Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2016, Sat, Mar 05

Mapping, Visibility and Narratives, Urban and Digital Space

Working groups and final presentation

Refugees, volunteers, activists, digital developers, theorists and artists gather to discuss tools and strategies for refugee’s self-organization. The situation in Germany is changing dramatically. New challenges are coming up. What needs to be done? What is important for empowerment and self-organization? In working groups, refugees and non-refugees activists and their supporters meet to analyze the current needs and develop responses.

Three parallel workshops are working on the following themes: Registration needed.

Mapping the City
Mapping a space is the same as appropriating it. Many projects are digitally mapping the urban space as a method for visualization, empowerment and appropriation. What communities have emerged from mapping projects and how can the projects be set up for the long term?
With Arriving in Berlin, maptime Berlin, Marizon Bilano, Moderation: Ralf Rebmann

Narration / Visibility
What images and stories are needed to express the problems and demands of refugees? How is the fight against discrimination made visible? What change of perspective is needed to strengthen solidarity of refugees and non-refugees?
With Bino Byansi Byakuleka: We are born free! Empowerment Radio, mediale pfade and others. Moderation: Nanna Heidenreich

Urban and Digital Space
Connecting spaces - digital, urban and translocal relations and strategies
The workshop deals with refugee and non-refugee practices and experiences using digital technologies and their importance in everyday life, political emergencies and urban space. Which spaces, places, communities and realities are we connecting to and connected to through our use of mobile phones, instant messengers and other social media? How do our digital experiences relate to physical encounters and face-to-face relations?
With and moderated by metroZones

5.30 pm public presentation

Sa, 05. März 2016

Mapping, Sichtbarkeit und Narrative, Städtischer und digitaler Raum

Arbeitsgruppen mit Abschlusspräsentation

Geflüchtete, Freiwillige, Aktivist*innen, Digitalentwickler*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Künstler*innen setzen sich zusammen und erörtern Tools and Strategien für die Selbstorganisation von Geflüchteten. Die Situation in Deutschland verändert sich dramatisch. Neue Herausforderungen entstehen. Was muss getan werden? Was ist für Empowerment und Selbstorganisation wichtig? In Arbeitsgruppen setzen sich geflüchtete und nicht geflüchtete Aktivist*innen und ihre Unterstützer*innen zusammen, und aktuelle Bedürfnisse zu analysieren und angemessene Reaktionen zu entwickeln.

Drei parallele Workshops arbeiten zu den folgenden Themen. Anmeldung erforderlich.

Die Stadt kartieren
Einen Raum kartieren heißt, sich ihn anzueignen. Zahlreiche Projekte kartieren den Stadtraum digital als Methode der Visualisierung, Ermächtigung und Raumaneignung. Welche Communities sind aus Mapping-Projekten hervorgegangen, wie lassen sich die Projekte nachhaltig aufbauen?
Mit Arriving in Berlin, maptime Berlin, Marizon Bilano
Moderation: Ralf Rebmann


Sichtbarkeit und Narrative
Welche Bilder und Geschichten braucht es, um Probleme und Forderungen der Flüchtenden Ausdruck zu verleihen? Wie wird der Kampf gegen Diskriminierungen sichtbar? Welcher Perspektivwechsel ist notwendig, um die Solidarität von Refugees und Non-Refugees zu stärken?
Mit Bino Byansi Byakuleka, We are born free! Empowerment Radio, mediale pfade und andere.
Moderation: Nanna Heidenreich

Städtischer und digitaler Raum
Räume verbinden – digitale, urbane und translokale Beziehungen und Strategien
Der Workshop setzt sich mit Praktiken und Erfahrungen von Geflüchteten und Nicht-Geflüchteten mit digitalen Technologien und deren Bedeutung im Alltagsleben, bei politischen Notfällen und im städtischen Raum auseinander. Mit welchen Räume, Communities und Wirklichkeiten setzen wir uns durch die Verwendung von Mobiltelefonen, Instant Messengern und anderen sozialen Medien in Verbindung? In welchem Verhältnis stehen unsere digitalen Erfahrungen zu physischen Begegnungen und persönlichen Beziehungen?
Mit und moderiert von metroZones

17:30: Öffentliche Präsentation