2016, Sat, Mar 05

Language and Communication, Social Life, Internet-access

Working groups and final presentations

Refugees, volunteers, activists, digital developers, theorists and artists gather to discuss tools and strategies for refugee’s self-organization. The situation in Germany is changing dramatically. New challenges are coming up. What needs to be done? What is important for empowerment and self-organization? In working groups, refugees and non-refugees activists and their supporters meet to analyze the current needs and develop responses.

Three parallel workshops are working on the following themes. Registration needed.

Language / Communication
Language is essential for self-determination, but residence status determines access to German classes. What approaches promote communicative competence? How can communications with public authorities be optimized?
With Interaction Leipzig, App-Programmer Erik Stappenbeck and others, Moderation: Silvia Fehrmann

Social life (play, creativity, community, public space, social media etc.)
Space and time for socializing, creativity and play are part of a life in dignity. These basic needs are lacking in mass shelters for refugees. How does community participation develop? What role do digital access and social media play in it?
With Refugee Club Impulse, Amei von Hülsen-Poensgen (Willkommen im Westend), Moderation: Diana McCarty


Internet Access
Internet access is essential for self-determination. For years, self-organized refugee organizations such as Women in Exile und Refugee Emancipation have advocated providing Internet access in refugee housing. What schemes are most effective?
With Women in Exile & Refugee Emancipation, Moderation: Eben Chu

1.30 pm public presentation

Sa, 05. März 2016

Sprache und Kommunikation, Soziales Leben, Internetzugang

Arbeitsgruppen mit Abschlusspräsentation

Geflüchtete, Freiwillige, Aktivist*innen, Digitalentwickler*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Künstler*innen setzen sich zusammen und erörtern Tools and Strategien für die Selbstorganisation von Geflüchteten. Die Situation in Deutschland verändert sich dramatisch. Neue Herausforderungen entstehen. Was muss getan werden? Was ist für Empowerment und Selbstorganisation wichtig? In Arbeitsgruppen setzen sich geflüchtete und nicht geflüchtete Aktivist*innen und ihre Unterstützer*innen zusammen, und aktuelle Bedürfnisse zu analysieren und angemessene Reaktionen zu entwickeln.

Drei parallele Workshops arbeiten zu den Themen. Anmeldung erforderlich.

Language / Communication
Sprache ist wesentlich für die Selbstbestimmung. Doch der Aufenthaltsstatus entscheidet über den Zugang zu Deutschkursen. Welche Ansätze fördern kommunikative Kompetenz? Wie lässt sich die Kommunikation mit Behörden optimieren?
Mit Interaction Leipzig, App-Programmierer Erik Stappenbeck und anderen, Moderation: Silvia Fehrmann


Soziales Leben
Zu einem Leben in Würde gehört Raum und Zeit für soziale Kontakte, Kreativität und Spiel. Diese Grundbedürfnisse kommen in Massenunterkünften für Geflüchtete nicht zur Geltung. Wie ensteht Teilhabe an der Gemeinschaft? Welche Rolle spielen dabei digitaler Zugang und soziale Medien?
With Refugee Club Impulse, Amei von Hülsen-Poensgen (Willkommen im Westend)
Moderation: Diana McCarty


Internet Access
Internetzugang ist wesentlich für die Selbstbestimmung. Selbstorganisierte Refugee-Organisationen wie Women in Exile und Refugee Emancipation engagieren sich seit Jahren für den Internetzugang in Flüchtlingsunterkünften. Welche Konzepte zeigen Wirkung?
Mit Women in Exile & Refugee Emancipation.
Moderation: Eben Chu

13:30h: Öffentliche Präsentation