Korean Cinema Today 2012

Films from Busan International Film Festival
2012, May 03, Thu — 2012, May 13, Sun

Poetry (Shi), film still | © Promo

Poetry (Shi), film still | © Promo

Breathless (Ddong Pari), film still | © Promo

Breathless (Ddong Pari), film still | © Promo

Leafie, a Hen Into the Wild (Madangeul Naon Amtak), film still | © DVD | Blu-ray „Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis“, Elite Film AG

Leafie, a Hen Into the Wild (Madangeul Naon Amtak), film still | © DVD | Blu-ray „Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis“, Elite Film AG

The movies being screened include feature and documentary films and an animated children’s film, including an only recently restored copy of the 1960 classic “Hanyo“ (The Housemaid) by Kim Ki-Yeong, of which the director Im Sang-Soo created a celebrated re-make in 2010. Many of the directors and the head of the Busan International Film Festival will be present at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt to talk to the audiences.
After an initial cinematic heyday in the 1960s, Korean cinema has been enjoying a renaissance since the beginning of the new millenium. The annual Busan International Film Festival, which took place for the sixteenth time, is also a focal point of the vibrant Asian film industry: for some years now, it has been organizing the thriving Asian Film Market and the Asian Film Academy and, in 2011, it inaugurated a new festival center. The categories “Wide Angle“, “New Currents“ and “A Window on Asian Cinema“ spotlight the latest in feature, documentary and short films from the entire Asian region.
Equally successful is the section „Korean Cinema Today“, in which the best Korean productions of the respective year are presented. They form the basis of the success story of New Korean Cinema, which is now represented at all the big international film festivals and has long since enthused audiences all over the world. The program at the HKW is being realized in cooperation with the Korea Foundation and the Busan International Film Festival.

After the opening evening, it is divided into three sections:
Liebe auf Abwegen – Love on Detours
Including Kim Ki-Yeong’s classic, The Housemaid and the successful remake from 2010; different ways of analyzing seduction and the relationship between master and maid.
Die Grenze – The Border
These films take the border as a reference point for an unusual look at southern society and the isolation of “border crossers“.
Young Korean Directors is devoted to debut films by young, up-and-coming directors who have already made waves in Busan and subsequently at the Rotterdam International Film Festival.
On Sundays, the Children’s Film Afternoon features an animated animal film with accompanying children’s activities, once in Korean, once in German.

The project is being held in cooperation with the Korea Foundation and the Busan International Film Festival.

Korean Cinema Today 2012

Filme vom Busan International Film Festival
Do, 03. Mai 2012 — So, 13. Mai 2012

Poetry (Shi), Filmstill | © Promo

Poetry (Shi), Filmstill | © Promo

Breathless (Ddong Pari), Filmstill | © Promo

Breathless (Ddong Pari), Filmstill | © Promo

Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis (Madangeul Naon Amtak), Filmstill | © DVD | Blu-ray „Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis“, Elite Film AG

Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis (Madangeul Naon Amtak), Filmstill | © DVD | Blu-ray „Liefi, ein Huhn in der Wildnis“, Elite Film AG

Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme und ein animierter Kinderfilm werden gezeigt, darunter eine erst kürzlich restaurierte Kopie des Klassikers „Hanyo“ (The Housemaid) von Kim Ki-Yeong aus dem Jahr 1960, auf den 2010 der Regisseur Im Sang-Soo mit einem gefeierten Remake antwortete. Viele der Regisseure und der Leiter des Busan International Film Festival werden im Haus der Kulturen der Welt anwesend sein, um mit dem Publikum zu diskutieren.
Nach einer ersten filmischen Blütezeit in den 1960er-Jahren hat das koreanische Kino seit Beginn des Jahrtausends erneut Hochkonjunktur. Das Busan International Film Festival, das jährlich jetzt schon in der 16. Ausgabe stattfand, ist darüber hinaus ein zentraler Schauplatz des lebendigen Filmschaffens in Asien: So richtet es seit einigen Jahren den florierenden Asian Film Market und die Asian Film Academy aus und weihte 2011 ein neues Festivalcenter ein. In den Kategorien „Wide Angle“, „New Currents“ und „A Window on Asian Cinema“ werden aktuelle Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme aus dem gesamten asiatischen Raum vorgestellt.
Erfolgreich ist aber auch die Sektion „Korean Cinema Today“, in der die besten koreanischen Produktionen des jeweiligen Jahres präsentiert werden. Sie legen die Basis für die Erfolgsgeschichte des neuen koreanischen Films, der mittlerweile auf allen bedeutenden internationalen Filmfestivals vertreten ist und nicht allein das heimische Publikum begeistert.

Das Programm ist – nach dem Eröffnungsabend - in drei Sektionen gegliedert:
Liebe auf Abwegen – Love on Detours
Darin Kim Ki-Yeongs Klassiker The Housemaid und das erfolgreiche Remake von 2010, unterschiedliche Weisen, Verführung und die Beziehung Herr/Dienerin auszuleuchten.
Die Grenze – The Border
Die Filme werfen, mit der Grenze als Bezugspunkt, ungewöhnliche Blicke in die Gesellschaft des Südens und auf die Isolation der „Grenzgänger“.
Young Korean Directors widmet sich den Erstlingsfilmen von Nachwuchsregisseuren, die in Busan und danach beim Rotterdam International Film Festival schon Furore gemacht haben.
An den Sonntagen Kinderfilm-Nachmittag mit einem Tier-Animationsfilm und begleitendem Kinderprogramm, einmal koreanisch, einmal deutsch.

Das Projekt findet in Kooperation mit der Korea Foundation und dem Busan International Film Festival statt.