2020, Thu, Apr 16

Cancelled: The General’s Stork

By Heba Y. Amin

Lord Allenby in Cairo

Lord Allenby in Cairo

The event is cancelled. The decision is based on the public administration’s current guidelines and recommendations on how to deal with the Coronavirus (COVID-19). More…

In 2013, Egyptian authorities detained a migratory stork. An electronic device attached to its back had sparked suspicion and the bird was summarily suspected of espionage. This incident, alongside others, gave rise to Heba Y. Amin’s ongoing chronicle The General’s Stork. Against the backdrop of biblical prophecies, drone warfare and colonial narratives, she investigated the politics of aerial surveillance from a bird’s eye view.

Increasingly determined by the apparatus of a military-industrial complex, this project details how the exercise of war is now largely defined through digital means. In her lecture performance, Heba Y. Amin will focus on how military techniques were developed in the context of Middle Eastern geographies. Thus, she will explore the contemporary condition of paranoia that led to a migrating bird being accused of spying and how conquest from the sky – through land surveying, mapping, bombing and drone technologies – has further transformed western power into the spectacle of high-tech weaponry.

On the occasion of this lecture performance, Heba Y. Amin and Anthony Downey will launch an accompanying volume outlining the research that went into this project. The General's Stork (Sternberg Press, 2020), volume 02 in the newly announced Research/Practice series, is edited by Anthony Downey who will also lead a discussion with the audience and artist following the lecture performance.

Do, 16. April 2020

The General’s Stork

Von Heba Y. Amin

Lord Allenby in Kairo

Lord Allenby in Kairo

Im Jahr 2013 nahmen die ägyptischen Behörden einen Storch fest. Ein an seinem Rücken befestigtes elektronisches Gerät schien verdächtig. Er wurde kurzerhand der Spionage beschuldigt. Unter anderem dieser Vorfall inspirierte Heba Y. Amin zu ihrer fortlaufenden Chronik The General’s Stork. Vor dem Hintergrund biblischer Prophezeiungen, Drohnenkrieg und Kolonialerzählungen untersucht sie die Politik der Luftüberwachung aus der Vogelperspektive.

In ihrem Projekt, das zunehmend vom Apparat des militärisch-industriellen Komplexes bestimmt wird, zeigt sie auf, wie Kriegsführung heute weitgehend durch digitale Mittel definiert ist. In ihrer Lecture-Performance blickt Heba Y. Amin auf die Entwicklung militärischer Techniken im Kontext der Geografien des Nahen Ostens. So untersucht sie den gegenwärtigen Zustand der Paranoia, der dazu führte, dass einem Zugvogel Spionage vorgeworfen wurde und wie die Eroberung aus dem Himmel – durch Landvermessung, Kartierung, Bombenangriffe und Drohnen-Technologien – dazu geführt hat, dass westliche Macht sich immer mehr in einem hochtechnisierten Waffenspektakel äußert.

Anlässlich der Lecture-Performance präsentieren Heba Y. Amin und Anthony Downey eine begleitende Publikation mit einer Übersicht über die Forschungsergebnisse des Projekts. The General's Stork (Sternberg Press, 2020) ist der zweite Band der neuen Serie Research/Practice, herausgegeben von Anthony Downey, der im Anschluss an die Lecture-Performance mit dem Publikum und der Künstlerin eine Diskussion führt.