9th Internationaler Literaturpreis

Award for Translated Contemporary Literatures
Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony July 6, 2017

Internationaler Literaturpreis

Internationaler Literaturpreis

What literary forms do current narratives assume? What does translation imply in an accelerated literary present? The Internationaler Literaturpreis considers co-readership and complicities, the practices and outcomes of writing, narrating and translation, in brief, the “making of literature” within transnational contexts. It processes the literary in its own, dynamic form, considers literary processes as well as reading techniques and mediation practices in structures that have long since left behind traditional language space logics.
A duo of author and translator and their first work of contemporary international literature translated into German will receive the award. The prize focuses the multitude voices of literary practices, narrative stances and linguistic works and expands the literary canon beyond national and linguistic boundaries. The award-winning duo receives prize monies of €35,000. From the titles entered by German-language publishers and other suggested works, the seven-member jury first identifies six titles for the shortlist.
For the celebration of the shortlist and the award ceremony, all nominated authors and translators are invited to present their writings and concurrent origination processes in readings, conversations and experimental formats with jury members and other guests. The winning duo will receive their award during this literary celebration, which, starting this year, will be accompanied by the residency program of the Literarische Colloquium Berlin (LCB).

Timeline 2017

May 29
Presentation of the shortlist

June 20
Presentation of the award winning duo

July 6
Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony

9. Internationaler Literaturpreis

Preis für übersetzte Gegenwartsliteraturen
Fest der Shortlist & Preisverleihung 06.07.2017

Internationaler Literaturpreis

Internationaler Literaturpreis

Zu welchen Formen findet gegenwärtiges Erzählen? Und was bedeutet Übersetzen in einer beschleunigten literarischen Gegenwart? Der Internationale Literaturpreis nimmt Mitleser- und Komplizenschaften, Praktiken und Ergebnisse des Schreibens, Erzählens und Übersetzens, kurzum: das „Literatur Machen“ im transnationalen Raum in den Blick. Er verarbeitet das Literarische als eigene und dynamische Form, betrachtet literarische Prozesse, aber auch Lektüre- und Vermittlungstechniken in Gefügen, die traditionelle sprachräumliche Logiken längst hinter sich gelassen haben.
Ausgezeichnet wird ein Preisträger-Duo aus Autor*in und Übersetzer*in und deren ins Deutsche erstübersetztes Werk der internationalen Gegenwartsliteraturen. Der Preis fokussiert den Vielklang literarischer Praktiken, Erzählhaltungen und Arbeiten an der Sprache und erweitert den literarischen Kanon über nationale Grenzen und Sprachräume hinaus. An das Preisträger-Duo gehen insgesamt 35.000 €. Aus den Titeleinreichungen deutschsprachiger Verlage, ergänzt durch eigene Vorschläge, ermittelt die siebenköpfige Jury zunächst sechs Titel für die Shortlist.
Beim Fest der Shortlist & Preisverleihung sind alle nominierten Autor*innen und Übersetzer*innen eingeladen, in Lesungen, Gesprächen und experimentellen Formaten mit Jurymitgliedern und weiteren Gästen Texte und ihre Entstehungsprozesse vorzustellen. Das Preisträger-Duo erhält im Rahmen dieses literarischen Festes die Auszeichnung, die ab diesem Jahr zudem durch das Residenzprogramm des Literarischen Colloquiums Berlin (LCB) flankiert wird.

Termine 2017

15. März 2017
Einsendeschluss für gedruckte Titel in Manuskript- bzw. Buchform

29. Mai 2017
Bekanntgabe der Shortlist

20. Juni 2017
Bekanntgabe des Preisträger-Duos

6. Juli 2017
Fest der Shortlist & Preisverleihung