2015, Mon, Oct 05

A Collective Memory: A process of construction in constant deconstruction

With Azin Feizabadi, Marianna Liosi, Kaya Behkalam, Sami Khatib, and Rusbeh Sarfaraz

Video-Still aus Cryptomnesia (73min, HD, 2014), Azin Feizabadi

Video-Still aus Cryptomnesia (73min, HD, 2014), Azin Feizabadi

In a choreographed and sometimes accidental setting, Azin Feizabadi examines the notions of ‘Translation’ and ‘Projection’ based on his film practice within the long-term project “A Collective Memory” (2009–ongoing). Marianna Liosi (researcher & curator, co-initiator of Regarding Spectatorship, Berlin), Kaya Behkalam (filmmaker & visual artist, Berlin/Cairo) and Sami Khatib (Walter Benjamin scholar, American University Beirut) will react toward this endeavour by taking it into other realms, projecting upon it, as well as deconstructing and reconstructing it.

A series of films and videos from the “A Collective Memory” archive will be displayed on a loop (13:00–22:00) in reference to the talk (19:00). Feizabadi’s latest film Cryptomnesia (73min, 2014, D) will celebrate its Berlin premiere in the presence of the main cast Rusbeh Sarfaraz (20:30).

An event within the framework of “Salon of Aesthetic Experiments,” a collaborative project with the Graduate School at the Forum for Post Graduate Studies at Berlin University of the Arts. The Graduate School is supported by the Einstein Stiftung Berlin.

Mo, 05. Oktober 2015

A Collective Memory: Ein Prozess der Konstruktion in konstanter Dekonstruktion

Mit Azin Feizabadi, Marianna Liosi, Kaya Behkalam, Sami Khatib und Rusbeh Sarfaraz

Video-Still aus Cryptomnesia (73min, HD, 2014), Azin Feizabadi

Video-Still aus Cryptomnesia (73min, HD, 2014), Azin Feizabadi

In einer choreografierten und manchmal zufälligen Szenerie wird Azin Feizabadi die Begriffe ‚Übersetzung‘ und ‚Projektion‘ auf Grundlage seiner filmischen Praxis innerhalb des Langzeitprojekts „A Collective Memory“ (seit 2009) untersuchen. Marianna Liosi (Wissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin, Co-Initiatorin von „Regarding Spectatorship“, Berlin), Kaya Behkalam, Filmemacherin und Künstlerin, Berlin/Kairo) und Sami Khatib (forscht zu Walter Benjamin an der American University Beirut) werden auf dieses Unterfangen reagieren, indem sie es auf ihren jeweilige Gebieten dekonstruieren und rekonstruieren.

Eine Reihe von Filmen und Videos aus dem Collective Memory-Archiv wird in einem Loop gezeigt (13.00 – 22.00 Uhr) und rahmt die Podiumsveranstaltung (19.00 Uhr) ein. Feizabadis neuester Film Cryptomnesia (73min, 2014, D) erlebt seine Berliner Premiere in Anwesenheit des Hauptdarstellers Rusbeh Sarfaraz (20.30 Uhr).

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Reihe „Salon für ästhetische Experimente“, eine Kooperation zwischen dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und der Graduiertenschule im Postgradualen Forum der Universität der Künste Berlin. Die Graduiertenschule wird unterstützt durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin