Meine Homère ist tot ...

Hélène Cixous | Claudia Simma

„Meine zerfallende Mutter geht in mir um.“

Meine Homère ist tot ... | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Meine Homère ist tot ... | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comments

Horror, transcendence and collapse – Hélène Cixous’s book encompasses everything with a force as tender and penetrating as it is resolutely and delicately specific. The author writes of the last years and months of a life, of what it is to be a mother and a daughter, and concretely, of the death of her own 103-year-old mother Ève in 2013, in a language that has passed through 45 years of thinking and writing only to have no tools with which to speak of the final things. This language finds existential sentences to express the existential devastation of love, of being there for one another and of being forced to leave one another. Meine Homère ist tot ... (Mother Homer is Dead) offers a rare and precious reading experience, in no small part thanks to Claudia Simma’s outstanding translation.
— Daniela Seel

Hélène Cixous | © Sophie Bassouls, 2019

Hélène Cixous | © Sophie Bassouls, 2019

Author: Hélène Cixous

The author, playwright, feminist and philosopher Hélène Cixous was born to a Jewish family in Algeria in 1937. Following the student protests in 1968, she co-founded the Centre Universitaire Expérimental de Vincennes (now Paris VIII), where she taught as a professor and where, in 1974, she founded the first center for feminist studies in France. Her essay The Laugh of the Medusa established her as a key figure in the development of écriture féminine, a movement which continues to influence feminist and gender discourses today. As a result of her yearslong collaboration with Jacques Derrida, she also played a decisive role in the rise of deconstructionism.

Claudia Simma | © Manuel Irniger, 2019

Claudia Simma | © Manuel Irniger, 2019

Translator: Claudia Simma

Claudia Simma was born in 1969 in Zurich and studied philosophy and comparative and English literature. Supervised by Hélène Cixous, she received her doctorate from the Center for Feminist Studies at the University of Paris VIII in 2000 with a thesis on Clarice Lispector’s The Passion According to G.H. She teaches literature and aesthetics in Paris and has translated Hélène Cixous since 2010.

Meine Homère ist tot ...

Hélène Cixous | Claudia Simma

„Meine zerfallende Mutter geht in mir um.“

Meine Homère ist tot ... | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Meine Homère ist tot ... | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

Ein Entsetzen, ein Übersteigen und Untergehen, zärtlich, durchdringend, bestimmt, von haarfein spezifischer Wucht ‒ ein Text um alles. Hélène Cixous spricht von den letzten Jahren, den letzten Monaten, vom Mutterundtochtersein, vor allem aber vom ganz konkreten Sterben ihrer 103-jährigen Mutter Ève im Jahr 2013. In einer Sprache, die durch ein 45-jähriges Schreib- und Denkleben gegangen ist, um für die letzten Dinge kein schon begriffenes Werkzeug zu haben. Eine Sprache, die existenzielle Sätze findet für eine existenzielle Überforderung, im Lieben, Füreinanderdasein und Voneinanderlassenmüssen. Eine sehr seltene, kostbare Leseerfahrung, die sich auch der herausragenden Übersetzung von Claudia Simma verdankt.
— Daniela Seel

Hélène Cixous | © Sophie Bassouls, 2019

Hélène Cixous | © Sophie Bassouls, 2019

Autorin: Hélène Cixous

Hélène Cixous, 1937 als Tochter jüdischer Eltern in Algerien geboren, ist Schriftstellerin, Dramaturgin, Essayistin, Feministin und Denkerin. Infolge der Studentenproteste in Paris wurde sie 1968 mit der Gründung der experimentalen Universität Vincennes (später Paris VIII) beauftragt, wo sie als Professorin lehrte und 1974 das erste Forschungszentrum für Études Féminines in Frankreich gründete. Mit ihrem Essay Das Lachen der Medusa wurde sie zur wichtigen Impulsgeberin einer écriture féminine, deren Einfluss auf feministische Debatten und Gender-Diskurse bis heute spürbar ist. Durch den langjährigen Austausch mit Jacques Derrida war sie außerdem eng mit der Entwicklung der Dekonstruktion verbunden.

Claudia Simma | © Manuel Irniger, 2019

Claudia Simma | © Manuel Irniger, 2019

Übersetzerin: Claudia Simma

Claudia Simma, 1969 in Zürich geboren, studierte Philosophie, Komparatistik und englische Literatur sowie am Zentrum für Études Féminines an der Universität Paris VIII und promovierte im Jahr 2000 bei Hélène Cixous über Die Passion nach G. H. von Clarice Lispector. Sie unterrichtet Literatur und Ästhetik in Paris und gehört seit 2010 zu den Übersetzer*innen des umfangreichen Werks Hélène Cixous’.