Immortality for All: a film trilogy on Russian Cosmism

by Anton Vidokle

Anton Vidokle, film still from

Anton Vidokle, film still from "This is Cosmos", 2014 | Courtesy of the artist

This Is Cosmos

2014, 28:10 min, Russian and with English subtitles

Shot in Siberia and Kazakhstan, as well as Moscow and Archangelsk regions, the first film in the trilogy on Russian Cosmism comprises a collage of ideas from the movement’s diverse protagonists, including founding philosopher Nikolai Fedorov. Fedorov, among others, believed that death was a mistake—a flaw in the overall design of the human, “because the energy of cosmos is indestructible, because true religion is a cult of ancestors, because true social equality is immortality for all.” For the Russian cosmists, the definition of cosmos was not limited to outer space: rather, they set out to create “cosmos,” or harmonious and eternal life, on Earth. The ultimate goal, as illuminated in the short film, was “to construct a new reality, free of hunger, disease, violence, death, need, inequality—like communism.”

Anton Vidokle, film still from

Anton Vidokle, film still from "The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun" (2015) | Courtesy the artist

The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun

2015, 33:36 min, Russian with English subtitles

The second part of the trilogy looks at the poetic dimension of solar cosmology of Soviet biophysicist, Alexander Chizhevsky. Shot in Kazakhstan, where Chizhevsky was imprisoned and later exiled, the film introduces –°hizhevsky’s research into the impact of solar emissions on human sociology, psychology, politics and economics in the form of wars, revolutions, epidemics and other upheavals. The film aligns the life of post-soviet rural residents and the futurological projects of Russian cosmism to emphasize that the goal of the early Soviet breakthroughs aimed at the conquest of outer space was not so much technical acceleration, but the common cause of humankind in their struggle against limitations of earthly life.

Anton Vidokle, film still from Immortality and Resurrection for All, 2017 | Courtesy the artist

Anton Vidokle, film still from Immortality and Resurrection for All, 2017 | Courtesy the artist

Immortality and Resurrection for All!

2017, 34:17 min, Russian with English subtitles

The trilogy’s last part is a meditation on a museum as the site of resurrection — a central idea for many Cosmist thinkers, scientists and avant-garde artists. Filmed at the State Tretiyakov Gallery, Moscow Zoological Museum, The Lenin Library and The Museum of Revolution, the film looks at museological and archival techniques of collection, restoration and conservation as a means of the material restoration of life, following an essay penned by Nikolai Fedorov on this subject in 1880s. The film follows a cast comprised of present-day followers of Fedorov, several actors, artists and a Pharaoh Hound that playfully enact a resurrection of a mummy, a close examination of Malevich’ Black Square, Rodchenko’s spacial constructions, taxidermied animals, artifacts of the Russian Revolution, skeletons, mannequins in tableau vivant-like scenes, in order to create a contemporary visualization for the poetry implicit in Fedorov’s writings.

Immortality for All: eine Filmtrilogie zum Russischen Kosmismus

von Anton Vidokle

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus "This is Cosmos", 2014 | Courtesy of the artist

This Is Cosmos

2014, 28:10 min, Russisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Gedreht in Sibirien und in Kasachstan sowie in der Umgebung von Moskau und Archangelsk, vereint der erste Film der Trilogie über den Russischen Kosmismus eine Collage von Ideen unterschiedlicher Protagonisten der Bewegung, unter ihnen deren Gründungsfigur, der Philosoph Nikolaj Fedorov. Fedorov glaubte – wie andere auch –, dass der Tod ein Versehen war, eine Schwachstelle in der Konstruktion der Menschheit, „weil die kosmische Energie unzerstörbar ist, weil wahre Religion eine Verehrung der Vorfahren ist, weil wahre soziale Gerechtigkeit Unsterblichkeit für alle bedeutet.“ Für die russischen Kosmist*innen war die Definition von Kosmos nicht beschränkt auf das Weltall: Ihnen lag vielmehr daran, „Kosmos“ oder ein harmonisches und ewiges Leben auf der Erde selbst zu verwirklichen. Wie der Kurzfilm zeigt, bestand das ultimative Ziel darin, „eine neue Realität zu konstruieren, frei von Hunger, Krankheit, Tod, Not, Ungleichheit: wie der Kommunismus“.

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus "The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun" (2015) | Courtesy the artist

The Communist Revolution Was Caused By The Sun

2015, 33:36 min, Russisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Der zweite Teil der Trilogie widmet sich der poetischen Dimension einer Kosmologie der Sonne, wie sie der sowjetische Biophysiker Alexander Chizhevsky entwickelte. Gedreht in Kasachstan, wo Chizhevsky interniert war und später im Exil lebte, beschreibt der Film dessen Forschung zum Einfluss von Solar-Emissionen auf die menschliche Gesellschaft, Psychologie, Politik und Ökonomie in Form von Kriegen, Revolutionen, Epidemien und anderen umwälzenden Ereignissen. Vidokle verknüpft das Leben der postsowjetischen Landbevölkerung mit den futurologischen Projekten des Russischen Kosmismus: Das Ziel früher sowjetischer Anstrengungen zur Eroberung des Weltraums – so die Botschaft des Films – lag nicht so sehr in einer Beschleunigung des technischen Fortschritts, sondern im gemeinsamen Kampf der Menschheit gegen die Beschränkungen des irdischen Lebens.

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus Immortality and Resurrection for All, 2017 | Courtesy the artist

Anton Vidokle, Filmstill aus Immortality and Resurrection for All, 2017 | Courtesy the artist

Immortality and Resurrection for All!

2017, 34:17 min, Russisch mit englischen Untertiteln

Der letzte Teil der Trilogie ist eine Meditation über das Museum als Ort der Wiedererweckung der Toten – eine zentrale Idee kosmistischen Denkens in Wissenschaftler und Avantgarde-Kunst. Gefilmt in Moskau in der Staatlichen Tretjakow-Galerie, im Zoologischen Museum, in der Lenin-Bibliothek und im Museum der Revolution, interpretiert der Film museologische und archivarische Techniken des Sammelns, der Restaurierung und Konservierung als Strategien einer physischen Restauration des Lebens. Ausgangspunkt dabei ist ein Essay Nikolaj Fedorovs aus den 1880er Jahren, der dieses Thema verhandelt. Vidokle folgt einer Gruppe heutiger Anhänger*innen von Fedorov, verschiedenen Schauspieler*innen, Künstler*innen und einem Pharaonenhund, die spielerisch verschiedene Aufgaben in Szene setzen: die Wiedererweckung einer Mumie, eine eingehende Untersuchung des Schwarzen Quadrats von Malewitsch und der Raumkonstruktionen von Alexander Rodtschenko sowie von ausgestopften Tieren, Artefakten der Russischen Revolution, Skeletten und Mannequins in Tableau-vivant-Szenen. So entsteht eine zeitgenössische Visualisierung der Poesie, die Fedorovs Schriften innewohnt.