2016, Tue, Apr 05

Democracy Lecture 2016: Paul Mason – After Capitalism?!

with Friederike Habermann, Paul Mason, Frank Rieger und Hans-Jürgen Urban; Moderation: Mathias Greffrath

Paul Mason | © Jürgen Bauer/Suhrkamp Verlag

Paul Mason | © Jürgen Bauer/Suhrkamp Verlag

Ever since the Lehman Brothers’ collapse we know that global capitalism was hit hard. What we don’t know: Is this just another of its usual crises or the dawn of a post-capitalist era? The British author Paul Mason is convinced that we stand at the threshold of something radically new.

Through digital networking and democratic socialization, we can build a fairer and sustainable society on the ruins of neoliberalism. After Thomas Piketty (2014) and Naomi Klein (2015), Blätter is dedicating its third Democracy Lecture to the question of our post-capitalist future. Following the lecture by Paul Mason, he will be joined for a discussion by the economist and activist Friederike Habermann, the spokesperson of the Chaos Computer Club Frank Rieger and Blätter co-editor Hans-Jürgen Urban. Their talk will be moderated by Mathias Greffrath.

Mathias Greffrath is an author and journalist; he studied sociology and philosophy. He worked as editor for Sender Freies Berlin, ZEIT and was editor-in-chief of the newspaper Wochenpost for three years. Since 1995, he has been writing articles, essays and radio plays as a freelancer for, among others, ZEIT, GEO, Theater heute, le monde diplomatique, taz, ARD radio broadcasters and Theater heute, mainly about the history of the enlightenment, the future of labor and the effects of globalization and climate change on culture and society.

Friederike Habermann is an author, activist and freelance academic as well as an economist, historian and doctor of political science. She has been politically active since the 1980s, for example in the LGBT, feminist and globalization movements as well as in networks of united economic management. In her latest publication, Ecommony. UmCARE zum Miteinander (Ulrike Helmer Verlag, 2016), she describes possibilities for a commons-based, non-capitalist society.

Paul Mason (@paulmasonnews), born in 1960, is a multiple award-winning English journalist and author. He reported from the hotspots of the economic crisis, from Iceland to Greece, for the BBC. Today he is the Economics Editor for Channel 4 News and a visiting professor at the University of Wolverhampton. A German translation of his 2015 book PostCapitalism: A Guide to our Future will soon be published by Suhrkamp Verlag.

Frank Rieger is a hacker, author, technology publicist, Internet activist and one of the spokespeople of the Chaos Computer Club (CCC). He founded a number of startups in the sectors of data security, navigation services and e-readers and is currently working as CEO of a communications security firm. He publishes articles regularly in the Frankfurter Allgmeine Zeitung and the podcast Alternativlos together with Felix Leitner.

Hans-Jürgen Urban is co-editor of the Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik and managing director of the trade union IG Metall.

Democracy Lecture of the Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt.
With kind support from Suhrkamp Verlag.

Di, 05. April 2016

Democracy Lecture 2016: Paul Mason – Nach dem Kapitalismus?!

mit Friederike Habermann, Paul Mason, Frank Rieger und Hans-Jürgen Urban; Moderation: Mathias Greffrath

Paul Mason | © Jürgen Bauer/Suhrkamp Verlag

Paul Mason | © Jürgen Bauer/Suhrkamp Verlag

Seit der Lehman-Brothers-Pleite wissen wir: Der globale Kapitalismus ist massiv angeschlagen. Was wir nicht wissen: Erleben wir eine seiner üblichen Krisen oder den Anbruch einer postkapitalistischen Ära?

Der britische Autor Paul Mason ist davon überzeugt, dass wir am Anfang von etwas radikal Neuem stehen. Auf den Trümmern des Neoliberalismus können wir eine gerechtere und nachhaltige Gesellschaft errichten – durch digitale Vernetzung und demokratische Vergesellschaftung.Der Frage nach der postkapitalistischen Zukunft widmen die Blätter ihre dritte Democracy Lecture – nach Thomas Piketty (2014) und Naomi Klein (2015).

Im Anschluss an den Vortrag von Paul Mason diskutieren mit ihm: die Ökonomin und Aktivistin Friederike Habermann, Frank Rieger, Sprecher des Chaos Computer Clubs, und Blätter-Mitherausgeber Hans-Jürgen Urban. Es moderiert Mathias Greffrath.

Mathias Greffrath ist Autor und Journalist, studierte Soziologie und Philosophie . Er war Redakteur beim Sender Freies Berlin, der ZEIT, leitete drei Jahre lang als Chefredakteur die Zeitung „Wochenpost“. Seit 1995 schreibt er als freier Autor Artikel, Essays und Hörspiele, u.a. für die ZEIT, GEO, Theater heute, le monde diplomatique, die taz, ARD-Hörfunkanstalten und Theater heute, vor allem über die Geschichte der Aufklärung sowie über die „Zukunft der Arbeit“ und die Auswirkungen von Globalisierung und Klimawandel auf Kultur und Gesellschaft.

Friederike Habermann ist Autorin, Aktivistin und freie Akademikerin sowie Ökonomin, Historikerin und promoviert in politischer Wissenschaft. Seit den 1980er Jahren ist sie politisch aktiv, u. a. in der (queer-)feministischen und in der Globalisierungswegung sowie in Vernetzungen solidarischen Wirtschaftens. In ihrer jüngsten Veröffentlichung: Ecommony. UmCARE zum Miteinander (Ulrike Helmer Verlag, 2016) beschreibt sie Möglichkeiten für eine commonsbasierte, nichtkapitalistische Gesellschaft.

Paul Mason (@paulmasonnews), geboren 1960, ist ein vielfach ausgezeichneter englischer Journalist und Buchautor. Er berichtete für die BBC von den Brennpunkten der Wirtschaftskrise, von Island bis Griechenland. Heute leitet er die Wirtschaftsredaktion von Channel 4 News. Außerdem lehrt er als Gastprofessor an der Universität von Wolverhampton. In Kürze erscheint im Suhrkamp Verlag sein neues Buch Postkapitalismus – Grundrisse einer kommenden Ökonomie.

Frank Rieger ist Hacker, Autor, Technikpublizist, Internetaktivist und einer der Sprecher des Chaos Computer Clubs (CCC). Er ist Gründer verschiedener Startup-Unternehmen in den Bereichen Datensicherheit, Navigationsdienste und E-Reading und arbeitet zurzeit als Geschäftsführer eines Unternehmens für Kommunikaitonssicherheit. Regelmäßig publiziert er in der Frankfurter Allgmeinen Zeitung und betreibt zusammen mit Felix Leitner den Podcast Alternativlos.

Hans-Jürgen Urban ist Mitherausgeber der Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik und Privatdozent an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Seit 2007 ist er Geschäftsführendes Vorstandsmitglied der IG Metall.

Democracy Lecture der Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Suhrkamp Verlags.