HKW is undergoing renovations. The restaurant will remain open. Wassermusik and Internationaler Literaturpreis will be held on the roof terrace and in the restaurant. | More information...

Pop 16

100 Years of Recorded Music
2016, Apr 28, Thu — 2016, May 01, Sun

 

When did popular music originate? Depending on the definition, it was somewhere between the years 822 and 1964. But, then, around a hundred years ago the decisive transition occurred: wax cylinders and, later, shellac records were able to preserve musical performances and radio was able to broadcast them, thus beginning the era of recorded music.

Pop 16 examines what styles, manners of interpretation and performance praxes these new technologies encountered. What interactions arose as a result, and what effects does all this have on today’s music? Many of the musical phenomena of the dawning twentieth century still live on today: Tin Pan Alley tunes by Irving Berlin and Jerome Kern, French chansons and Argentinean tango. By contrast, today, styles such as Bambuco, Konkoma and Melayu are more the subject matter of music ethnologists. At Pop 16 a broad variety of musicians will look back at the beginnings of produced music in programs put together exclusively for the festival: The highlife king Ebo Taylor will bring back the great days of Ghanaian Konkoma, the Japanese Electropop experimenter Miharu Koshi will dream herself back to 1920s Europe, the Colombian bassist and record collector Mario Galeano, who performed at HKW previously with Ondatrópica and Los Pirañas, will dig up Colombian music treasures for his audiovisual Bambuco interpretations. Plus: more commissioned productions, installations, lectures, Berlin tours and the German premiere of American Epic, a TV miniseries about the first recording trips made by music producers across the United States.

Supported by: 25 Jahre gute Nachbarschaft Deutschland-Polen, cpb culturepartner berlin, the Foundation for Arab Music Archiving & Research, Iwalewahaus / Universität Bayreuth, McIntire Department of Music / University of Virginia, Polnisches Institut Berlin, Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin, Stroever Schellack Bremen•Präsentiert von zitty, taz.die tageszeitung, Berliner Fenster, radioeins, AskHelmut, Exberliner, Rolling Stone

Pop 16 takes place as part of the HKW series 100 Years of Now.

Concerts, films, installations, lectures, lounge

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Pop 16

100 Jahre produzierte Musik
Do, 28. April 2016 — So, 01. Mai 2016

 

Wann entstand Popmusik? Je nach Definition irgendwann zwischen 822 und 1964. Vor rund 100 Jahren jedoch kam der entscheidende Umbruch: Wachswalzen und später Schellackplatten konnten musikalische Darbietungen konservieren, der Rundfunk konnte sie verbreiten – die Ära der produzierten Musik begann.

Pop 16 will wissen, welche Stile, Interpretationsweisen und Aufführungspraxen die neuen Technologien vorfanden. Welche Wechselwirkungen ergaben sich daraus und welche Auswirkungen hat das alles auf die heutige Musik? Viele musikalische Phänomene des beginnenden 20. Jahrhunderts sind heute noch gegenwärtig: die Broadway- Hits von Irving Berlin und Jerome Kern, französische Chansons und argentinischer Tango. Stile wie Bambuco, Konkoma oder Melayu hingegen sind heute eher Themen für Musikethnolog*innen. Bei Pop 16 blicken höchst unterschiedliche Musiker*innen in exklusiv für das Festival erarbeiteten Programmen auf die Anfänge der produzierten Musik: Highlife-König Ebo Taylor lässt die große Zeit des ghanaischen Konkoma wiederauferstehen, die japanische Elektro-Pop-Experimentatorin Miharu Koshi träumt sich ins Europa der 1920er Jahre, der kolumbianische Bassist und Plattensammler Mario Galeano, der mit Ondatrópica und Los Pirañas bereits im HKW auftrat, gräbt sich durch kolumbianische Musikschätze für seine audiovisuelle Interpretation des Bambuco-Stils. Und dazu: weitere Auftragsproduktionen, Installationen, Lectures, Berlin-Rundfahrten und die Deutschland-Premiere von American Epic, einer TV-Mini-Serie über die erste Aufnahmereise von Musikproduzenten quer durch die Vereinigten Staaten.

Unterstützt von: „25 Jahre gute Nachbarschaft“ Deutschland-Polen, cpb culturepartner berlin, The Foundation for Arab Music Archiving & Research, Iwalewahaus / Universität Bayreuth, McIntire Department of Music / University of Virginia, Polnisches Institut Berlin, Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin, Stroever Schellack Bremen·Präsentiert von zitty, taz.die tageszeitung, Berliner Fenster, radioeins, AskHelmut, Exberliner, Rolling Stone

Pop 16 findet im Rahmen von 100 Jahre Gegenwart statt.

Konzerte, Filme, Installationen, Lectures, Lounge