transmediale 2020 End to End


2020, Jan 28, Tue — 2020, Mar 01, Sun

© The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

© The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

Networks are everywhere, whether personal or organizational, for social or business life, centralized or decentralized. Leaving behind a decade marked by a backlash against the Internet and the network society, transmediale 2020 End to End focuses on forgotten and potential futures and re-evaluates networks and their limits. European critical Internet cultures that emerged in the 1990s serve as a starting point: They consistently provided alternatives to Silicon Valley’s centralized business models and to the belief that problems can be solved quickly and easily with new technologies.

Where are the limits of Internet-based networks? Is there a conceivable counter-power power? What alternative technological models and cultural narratives are needed to construct the principles of end-to-end communication anew? These questions will be explored at HKW in talks, screenings and the month-long group exhibition The Eternal Network. It shows around 15 artistic positions that question cultural and technological networks and rethink them in relation to contemporary urgencies. The film and video day with short film screenings, a lecture screening, talks and a feature film introduces both artistic and documentary perspectives on the discourse about the history and future of digital and analog networks. The transmediale 2020 End to End symposium will take place in the Berlin Volksbühne on January 31 and February 1, 2020.

transmediale is a project by transmediale e.V. and Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH at Haus der Kulturen der Welt. The festival has been funded as a cultural institution of excellence by Kulturstiftung des Bundes since 2004.

Jan 28, 2020
Opening

Jan, 28–Mar 1, 2020
Exhibition The Eternal Network

Jan 30, 2020
Film & Video Day

More about the program and for tickets:
transmediale.de

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

transmediale 2020 End to End


Di, 28. Januar 2020 — So, 01. März 2020

© The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

© The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger

Netzwerke sind überall, seien es persönliche oder organisatorische, gesellschaftliche oder wirtschaftliche, zentrale oder dezentrale. Ein Jahrzehnt hinter sich lassend, das vor allem durch einen Backlash gegen das Internet und die Netzwerkgesellschaft gekennzeichnet ist, setzt sich die transmediale 2020 End to End mit vergessenen und möglichen Zukunftsszenarien auseinander – und bewertet Netzwerke und deren Grenzen neu. Als Ausgangspunkt dienen in den 1990ern in Europa entstandene kritische Internetkulturen: Sie boten immer wieder Alternativen zu den zentralisierten Geschäftsmodellen des Silicon Valley und zum Glauben, Probleme seien mit neuen Technologien schnell und einfach zu lösen.

Wo sind die Grenzen internetbasierter Netzwerke? Gibt es eine denkbare Gegenmacht dazu? Welche alternativen technologischen Modelle und kulturellen Narrative sind nötig, um die Grundsätze der End-to-End-Kommunikation neu zu verhandeln? Diesen Fragen widmet sich im HKW Talks, Screenings sowie die einmonatige Gruppenausstellung The Eternal Network. Sie zeigt rund 15 künstlerische Positionen, die technologische und kulturelle Netzwerke angesichts aktueller Dringlichkeiten überdenken. Ein Film- und Videotag mit Kurzfilm-Screenings, einem Lecture-Screening, Gesprächen und einem Langfilm bringt künstlerische und dokumentarische Perspektiven in den Diskurs um die Geschichte und die Zukunft digitaler sowie analoger Netzwerke ein. Das Symposium der transmediale 2020 End to End findet am 31. Januar und am 1. Februar 2020 in der Volksbühne Berlin statt.

Die transmediale ist ein Projekt von transmediale e.V. und Kulturprojekte Berlin GmbH im Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Die Kulturstiftung des Bundes fördert die transmediale bereits seit 2004 als kulturelle Spitzeneinrichtung.

28.01.2020
Eröffnung

28.01.–01.03.2020
Ausstellung The Eternal Network

30.01.2020
Film & Video Tag

Mehr zum Programm und Tickets:
transmediale.de

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung