In Transit 09

Resistance of the Object
2009, Jun 11, Thu — 2009, Jun 21, Sun

The seventh edition of IN TRANSIT: Ten days of performative, theoretical and practical debates about an age-old subject that spans the history of capitalism and is charged with political significance through each new crisis. Ten days of reflecting on the fine line between the status of the object and being the subject, a focus of contemporary performance art.

The Berlin premiere of Sankai Juku from Japan opens the festival. In their work, we discover the pulverized body of Butoh, alternating between becoming plant, animal, human, and ghost. IN TRANSIT 09 ends with Mathilde Monnier. The French choreographer and the famed Spanish performer La Ribot take on burlesque in “Gustavia”— playing anti-heroines in the tradition of Charlie Chaplin.

El Periférico de Objetos from Argentina present a powerfully expressive piece located somewhere between theater and installation: bodies, images, voices and things tell stories that we all too often don’t want to hear. And El Periférico’s co-founder Emilio García Whebi, has staged a self-ironic text by Sophie Calle together with Maricel Alvarez. Mapa Teatro is here with a production based on a work by Händl Klaus – in the juxtaposition of steamy tropics and cool Alps the conditions of present day Columbia shine through. And in a video enactment of the worst Mexican science fiction film ever made, they introduce us to Latin American popular culture and machismo. Melati Suryodarmo from Indonesia, creates a tableau vivant for voice, violin and seven white rabbits. Allen S. Weiss from the U.S. directs a disturbing work for Puppet Theater using the critically acclaimed and eerie puppets of the French artist Michel Nedjar. Weiss will also create a sound installation for the festival with some of the most influential sound artists in North America. Yingmei Duan from China is building a massive environment from ten tons of Berlin’s trash. There an actor, a pianist, a singer, a girl, and Yingmei Duan will encounter the public in a space of living memories, where objects become things and people spirits. Maria Jose Arjona shows her provocative performative installation in three stages in the foyer - "Violence Permeates and Changes Everything.”. Hooman Sharifi / Impure Company (Norway) begins a long-term work about a utopic, almost paradisiacal coexistence between humans and animals / nature. Adrian Piper (USA / Germany) premiers her installation "Everything # 5.2." to blow-up "walled-in" conditions. Julie Tolentino (USA) works on "CRY OF LOVE" and together with Ron Athey (USA) she painfully puts into practice the idea of the body as archive. Nevin Aladag (Turkey / Germany) traces the fine fissures between cultures – and the fissures in how they are perceived. The group deepblue headed by choreographer Heine R. Avdal checks out the theatrical space and all of its components, and Trajal Harrell the status of the actor, of the people in performance as show. The young Spaniard Aitana Cordero gains sovereignty by “playing” the object's status as both virtuosic and terrifying. In cooperation with the Tanzfabrik Berlin, performances revolve around the confrontations and synergies of contemporary dance that link South Africa and Europe: "Cross Currents".

As in 2008, a lecture series plays an integral role in the festival, with Fred Moten, Adrian Piper, Allen S. Weiss, Peter Pál Pelbart, Laura Harris, Klaus-Peter Köpping, Adrian Heathfield, Tanja Ostojic. The interactive library will also return. And of course parties and numerous other events promise to turn this festival into a memorable ten-day experience.

Curator: André Lepecki

In Transit 09

Resistance of the Object - Widerstand des Objekts
Do., 11. Juni 2009 — So., 21. Juni 2009

Die siebente Ausgabe von IN TRANSIT: Zehn Tage voller performativer, theoretischer und praktischer Auseinandersetzung mit einem Urthema, das sich durch die Geschichte des Kapitalismus zieht und durch jede Krise mit politischer Aktualität aufgeladen wird. Und zugleich zehn Tage voller Reflexionen der feinen Linie zwischen Objekt-Status und Subjekt-Sein, die aktuell die Performancekunst beschäftigt.

Mit ihrem erstmaligen Auftritt in Berlin eröffnen Sankai Juku aus Japan das Festival. In ihrem Werk ist der pulverisierte Körper des Butohs zu entdecken – changierend zwischen pflanzlicher oder animalischer Bewegung, Humanität und Geisterhaftigkeit. Beendet wird IN TRANSIT 09 von Mathilde Monnier. Die französische Choreografin und die kaum weniger berühmte spanische Performerin La Ribot haben sich in „Gustavia“ die Burleske zum Thema genommen – und stehen als Antiheldinnen plötzlich in der Tradition von Charlie Chaplin.

El Periférico de Objetos aus Argentinien bringt ein ausdrucksstarkes Stück mit, irgendwo zwischen Theater und Installation angesiedelt: Körper, Bilder, Stimmen und Dinge erzählen dort Geschichten, die man allzuoft lieber nicht hören will. Und El Periférico-Mitbegründer Emilio García Whebi hat zusammen mit Maricel Alvarez einen selbstironischen Sophie Calle-Text dramatisiert. Mapa Teatro kommt mit einer Inszenierung nach Händl Klaus – in der Gegenüberstellung von dampfenden Tropen und kühlen Alpen scheinen kolumbianische Verhältnisse auf. Und in einem Video-Enactment eines der grottigsten mexikanischen Filme machen sie lateinamerikanische Populärkultur und dortigen Machismo kenntlich. Melati Suryodarmo aus Indonesien setzt ein Tableau vivant für Stimme, Geige und sieben weiße Kaninchen in Szene. Allen S. Weiss aus den USA führt Regie bei einem verstörenden Puppentheater mit den viel gerühmten und unheimlichen Puppen des französischen Künstlers Michel Nedjar. Weiss wird für das Festival auch eine Soundinstallation mit einigen der einflussreichsten Sound-Künstlern Nordamerikas kreieren. Yingmei Duan aus China baut ein massives Environment aus zehn Tonnen Berliner Müll auf: Hier treffen ein Schauspieler, ein Pianist, ein Sänger, ein Mädchen und Yingmei Duan selbst das Publikum in einem Raum lebendiger Erinnerungen, wo Objekte zu Dingen werden und Menschen zu Geistern. Maria Jose Arjona durchläuft im Foyer ihre provokante performative Installation in drei Schritten – „Gewalt durchdringt und verändert alles.“ Hooman Sharifi / Impure Company (Norwegen) setzen den Anfang einer langfristigen Arbeit zur Utopie eines fast paradiesischen Zusammenlebens von Mensch und Tier/Natur. Adrian Piper (USA/Deutschland) zeigt erstmals ihre Installation "Everything # 5.2." zur Aufsprengung „vermauerter“ Verhältnisse. Julie Tolentino (USA) erarbeitet eine Etappe ihres „CRY OF LOVE“ und setzt gemeinsam mit Ron Athey (USA) den Gedanken eines Körperarchivs schmerzlich um. Nevin Aladag (Türkei/ Deutschland) spürt den feinen Rissen zwischen den Kulturen nach – und denen in der Wahrnehmung der Dinge. Die Gruppe deepblue um den Choreografen Heine R. Avdal stellt den theatralen Raum in all seinen Bestandteilen auf den Prüfstand, und Trajal Harrell den Stellenwert des Akteurs, des Menschen in Performance wie Show. Die junge Spanierin Aitana Cordero wird souverän, indem sie den Objektstatus so virtuos wie erschreckend „spielt“. In Kooperation mit der Tanzfabrik Berlin kreisen Performances um Konfrontationen und Synergien des zeitgenössischen Tanz zwischen Südafrika und Europa: "Cross Currents".

Wie schon 2008 wird eine Lecture-Reihe integraler Bestandteil des Festivals sein, mit Fred Moten, Adrian Piper, Allen S. Weiss, Peter Pál Pelbart, Laura Harris, Klaus-Peter Köpping, Adrian Heathfield, Tanja Ostojic. Die interaktive Bibliothek wird ebenfalls zurückkehren. Und natürlich machen Partys und andere Events das Festival zu einem Zehn-Tage-Erlebnis.

Kurator: André Lepecki