2015, Mon, Sep 14

Sign – Body – Instrument

About the development of technological artefacts

Photo: Science Museum London | Sir Ernest Rutherford's laboratory, early 20th century | Creative Commons

Photo: Science Museum London | Sir Ernest Rutherford's laboratory, early 20th century | Creative Commons

The evening is a lecture as dialog, between the artist Ralf Baecker and the sociologist Julian Stubbe. Jointly they will look at the emergence of technological artefacts from different perspectives. The focus of the lectures is the interdependence of empiricism und theory.

Ralf Baecker shows insights of his artistic practice that is located at the interface of art, science and technology. Julian Stubbe will report on an ethnography in which he compared the genesis of a robotic hand in science and Ralf Baecker’s media installation “Mirage”. He will address how technological objects gain symbolic meaning, how their material resistance influences bodily actions, and how both objects are enacted as epistemic instruments.

An event within the framework of “Salon of Aesthetic Experiments,” a collaborative project with the Graduate School at the Forum for Post Graduate Studies at Berlin University of the Arts. The Graduate School is supported by the Einstein Stiftung Berlin.

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Mo, 14. September 2015

Zeichen – Körper – Instrument

Über das Entstehen technologischer Artefakte

Foto: Science Museum London | Sir Ernest Rutherfords Labor, frühes 20. Jahrhundert | Creative Commons

Foto: Science Museum London | Sir Ernest Rutherfords Labor, frühes 20. Jahrhundert | Creative Commons

Der Abend ist ein dialogischer Vortrag des Künstlers Ralf Baecker und des Techniksoziologen Julian Stubbe. Gemeinsam betrachten sie aus sehr unterschiedlichen Perspektiven die Entstehung technologischer Artefakte. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf den Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Empirie und Theorie.

Ralf Baecker zeigt unter anderem Einblicke in seine künstlerische Praxis, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Technologie angesiedelt ist. Julian Stubbe berichtet aus einem ethnographischen Vergleich der Genese einer wissenschaftlichen Roboterhand und Ralf Baeckers Installation „Mirage“. Er adressiert wie technische Objekte zu sinnhaften Zeichen werden, wie ihre materiell-körperliche Widerständigkeit Handeln beeinflusst und wie sie als epistemische Instrumente wirken.

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Reihe „Salon für ästhetische Experimente“, eine Kooperation zwischen dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und der Graduiertenschule im Postgradualen Forum der Universität der Künste Berlin. Die Graduiertenschule wird unterstützt durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin