2020, Fri, May 08 and 2020, Sat, May 09

Diversity Affects | Troubling Institutions

© Joana Katte and Torsten Köchlin

© Joana Katte and Torsten Köchlin

Can diversity galvanize established institutions? “Diversity enhancement” has become a buzzword of institutional change today. Activists, migrant groups, associations for the dis_abled, but also politicians and employees of institutions themselves are urging that diversity be taken into account in the structures of agencies, educational institutions, in health care and in the cultural sector. At the same time, critics bemoan that diversity has become a neoliberal management and marketing strategy that neither explicitly recognizes nor overcomes social inequalities.

Around 40 speakers from the humanities and social sciences examine processes of institutional diversification and consider their affective repercussions: What reactions and emotions do these processes cause? What does it mean for journalists in newsrooms or employees in universities when institutions (don’t) become more diverse – what for museum visitors or hospital staff? How can inclusive practices be institutionalized without reducing people to traits? How do those affected experience the process of their “inclusion” or its failure?

In her keynote, feminist theorist Sara Ahmed shows how raising complaints can become a form of diversity work – work done by those who do not embody the norm of an institution.

The Annual Conference of the Collaborative Research Center 1171 Affective Societies: Dynamics of Social Coexistence in Mobile Worlds at Freie Universität Berlin is organized by Hansjörg Dilger, Juliane Gorke, Omar Kasmani, Dominik Mattes, Hans Roth, Matthias Warstat, funded by German Research Foundation.

In cooperation with the Collaborative Research Center Affective Societies at Freie Universität Berlin and Schwules Museum, Berlin.

Fr, 08. Mai 2020 und Sa, 09. Mai 2020

Diversity Affects | Troubling Institutions

© Joana Katte und Torsten Köchlin

© Joana Katte und Torsten Köchlin

Kann Diversität etablierte Institutionen aufrütteln? „Steigerung von Diversität“ ist heute ein Schlagwort des institutionellen Wandels. Aktivist*innen, migrantische Gruppen, Be_hindertenverbände aber auch Politiker*innen sowie Mitarbeitende von Institutionen selbst drängen darauf, Vielfalt in den Strukturen von Ämtern, Bildungseinrichtungen, im Gesundheitswesen oder im Kulturbereich zu berücksichtigen. Gleichzeitig beklagen Kritiker*innen, dass Diversität vor allem zu einer neoliberalen Management- und Marketingstrategie geworden ist, die soziale Ungleichheiten weder explizit anerkennt noch sie überwindet.

Rund 40 Referent*innen aus den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften untersuchen Prozesse der Diversifizierung von Institutionen und betrachten ihre affektiven Auswirkungen: Welche Reaktionen und Emotionen rufen diese Prozesse hervor? Was bedeutet es für Journalist*innen in Newsrooms oder Angestellte in Universitäten, wenn Institutionen (nicht) vielfältiger werden – was für Museumsbesucher*innen oder das Personal in Krankenhäusern? Wie lassen sich inklusive Praktiken institutionalisieren, ohne Menschen auf Merkmale zu reduzieren? Wie erleben Betroffene den Prozess ihrer „Inklusion“ – wie dessen Scheitern?

In ihrer Keynote zeigt die feministische Theoretikerin Sara Ahmed, wie das Sich-Beschweren zu einer Arbeit für die Diversität werden kann – einer Arbeit, die jene leisten, die nicht die Norm einer Institution verkörpern.

Die Jahrestagung des Sonderforschungsbereichs 1171 Affective Societies – Dynamiken des Zusammenlebens in bewegten Welten der Freien Universität Berlin wird organisiert von Hansjörg Dilger, Juliane Gorke, Omar Kasmani, Dominik Mattes, Hans Roth, Matthias Warstat, gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft.

In Kooperation mit dem Sonderforschungsbereich Affective Societies der Freien Universität Berlin und dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin