HKW is closed until the end of 2016 and is now out and about with projects in Berlin, Hamburg and Munich. | More information...

2015, Fri, Oct 30

Art Studio - Studio Living

Living and working as an artist under one roof

The Communal Villa in a Society of Syndicates | © Realism Working Group

The Communal Villa in a Society of Syndicates | © Realism Working Group

Shoptalk and panel discussion with the Realism Working Group and the studio commissioner of Berlin

Daniela Brahm (ExRotaprint), Silvia Carpaneto (architect), Mathias Heyden (Haben und Brauchen), Nikolaus Hirsch (co-curator Wohnungsfrage, HKW), Andreas Krüger (Belius Stiftung), Rolf Novy-Huy (Stiftung Trias), Florian Schmidt (studio commissioner bbk kulturwerk), Jessica Sehrt (artist), Jeronimo Voss (artist)

3-6 pm Shoptalk
How do (we) artists want to live, reside and work?
What perspectives do new and established residential models have to offer? Artists and experts from the fields of architecture, project development and urban planning discuss actual residential concepts and the relationship between life and artistic work. The focus is on topics such as communality, financial security and space requirements. The results of the shoptalk and the subsequent panel discussion will be incorporated in the studio commissioner’s 2020 Art Studios master plan.
Places are limited: please register by Oct 29, 2015 at

7-9 pm Panel Discussion
How can the concept of living and working under one roof be reformulated for artists?
Architects, artists and representatives of initiatives will discuss the results of the shoptalk and perspectives for new residential projects for artists.

Everyone is talking about the growing trend of living and working under one roof. But combined living and working is still often experimental. Has the relationship between living and working changed in the lives of artists? What experiences have people had with live-in studios and housing projects? What’s the status of support for studio living in Berlin? What might future models look like with respect to physical structure, type of ownership and funding? What role does housing for artists play in urban development policy?

Specific demands need to be satisfied by housing for working artists. Artists often work with large-scale artifacts and special substances. The space requirements are just as diverse as the genre-specific working methods. But artists’ ways of life are also diverse. Living and working in a community, whether in an artists’ community or in family and work-friendly types of housing for artists, has a long tradition as well as new relevance. There is also a need for financial security both for old age and due to changed conditions such as rapidly rising rents.

Forms of studio living are good options if they can fulfill the demands for types of spaces and affordability. According to surveys conducted by the Atelierbüro of bbk kulturwerk, one third of (Berlin) artists would like to reside in a live-in studio. Nonetheless, the supply lags far behind demand. This event will explore the question of whether and how living and working under one roof can be reconsidered for artists and what perspectives there are for new projects.

An event as part of the Wohnungsfrage project of HKW in cooperation with the Atelierbüro in the kulturwerk of bbk berlin GmbH. Art Studio - Studio Living was developed by Florian Schmidt, studio commissioner for Berlin and head of the Atelierbüro in the kulturwerk of bbk berlin GmbH.

Fr, 30. Oktober 2015

Art Studio – Studio Living

Wohnen und künstlerische Arbeit unter einem Dach

The Communal Villa in a Society of Syndicates | © Realism Working Group

The Communal Villa in a Society of Syndicates | © Realism Working Group

Fachgespräch und Podiumsdiskussion der Realism Working Group und des Atelierbeauftragten Berlin

Mit
Daniela Brahm (ExRotaprint), Silvia Carpaneto (Architektin), Mathias Heyden (Haben und Brauchen), Nikolaus Hirsch (Ko-Kurator Wohnungsfrage, HKW), Andreas Krüger (Belius Stiftung), Rolf Novy-Huy (Stiftung Trias), Florian Schmidt (Atelierbeauftragter bbk kulturwerk) Jessica Sehrt (Künstlerin), Jeronimo Voss (Künstler)

15-18 Uhr Werkstattgespräch
Wie wollen (wir) Künstler*innen leben, wohnen und arbeiten?
Welche Perspektiven bieten neue und bewährte Wohnmodelle? Künstler*innen und Expert*innen aus Architektur, Projektentwicklung und Stadtplanung diskutieren konkrete Wohnkonzepte und das Verhältnis von Leben und künstlerischem Arbeiten. Dabei stehen Themen wie Gemeinschaftlichkeit, Zukunftsvorsorge und Raumbedürfnisse im Mittelpunkt. Die Ergebnisse des Werkstattgesprächs und der anschließenden Podiumsdiskussion gehen in den Masterplan Art Studios 2020 des Atelierbeauftragten ein.
Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl: Anmeldung bis 29.10.2015 erforderlich unter

19-21 Uhr Podiumsdiskussion
Wie kann Wohnen und Arbeiten unter einem Dach für Künstler*innen neu gedacht werden?
Architekt*innen, Künstler*innen und Vertreter*innen von Initiativen diskutieren die Ergebnisse des Werkstattgesprächs und die Perspektiven für neue Wohnprojekte für Künstler*innen.

Dass Wohnen und Arbeiten immer mehr unter einem Dach stattfinden ist eine vieldiskutiertes Entwicklung. Doch noch oft läuft die Kombination von Wohnen und Arbeiten unter dem Label Experiment. Hat sich das Verhältnis von Wohnen und Arbeiten im Leben von Künstler*innen gewandelt? Welche Erfahrungen mit Atelierwohnungen und Wohnprojekten gibt es? Wo steht die Förderung von Atelierwohnen in Berlin? Wie könnten zukünftige Modelle hinsichtlich Baulichkeit, Eigentumsart und Förderung aussehen? Welche Rolle in der Stadtentwicklungspolitik haben Wohnformen für Künstler*innen?

Für künstlerisches Arbeiten bestehen besondere Ansprüche an die Wohnform. Oft wird mit großformatigen Artefakten und speziellen Substanzen gearbeitet. Entsprechend genrespezifischer Arbeitsweisen sind die Raumbedürfnisse vielfältig. Aber auch das Lebensmodell ‚Künstler*in‘ ist vielfältig. Eine lange Tradition und neue Aktualität hat das Leben und Arbeiten in Gemeinschaft, sei es als Künstler*innengemeinschaft oder als familien- und arbeitsfreundliche Wohnform für Künstler*innen. Hinzu kommt der Bedarf nach Zukunftsvorsorge – zum einen für das Alter, zum anderen aufgrund veränderter Lebensbedingungen wie rasant steigenden Mieten.

Atelierwohnformen bieten hierfür Chancen, wenn Ansprüche an Raumtypen und Bezahlbarkeit umgesetzt werden können. Nach den Erhebungen des Atelierbüros des bbk kulturwerks würde ein Drittel der (Berliner) Künstler*innen gerne in einer Atelierwohnung leben. Jedoch bleibt das Angebot weit hinter dem Bedarf zurück. Die Veranstaltung geht der Frage nach ob und wie Wohnen und Arbeiten unter einem Dach für Künstler*innen neu gedacht werden kann und welche Perspektiven für neue Projekte bestehen.

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen des Projekts Wohnungsfrage des HKW in Kooperation mit dem Atelierbüro im Kulturwerk des bbk berlin GmbH. Art Studio – Studio Living wurde konzipiert von Florian Schmidt, Atlierbeauftragter für Berlin und Leiter des Atelierbüros im Kulturwerk des bbk berlin GmbH.