2017, Wed, Jun 28

Democracy Lecture 2017: Wendy Brown – Democracy under Attack: Apocalyptic Populism

With Wendy Brown, Ulrike Beate Guérot, Micha Brumlik, Moderated by Mathias Greffrath

Wendy Brown | © privat

Wendy Brown | © privat

An archetype of Homo Oeconomicus occupies the White House: for Donald Trump, democracy is an enemy of “free markets“ and all that counts successful is the uncompromising deal. Trump’s strongest weapon is an apocalyptic populism which fuels aggressive nationalist movements. Their goal is to abolish the democratic order: the rule of law, its institutions and the so-called “establishment.” What are the consequences of this devastating campaign against democracy? And how can it be stopped? Did Europe find viable answers in Emmanuel Macron and Jeremy Corbyn?

After lectures by Thomas Piketty (2014), Naomi Klein (2015), and Paul Mason (2016) Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik dedicates its fourth Democracy Lecture to the threatened future of democracy. Following the lecture, Wendy Brown will be joined for a discussion by political scientist Ulrike Beate Guérot and Blätter co-editor Micha Brumlik moderated by Mathias Greffath.

Wendy Brown is one of the most pugnacious and prominent contemporary intellectuals. She is Professor for Political Science at the University of California in Berkeley. In her most recent book Undoing the Demos: Neoliberalism’s Stealth Revolution, published in 2015, she analyzes how neoliberalism produces the Homo Oeconomicus and destroys democracy. Brown’s works have been translated into more than twenty languages.

Democracy Lecture of the Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt.

With kind support from Suhrkamp Verlag

Mi, 28. Juni 2017

Democracy Lecture 2017: Wendy Brown – Demokratie unter Beschuss: Der apokalyptische Populismus

Mit Wendy Brown, Ulrike Beate Guérot, Micha Brumlik, Moderation: Mathias Greffrath

Wendy Brown | © privat

Wendy Brown | © privat

Im Weißen Haus regiert der Prototyp des Homo Oeconomicus: Für Donald Trump zählen allein das kompromisslose Geschäft und sein persönlicher Profit. Demokratie betrachtet er als Feind der „freien Märkte“. Trumps stärkste Waffe ist ein apokalyptischer Populismus, der eine aggressive nationalistische Bewegung befeuert. Deren Anhänger*innen wollen die demokratische Ordnung hinwegfegen: den Rechtsstaat, seine Institutionen und das „Establishment“. Welche Folgen hat dieser zerstörerische Feldzug gegen die Demokratie? Und wie lässt er sich aufhalten? Hat Europa mit Emmanuel Macron und Jeremy Corbyn taugliche Antworten gefunden?

Diesen Fragen widmen die Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik ihre vierte Democracy Lecture – nach Thomas Piketty (2014), Naomi Klein (2015) und Paul Mason (2016). Im Anschluss an den Vortrag von Wendy Brown diskutieren mit ihr: die Politikwissenschaftlerin Ulrike Beate Guérot und der Blätter-Mitherausgeber Micha Brumlik. Es moderiert Mathias Greffrath.

Wendy Brown ist eine der streitbarsten Intellektuellen der Gegenwart. Sie lehrt als Professorin für Politikwissenschaften an der University of California in Berkeley. In ihrem jüngsten Buch Die schleichende Revolution, das 2015 im Suhrkamp Verlag erschienen ist, analysiert sie, wie der Neoliberalismus den totalen Homo oeconomicus hervorbringt und die Demokratie zerstört. Browns Werke wurden in mehr als 20 Sprachen übersetzt.

Democracy Lecture der Blätter für deutsche und internationale Politik in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Suhrkamp Verlags.