Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), Friedrich Liechtenstein, Photo: Ralph Anderl
Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), Guido Möbius, Pocket Symphonies, Opening Concert, Photo: Martin Kurtenbach
Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), Salvadora Andaluz, Photo: Promo
Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), The Roy Black Story, film still, © RTL
Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), Kofelgschroa, © Sonja Herpich
Stupid Music (Doofe Musik), Adi Gelbart, Photo: Lafi Degany

2014, May 08, Thu — 2014, May 11, Sun

Stupid Music

Songs for Dreaming, Sedation and Forgetting

Concerts, Performances, Installations, Talks, Films

Concerts, Performances, Talks, Films

Theme of Stupid Music is escapism: the flight from everyday life, from reality, from bad news, and the role music can play in this – music that dulls our senses, deafens and numbs us, and makes us “stupid.”

How great is humanity’s intelligence? STUPID MUSIC places a focus on escapism, examining how people take flight from unsettling news and the role that music plays in this: music that makes us dumb, dull, without sensation, that is “stupid.” Drinking songs, music meant to relax us, functional sound, and sound as a decorative element are all looked at. And yet clichés are interrogated as well, taking a closer look at purportedly “stupid,” escapist genres like the Schlager, the polka, or the arabesque, and questioning supposedly “quality” genres like jazz and classical music.

If the first parts of the festival trilogy: UNHUMAN MUSIC (Compositions by Machines, by Animals, and by Accident) and EVIL MUSIC (Odes to Violence, Death, and Demons) explored the importance and intention of the human, STUPID MUSIC will examine the intelligence of the main protagonist of the Anthropocene, his ability to learn and develop.

Curated by Detlef Diederichsen and Holger Schulze, Head of Sound-Studies-Lab Berlin

In the framework of:
null

Doofe Musik, Friedrich Liechtenstein, Foto: Ralph Anderl
Doofe Musik, Guido Möbius, Pocket Symphonies, Eröffnungskonzert, Foto: Martin Kurtenbach
Doofe Musik, Salvadora Andaluz, Foto: Promo
Doofe Musik, Die Roy Black Story, Filmstill, © RTL
Doofe Musik, Kofelgschroa, © Sonja Herpich
Doofe Musik, Adi Gelbart, Foto: Lafi Degany

08.–11.5.2014

Doofe Musik

Lieder zum Träumen, Betäuben und Vergessen

Konzerte, Performances, Installationen, Gespräche, Filme

Konzerte, Performances, Gespräche, Filme

Thema der „Doofen Musik“ ist der Eskapismus: die Flucht aus dem Alltag, vor der Wirklichkeit und schlechten Nachrichten und die Rolle, die Musik dabei spielen kann – also Musik, die stumpf, taub, empfindungslos – „doof“ macht.

Wie groß ist die Einsichtsfähigkeit des Menschen DOOFE MUSIK nimmt den Eskapismus in den Fokus, die Flucht vor beunruhigenden Nachrichten und die Rolle, die Musik dabei spielt: Musik, die stumpf, taub, empfindungslos, also »doof« macht. Trinklieder werden thematisiert und Entspannungsmusik, funktionale Klänge und Sound als Dekorationselement. Auch Klischees werden untersucht: Wie steht es wirklich mit als »doof« und eskapistisch geltenden Genres wie Schlager, Polka oder Arabesk? Und wie mit »höherwertigen « Genres wie Jazz und Klassik?

Untersuchten die ersten Teile der Festival-Trilogie UNMENSCHLICHE MUSIK - KOMPOSITIONEN VON TIEREN, MASCHINEN UND ZUFÄLLEN und BÖSE MUSIK - ODEN AN GEWALT, TOD UND TEUFEL Stellenwert und Intentionen des Menschen, fragt DOOFE MUSIK nach der Intelligenz, Erkenntnis- und Entwicklungsfähigkeit des Hauptakteurs des Anthropozän.

Kuratiert von Detlef Diederichsen und Holger Schulze, Leiter des Sound-Studies-Lab Berlin

Im Rahmen von:
null