Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

Race, Nation, Class. Ambiguous Identities

Notes on the volume by Étienne Balibar and Immanuel Wallerstein (first published in French in 1988)

Cover of the first French edition of Race, Nation, Class | © Henri Cattolica and Éditions La Découverte

Cover of the first French edition of Race, Nation, Class | © Henri Cattolica and Éditions La Découverte

Balibar and Wallerstein’s Race, Nation, Class. Ambiguous Identities traces fundamental contradictions of the historical categories of “race,” “nation,” and “class” in capitalism. Theoretically, racism and nationalism ought to be disadvantageous for capitalism’s smooth functioning, as they restrict and organise the potential amount of exploitable labour according to non-profit-oriented criteria. States, on the other hand, prove themselves problematic because they prevent or regulate capital flows. Yet the capitalist mode of production has asserted itself across the board without doing away with the nation form or curtailing racism. That said, both nation and racism change in different contexts and repeatedly bring forth new conjunctures.

Balibar and Wallerstein’s historical analysis works out how racism emerges in connection with the constitution of classes and, in doing so, secures social stratification while at the same time being constitutive for the formation of “state” and “the people” in the way it allows for a relatively flexible organisation of (internal) in- and exclusions. Nationalism, for its part, mobilises society for both a state’s demarcation vis-à-vis others as well as for imperialist strategies. Not least, racism creates concrete realities in which people are threatened and forced to live under miserable conditions – while others are privileged. Frantz Fanon’s insights into how racism is produced and reproduced as a social relation can clearly be seen here.

The book also lays out racism’s historical transformation and mutability: in its current form, it works less with naturalisations in terms of biological categories so much as it construes – and in turn naturalises – cultures which are portrayed as eternal and unchanging. At the same time, this culturalistically grounded racism which portrays some people as physically and psychologically incapable of certain kinds of work combines with a meritocratic outlook. In this way, “resentment of those who receive greater rewards by those who receive fewer is less intense […] because its justification is offered on the basis of merit and not on the basis of tradition. That is, it is thought that privilege earned by merit is somehow more acceptable, morally and politically, to most people than privilege earned by inheritance.” (Immanuel Wallerstein)

Race, Nation, Class demonstrates how these categories – which at first glance appear to relate to one another in a way deeply productive for all forms of domination – come into conflict with one another. The book thus shows in sublime fashion what every political strategy seeking to work against these categories must understand: firstly, that the historical categories of “race,” “nation” and “class” can renew themselves in their constellation, secondly, that it is necessary to utilise their contradictions, and that thirdly, they cannot be circumvented.

Rasse, Klasse, Nation. Ambivalente Identitäten

Notizen zum Buch von Étienne Balibar und Immanuel Wallerstein (Ersterscheinung auf Französisch 1988)

Cover der französischen Erstausgabe von Rasse, Klasse Nation | © Henri Cattolica und Éditions La Découverte

Cover der französischen Erstausgabe von Rasse, Klasse Nation | © Henri Cattolica und Éditions La Découverte

Balibars und Wallersteins Rasse, Klasse, Nation. Ambivalente Identitäten geht grundlegenden Widersprüchen der historischen Kategorien von „Rasse“, „Klasse“ und „Nation“ im Kapitalismus nach. Für die Funktionsweise des Kapitalismus müssten Rassismus und Nationalismus eigentlich nachteilhaft sein, weil sie das Potenzial an ausbeutbarer Arbeit nach nicht profitorientierten Maßgaben beschränken und organisieren. Staaten wiederum erweisen sich als problematisch, weil sie den Kapitalfluss behindern oder regulieren. Und doch hat sich die kapitalistische Produktionsweise flächendeckend durchgesetzt, ohne die Nation-Form aus den Angeln zu heben oder den Rassismus einzuschränken. Wohl aber verändern sich Nation und Rassismus in unterschiedlichen Kontexten und bringen immer wieder neue Konjunkturen hervor.

In ihrer historischen Analyse arbeiten Balibar und Wallerstein heraus, wie Rassismus im Zusammenhang mit der Konstituierung von Klassen aufkommt und damit die soziale Stratifikation sichert. Zugleich wird er konstitutiv für die Ausbildung von „Staat“ und „Volk“, weil so (interne) Ein- und Ausschlüsse relativ flexibel organisiert werden. Nationalismus wiederum mobilisiert die Gesellschaft sowohl für die Abgrenzung eines Staates gegenüber anderen als auch für imperialistische Strategien. Nicht zuletzt erzeugt Rassismus konkrete Realitäten, in denen Menschen bedroht werden und gezwungen sind, unter elenden Bedingungen zu leben – und in denen andere wiederum bevorteilt werden. Die Einsichten Frantz Fanons darüber, wie Rassismus als soziales Verhältnis produziert und reproduziert wird, sind hier deutlich herauszulesen.

Konstatiert wird im Buch auch eine historische Veränderung und Veränderbarkeit des Rassismus: In seiner aktuellen Form arbeitet er weniger mit Naturalisierungen in Bezug auf biologische Kategorien, vielmehr werden Kulturen konstruiert – und wiederum naturalisiert –, die als unvereinbar gelten. Zugleich verbindet sich dieser kulturalistisch argumentierende Rassismus, der manche Menschen als physisch und psychisch untauglich für bestimmte Arbeiten darstellt, mit einer meritokratischen Grundhaltung. So „wird die Missgunst der einkommensschwächeren gegenüber den vermögenderen Schichten geringer sein, weil [...] diese Differenzen auf der Grundlage von Leistung und Verdienst gerechtfertigt werden, und nicht unter Berufung auf die Tradition. Man denkt, mit anderen Worten, dass ein durch Leistung erworbenes Privileg für die meisten Menschen moralisch und politisch akzeptabler sei als ein vererbtes Vorrecht“ (Immanuel Wallerstein).

Rasse, Klasse, Nation arbeitet heraus, wie diese auf den ersten Blick für die Aufrechterhaltung jeder Herrschaft so produktiv zueinander stehenden Kategorien in Widerspruch miteinander geraten. So zeigt das Buch auf sublime Weise, was sich jede politische Strategie, die gegen diese Kategorien arbeiten möchte, vergegenwärtigen muss: erstens, dass sich die historischen Kategorien von „Rasse“, „Klasse“ und „Nation“ in ihrer Konstellation erneuern können, sie sich zweitens ihre Widersprüche zunutze machen muss, dass sie jedoch drittens nicht zu umgehen sind.