2008, Fri, Oct 03

Double-Projections: Casablanca

Visual commentaries will accompany the screening of Casablanca.


Remember Resistance examines the background to the famous cinema classic and takes a closer look at the location – Casablanca – as a ‘migration’ junction’ during the Fascist period and as a projection screen for a wide range of fantasies up to the present.

Humphrey Bogart plays the part of Rick, a petty-criminal café owner who migrates from the USA to Morocco, fights for the Republic during the Spanish Civil War and becomes an anti-colonial arms-dealer for Ethiopia during the war against Italy.

Casablanca was located historically in the North Moroccan port of Tangiers. It served as a transit zone between (Nazi-) Europe, the then unoccupied parts of Portugal, and the USA, which was a refuge for European emigrants. Following the success of the Hollywood remake Algiers, Warner Brothers’ advertising strategists found the title Casablanca more appealing than Tangier.

The clapperboard of this state-controlled war production bears the words Casa Blanca (White House), thus associating the light-coloured house facades in North Africa with the seat of the US government in Washington. In the end, the film was made in the Warner Brothers’ studio in Los Angeles – apart from a few outdoor shots taken at an air base. The town of Casablanca, which served as a model for the set, received its present name Dar-el-Beida after decolonisation. Casablanca is, therefore, a projection in more ways than one, serving as a reminder that the Second World War was fought out in the colonised world, too.

Fr, 03. Oktober 2008

Doppelprojektionen: Casablanca

Visuelle Kommentare begleiten das Screening von Casablanca.


Ein Programm von Remember Resistance

Remember Resistance interessiert sich für die Hintergründe des bekannten Filmklassikers und nimmt den Schauplatz Casablanca genauer in den Blick: als „Knotenpunkt der Migration“ im Faschismus und bis zur Gegenwart sowie als Projektionsfläche mannigfaltiger Phantasien.

So wird Humphrey Bogarts Rolle historisch ausgemalt: Der aus den USA nach Marokko abgewanderte kleinkriminelle Caféhaus-Besitzers Rick war zuvor Widerstandskämpfer im spanischen Bürgerkrieg und antikolonialer Waffenhändler für Äthiopien im Kampf gegen Italien.

Der Spielfilm ‚Casablanca’ ist historisch verortet in der nordmarokkanischen Hafenstadt Tanger als Transitzone zwischen (Nazi-)Europa, den noch nicht besetzten Teilen Portugals und den USA als Fluchtpunkt für europäische MigrantInnen. Nach dem Erfolg des Hollywood-Remakes ‚Algiers’ klang den Werbestrategen der Warner-Studios der Filmtitel ‚Casablanca’ attraktiver als ‚Tanger’.

Auf der Filmklappe der vom Staat kontrollierten Kriegsproduktion steht noch ‚Casa Blanca’, also ‚Weißes Haus’ – eine Verkopplung der hell gestrichenen Hausfassaden in Nordafrika mit dem US-Regierungsitz in Washington. Letztlich ist der Film – bis auf wenige Außenaufnahmen auf einem Luftwaffenstützpunkt – in den Warner-Studios in Los Angeles gedreht worden. Die Vorbild gebende Stadt Casablanca heißt seit ihrer Entkolonialisierung in Wirklichkeit Dar-el-Beida. ‚Casablanca’ ist somit eine vielfache Projektion – der Film erinnert daran, daß der Zweite Weltkrieg nicht zuletzt in der kolonisierten Welt stattfand.