From Nov 2 the HKW program continues in digital form. The building is closed. More…

Errata

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay, New Red Order and others, organized by Anselm Franke
2020, Sep 11, Fri — 2020, Oct 18, Sun

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay | Errata (details) | Photo: Roberto Ruiz, Fundació Antoni Tàpies

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay | Errata (details) | Photo: Roberto Ruiz, Fundació Antoni Tàpies

New Red Order | Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality (still) | Courtesy New Red Order

New Red Order | Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality (still) | Courtesy New Red Order

Current forms of action against structural violence reveal massive fault lines in how modern and imperial histories are being remembered and mobilized. While statues celebrating slaveholders are torn down in one place, other places witness the uncanny reconstruction of imperial symbols and the corresponding political imaginary. This inevitable shift in perspective on the modern era—starting from the European Renaissance and early colonial capitalism—is the common ground of the projects presented in the exhibition Errata.

Errata is a title borrowed from a larger project by the theorist and filmmaker Ariella Aïsha Azoulay. Her work focuses on the violence of imperial boundary making and suggests a hitherto underrecognized relationship between documented cultural artifacts and undocumented migrants. The part of the work presented at HKW is an archive of what she calls “Imperial Publications,” which refers to the entanglement of museum collections with extractive violence. Azoulay describes her work as an intervention into the imperial grammar of photographic archives and as a series of “rehearsals” in non-imperial modes of literacy, addressing the politics of restitution and repair.

The video Never Settle, by New Red Order (NRO) presents itself as a recruitment campaign for a public secret society, which simultaneously satirizes and sincerely engages with solidarity and the desire for Indigenous epistemologies. NRO’s video, Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality, morphs monuments into metastasizing flesh via ritualized photogrammetric capture and virtual manipulation, clearing space for Indigenous futures.

Exhibition

Opening hours:
Sep 11–Oct 18, 2020
Daily except Tue
12 noon – 8 pm

Lobby

Free admission

To ensure comfort and security of our visitors and employees, health and safety protocols have been established. This includes a reduced visitor capacity and a no-touch viewing experience. Please wear your own mouth and nose protection on site and maintain a minimum distance of 1.5 meters from others.
More information...

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Errata

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay, New Red Order u. a., organisiert von Anselm Franke
Fr, 11. September 2020 — So, 18. Oktober 2020

Foto © New Red Order

Foto © New Red Order

Errata | Installationsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Errata | Installationsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Errata | Installationsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Errata | Installationsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay | Errata (Details) | Foto: Roberto Ruiz, Fundació Antoni Tàpies

Ariella Aïsha Azoulay | Errata (Details) | Foto: Roberto Ruiz, Fundació Antoni Tàpies

New Red Order | Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality (still) | Courtesy New Red Order

New Red Order | Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality (still) | Courtesy New Red Order

Aktuelle Proteste gegen strukturelle Gewalt legen die Bruchlinien der Geschichtsschreibung offen: Wie wird moderne und imperiale Geschichte geschrieben, erinnert und in Stellung gebracht? Während an manchen Orten Sklavenhalter-Statuen stürzen, wird andernorts mit beklemmendem Eifer an der Rekonstruktion imperialer Symbole und der entsprechenden politischen Metaphorik gearbeitet. Die Notwendigkeit eines Perspektivwechsels auf die gesamte Neuzeit und Moderne verbindet die Positionen in der Ausstellung Errata, ausgehend von der europäischen Renaissance und dem frühen Kapitalismus.

Der Titel Errata ist eines größeren Projekts der Theoretikerin und Filmemacherin Ariella Aïsha Azoulay entliehen, die die Gewalt durch imperiale Grenzziehungen thematisiert ebenso wie das bisher wenig beachtete Verhältnis zwischen dokumentierten kulturellen Artefakten einerseits und undokumentierten, papierlosen Migrant*innen andererseits. Der im HKW gezeigte Teil ihrer Arbeit ist ein Archiv von „imperialien Publikationen“, wie sie sie nennt, das die Verstrickung von Museumssammlungen in Raubbau und Gewalt thematisiert. Azoulay bezeichnet ihre Arbeit als Intervention in die imperiale Grammatik fotografischer Archive und als eine Folge von „Übungen“ nicht-imperialen Verstehens mit dem Ziel einer Politik von Restitution und Reparatur.

Die Filmarbeit Never Settle von New Red Order (NRO) präsentiert sich als Rekrutierungskampagne für eine öffentliche Geheimgesellschaft, die Bemühungen um Solidarität und das Verlangen nach indigenen Epistemologien auf satirische und doch ernsthafte Weise hinterfragt. Das Video Culture Capture: Crimes Against Reality von NRO verwandelt mittels ritualisierter, fotogrammetrischer Erfassung und virtueller Manipulation Denkmäler in metastasierendes Fleisch und schafft Raum für indigene Zukünfte.

Ausstellung

Öffnungszeiten:
11.09.–18.10.2020
täglich außer Di
12–20h

Foyer

Eintritt frei

Umfassende Hygienevorkehrungen zum Schutz der Besucher*innen und Mitarbeiter*innen beinhalten eine begrenzte Besucher*innen-Kapazität und ein kontaktloses Ausstellungserlebnis. Bitte tragen Sie vor Ort einen eigenen Mund-Nasen-Schutz und halten Sie den Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern zu anderen Besucher*innen ein.
Mehr Information...

Nichts mehr verpassen! Mit dem wöchentlichen HKW-Newsletter sind Sie immer auf dem Laufenden.
Zur Anmeldung