Saison der Wirbelstürme

Fernanda Melchor | Angelica Ammar

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2019
Laudatory speech

„Es heißt, dass sie in Wirklichkeit gar nicht gestorben sei, weil Hexen nicht so leicht sterben.“

Saison der Wirbelstürme | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Saison der Wirbelstürme | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comments

In thrilling, furious sentences, Fernanda Melchor tells the story of a femicide in rural Mexico. She examines the people who congregated around the victim – a witch – until her death: the young men in search of cocaine and cheap sex, and the even younger women who came to her looking for illegal abortions. In tracing the events that led up to the gruesome crime, Melchor reveals the psychological and socioeconomic mechanisms that underpin the sugarcane-surrounded town of La Matosa. The titular hurricanes not only hint at the prevailing conditions in the town, but, thanks to the power of the author’s language, even seem to descend upon us. Angelica Ammar has brought these raging storms of prose into German with extraordinary ingenuity.
— Daniel Medin

Fernanda Melchor | © privat

Fernanda Melchor | © privat

Author: Fernanda Melchor

Fernanda Melchor was born in Veracruz, Mexico, in 1982, and lives in Puebla. A novelist and journalist whose crónicas (journalistic reports) have been awarded numerous prizes, she is considered one of the most talented writers of her generation. Her debut novel, Falsa liebre (False Hare), was published in 2013, as was her collection of crónicas Aquí no es Miami (This is Not Miami). Her second novel, Saison der Wirbelstürme (Hurricane Season), is published simultaneously in several countries, including the USA, Italy, France and Great Britain.

Angelica Ammar | © Ann-Christine Woehrl

Angelica Ammar | © Ann-Christine Woehrl

Translator: Angelica Ammar

Angelica Ammar was born and raised in Munich. After a long stay in Ghana, she studied Romance languages and ethnology in Munich, Madrid and Paris, where she lived for ten years. She moved to Barcelona in 2007. Her debut novel Tolmedo was awarded the Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung literature prize in 2006. Her second novel, Die Zeit der grünen Mandeln, appeared in 2010. She has translated Sergio Pitol, Mario Vargas Llosa, Rita Indiana, Gioconda Belli, Eduardo Galeano and Horacio Quiroga, among others.

Saison der Wirbelstürme

Fernanda Melchor | Angelica Ammar

„Es heißt, dass sie in Wirklichkeit gar nicht gestorben sei, weil Hexen nicht so leicht sterben.“

Saison der Wirbelstürme | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Saison der Wirbelstürme | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

Fernanda Melchors Buch handelt in wuterfüllten, mitreißenden Sätzen von der Geschichte eines Frauenmords im ländlichen Mexiko. Erzählt wird von Menschen, die mit dem Opfer – der Hexe – Umgang pflegten bis zu ihrem Tod: von jungen Männern, die auf der Suche nach billigem Sex und Kokain sind, und noch jüngeren Frauen, die sie wegen des staatlichen Abtreibungsverbotes aufsuchen. Indem Melchor den Ereignissen nachspürt, die zu diesem grausamen Verbrechen geführt haben, entblößt sie die psychologischen und sozioökonomischen Mechanismen, die den von Zuckerrohr umgebenen Ort La Matosa prägen. Die titelgebenden Wirbelstürme zeugen nicht nur von den dort herrschenden Verhältnissen, sie brechen auch dank der sprachlichen Ausdruckskraft der Autorin über uns herein. Angelica Ammar hat die Wirbelstürme dieser Prosa hervorragend erfindungsreich ins Deutsche übertragen.
— Daniel Medin

Fernanda Melchor | © privat

Fernanda Melchor | © privat

Autorin: Fernanda Melchor

Fernanda Melchor, 1982 im mexikanischen Bundesstaat Veracruz geboren, schreibt Romane und Reportagen (crónicas), für die sie bereits mehrere Preise gewonnen hat. Sie lebt in Puebla und gilt als eine der talentiertesten Autor*innen ihrer Generation. 2013 veröffentlichte sie ihren ersten Roman Falsa liebre sowie eine Sammlung von crónicas Aquí no es Miami. Ihr zweiter Roman Saison der Wirbelstürme erscheint gleichzeitig in mehreren Ländern, u. a. in den USA, Italien, Frankreich und Großbritannien.

Angelica Ammar | © Ann-Christine Woehrl

Angelica Ammar | © Ann-Christine Woehrl

Übersetzerin: Angelica Ammar

Angelica Ammar ist in München geboren und aufgewachsen. Nach einem längeren Aufenthalt in Ghana studierte sie Romanistik und Ethnologie in München, Madrid und Paris, wo sie zehn Jahre lebte. 2007 zog sie nach Barcelona. Für ihren Debütroman Tolmedo erhielt sie 2006 den Literaturpreis der Jürgen-Ponto-Stiftung, 2010 erschien ihr zweiter Roman Die Zeit der grünen Mandeln. Sie übersetzte u. a. Sergio Pitol, Mario Vargas Llosa, Rita Indiana,Gioconda Belli, Eduardo Galeano und Horacio Quiroga aus dem Spanischen.