2016, Sat, Feb 27

Concert and Film Screening

Leila Albayaty: From a Palm Tree to the Stars

Leila Albayaty presents From a Palm Tree to the Stars as a multimedia performance. Against a backdrop of scenes from her film projected on the big screen, she will play live in the auditorium along with Kouzy Larsen (oud) and Hassan Alhanafay (electronic, ney flute).

ˮI raise the question of origins. This brings me towards the music of the Arab world, after having refused to do so. This music is so close and yet so distant, but also essential for me. It is a legacy that my father, an Iraqi exiled in France, did not hand down to me.”

In From a Palm Tree to the Stars, Leila Albayaty is developing a multi-faceted story of migration and its influence on cultural identity, while at the same time portraying her own journey between Arab and Western culture. Both the film and concert combine Leila Albayaty’s style between pop, lo-fi and electro with the traditional Arab musical mode bayātī, which employs quarter tones and is widespread in oriental music.

Leila Albayaty is a French musician, actress and filmmaker. She lives in Berlin and Brussels. She works on this project with the artist Zoé Nutchey.

From A Palm Tree to the Stars is funded by Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and supported by the Goethe-Institute Cairo.

Watch Leila Albayaty’s short film VU and listen to her music.

Sa, 27. Februar 2016

Concert and Film Screening

Leila Albayaty: From a Palm Tree to the Stars

Leila Albayaty präsentiert From a Palm Tree to the Stars als multimediale Performance: Gemeinsam mit Kouzy Larsen (Oud) und Hassan Alhanafay (Elektronik, Ney- Flöte) konzertiert sie im Auditorium und zeigt korrespondierend dazu Szenen ihres Films auf der großen Kinoleinwand.

„Ich stelle die Frage nach den Ursprüngen. Dies führt mich – nachdem ich mich lange geweigert habe – zu der Musik der arabischen Welt. Diese Musik ist so nah und doch so weit entfernt, aber auch wichtig für mich. Es ist ein Erbe, das mein Vater, ein Iraker im Exil in Frankreich, nicht an mich weitergegeben hat.

Mit From a Palm Tree to the Stars entfaltet die Künstlerin eine vielschichtige Erzählung von Migration und deren Einfluss auf kulturelle Identität. Sie zeichnet ein Porträt ihrer persönlichen Reise zwischen der zwischen der arabischen und westlichen Kultur. Film und Konzert verbinden Leila Albayatys musikalischen Stil zwischen Pop, Lo-Fi und Elektro mit der traditionellen arabischen Tonleiter Bayātī, die Vierteltöne benutzt und in den orientalischen Musiksprachen weit verbreitet ist. Leila Albayaty ist eine französische Musikerin, Schauspielerin und Filmregisseurin. Sie lebt in Berlin und Brüssel. Sie erarbeitet dieses Projekt mit der Künstlerin Zoé Nutchey.

From a Palm Tree to the Stars wird gefördert vom Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg und unterstützt vom Goethe-Institut Kairo.

Leila Albayatys Kurzfilm VU kann hier geschaut und ihre Musik hier gehört werden.