2016, Fri, Nov 18

Eines Tages (Someday)

And-Ek Ghes… (film still) | © Promo

And-Ek Ghes… (film still) | © Promo

Film screening and discussion with the directors Philip Scheffner and Colorado Velcu, curator Nanna Heidenreich and translator and author Eva Ruth Wemme

Colorado Velcu moves from FaŇ£a Luncii in Romania to Berlin with his seven children. In the film And-Ek Ghes… (D 2016, 94 min, original with German subtitles), he becomes the director of his story. Filmmaker Philip Scheffner’s plan to document the family’s arrival transforms into a boisterous family project: cameras are passed around, the perspectives multiply.

And-Ek Ghes… negotiates the human right to one’s own story, the art of narration. The film portrays the arrival, everyday life and organizational modes of a family spread across many borders. Systematic marginalization and existential fears prevail in this everyday life just as much as a strong sense of humor and solidarity. Reflections over the process of filming are core elements of the production; the boundaries between the documenter and the documented become blurred. This collaborative mode of working also leads to the title song of And-Ek Ghes… (Someday) and the music video that imagines a fictional Bollywood version of Berlin.

Following the screening, the two directors will talk about recording stories, new and old threads and how they are tied together with Nanna Heidenreich, curator of the Soundtracks series, and Eva Ruth Wemme, translator and author of the book Meine 7000 Nachbarn (My 7,000 Neighbors) about her encounters with Romanian Romani in Berlin.

Fr, 18. November 2016

Eines Tages

And-Ek Ghes… (Filmstill) | © Promo

And-Ek Ghes… (Filmstill) | © Promo

Filmscreening und Diskussion mit den Regisseuren Philip Scheffner und Colorado Velcu, der Kuratorin Nanna Heidenreich und der Autorin und Übersetzerin Eva Ruth Wemme

Colorado Velcu zieht mit seinen sieben Kindern aus dem rumänischen Faţa Luncii nach Berlin. In dem Film And-Ek Ghes… (D 2016, 94 min, OmU) wird er zum Regisseur seiner Geschichte. Filmemacher Philip Scheffners Vorhaben, die Ankunft der Velcus zu dokumentieren, verwandelt sich in ein ausgelassenes Familienprojekt: Kameras wandern von Hand zu Hand, die Blickwinkel vervielfältigen sich.

And-Ek Ghes… verhandelt das Recht auf die eigene Geschichte, die Kunst des Erzählens. Der Film porträtiert das Ankommen, den Alltag und die Organisationsweisen einer Familie, die über viele Grenzen verteilt lebt. Systematische Ausgrenzung und Existenzängste bestimmen diesen Alltag ebenso wie Humor und Zusammenhalt. Die Reflexion über das filmische Verfahren ist stets Teil der Inszenierung, die Grenzen zwischen Dokumentierenden und Dokumentiertem verschwimmen. Durch diese kollaborative Arbeitsweise entsteht auch der Titelsong And-Ek Ghes… (dt.: Eines Tages) mitsamt Musikvideo, das eine fiktionale Bollywood-Version Berlins imaginiert.

Über die Aufnahme und das Aufnehmen von Geschichten, über neue und alte Fäden und deren Verknüpfungen diskutieren die beiden Regisseure im Anschluss an das Screening mit Nanna Heidenreich, Kuratorin der Reihe Tonspuren, und Eva Ruth Wemme, Übersetzerin und Autorin des Buchs Meine 7000 Nachbarn, das von ihren Begegnungen mit rumänischen Roma in Berlin erzählt.