pekka Gronow is adjunct professor of ethnomusicology at the University of Helsinki. He is an internationally recognized historian of the record industry who has written many books and articles on the subject. In 2014, he was one of the organizers of an international conference on the history of the Berlin-based Beka record company at the Ethnological Museum of Berlin. From 2009 to 2014, he was the leader of “The Lindström project.” The research project, initiated by the Gesellschaft für historische Tonträger (Society for historical sound recordings), documents the global history of Carl Lindström AG, which was one of the major multinational record companies from 1904 to the 1940s. The Lindström Company building is still standing in Berlin, although it has been taken over by a number of small businesses today. It will be one of the points visited during the POPTOUR.

Since the 1990s, Stephan Wuthe, who was born in Berlin in 1966, has been holding Swing evenings. He is a storyteller and DJs with shellac records he began collecting as a child. His Swing and Jazz archive contains more than 5,000 recordings from between 1926 and 1958. His book Swing-Time in Deutschland was published by Transit Verlag. Wuthe studied fashion design in Paris and worked as a theater sculptor for the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

Fr, 29. April 2016 und Sa, 30. April 2016

POPTOUR

Mit Pekka Gronow und Stephan Wuthe

Berlin in den 1920ern: In der Kreuzberger Ritterstraße reihen sich Schallplattenproduktionsstätten an Aufnahmestudios. Der Musikethnologe Pekka Gronow und der Swing-Experte Stephan Wuthe führen in die damalige Hauptstraße der aufkeimenden internationalen Musikindustrie – und an andere Orte versteckter Popgeschichten. Im Märkischen Museum, Stadtmuseum Berlin, werden historische Wiedergabegeräte vorgeführt.

Pekka Gronow ist Dozent für Musikethnologie an der Universität Helsinki. Er ist ein international anerkannter Historiker der Plattenindustrie und hat zu diesem Thema zahlreiche Bücher und Aufsätze veröffentlicht. 2014 war er unter den Organisatoren einer internationalen Tagung zur Geschichte der um 1900 in Berlin ansässigen Plattenfirma Beka am Ethnologischen Museum in Berlin. Von 2009 bis 2014 war er Leiter des Forschungsvorhabens „Lindström Projekt“ der Gesellschaft für historische Tonträger. Das Projekt dokumentierte die weltumspannende Geschichte der Carl Lindström AG, eine der größten internationalen Plattenfirmen von 1904 bis in die 1940er Jahre. Der Sitz der Lindström AG in Berlin steht noch heute, wird aber inzwischen von verschiedenen kleinen Unternehmen genutzt. Er ist eine der Stationen der POPTOUR.

Stephan Wuthe, geboren 1966 in Berlin, veranstaltet seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre Swing-Abende, erzählt Geschichten und legt Schellackplatten auf, die er seit seiner Kindheit sammelt. Sein Archiv zum Thema Swing und Jazz besteht aus über 5.000 Platten und umfasst die Zeit von 1926 bis 1958. Sein Buch Swing-Time in Deutschland ist im Transit Verlag erschienen. Wuthe studierte Modedesign in Paris und arbeitete mehrere Jahre als Theaterplastiker an der Deutschen Oper Berlin.