2020, Thu, Apr 02

Politics of the Dance Floor

With Mike Banks, Larisa Kingston Mann, Eugenia Seriakov, Samira Hamid Sharifu, Phatstoki and Sarah Farina

Sarah Farina | Photo: Gaétan Clément

Sarah Farina | Photo: Gaétan Clément

What is the relationship between rave and resistance? Can raving be a form of “pleasure activism” (Adrienne Maree Brown, 2019)? What does social justice look like in the clubbing context and beyond? The second edition of On Music sets its sights on the dance floor.

Even if the practice and consumption of music increasingly take place online, music still stands for a direct, shared experience. However, when escapism and profit making prevail in club culture, the importance of the dance floor as a political place is overlooked. In the urban centers around the world, various actors are working on defending this political place and imagining it over and over again.

Mike Banks, music producer and co-founder of Underground Resistance, producer, DJ and promoter Phatstoki, DJ and radio host Eugenia Seriakov from the Sound System Culture collective and the legal ethnographer Larisa Kingston Mann aka DJ Ripley will talk with moderator and DJ Samira Hamid Sharifu about their experiences in the underground club and music scene and the possibilities for making a difference in their communities. Where does the music come from and who actually has access to the dance floor? What could strategies for sustainable networking be like? What does a global community of actors and locations from the club scene look like if they mutually support one another and together meet and counteract the political challenges of today? How are experiences in Detroit and New York, Berlin and Johannesburg connected, even though the realities of life are so different?

The discussion will be followed by music: DJ and producer Sarah Farina will play a set with the panel guests’ favorite tunes. Phatstoki, part of Johannesburg’s Pussy Party Team, will close the evening with sounds that break through genre boundaries.

Curated by Sarah Farina and Kerstin Meißner

Do, 02. April 2020

Abgesagt: Politics of the Dance Floor

Mit Larisa Kingston Mann, Eugenia Seriakov, Samira Hamid Sharifu, Phatstoki und Sarah Farina

Sarah Farina | Foto: Gaétan Clément

Sarah Farina | Foto: Gaétan Clément

Die Veranstaltung ist abgesagt. Die Entscheidung beruht auf den aktuellen Vorgaben und Empfehlungen der öffentlichen Verwaltungen zum Umgang mit dem Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2). Mehr…

Welchen Zusammenhang gibt es zwischen Rave und Widerstand? Kann Raving eine Form von “Pleasure Activism” (Adrienne Maree Brown, 2019) – politischem Aktivismus als Vergnügen – sein? Wie sieht soziale Gerechtigkeit auf und jenseits der Tanzfläche aus?

Die zweite Ausgabe von On Music richtet ihren Blick auf den Dancefloor.Auch wenn Musikpraxis und -konsum zunehmend online stattfinden, steht Musik nach wie vor für ein unmittelbar gemeinschaftliches Erleben. Wenn allerdings Eskapismus und Profitlogik die Clubkultur prägen, gerät die Bedeutung des Dancefloors als politischem Ort aus dem Blick. In den urbanen Zentren weltweit arbeiten verschiedene Akteur*innen jedoch daran, diesen politischen Ort zu verteidigen und immer wieder neu zu imaginieren.

Die Produzentin, DJ und Veranstalterin Phatstoki, DJ und Radiomoderatorin Eugenia Seriakov vom Kollektiv Sound System Culture und die Rechtsethnologin Larisa Kingston Mann aka DJ Ripley sprechen zusammen mit der Moderatorin und DJ Samira Hamid Sharifu über ihre Erfahrungen in der Underground-Club- und Musikkultur und die Möglichkeiten, in ihren Communities etwas zu bewegen. Woher kommt die Musik und wer hat überhaupt Zugang zum Dancefloor? Wie können Strategien nachhaltiger Vernetzung aussehen? Wie sieht eine globale Community von Akteur*innen und Orten aus der Clubszene aus, die sich gegenseitig stärkt und den politischen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart gemeinsam be- und etwas entgegnet? Auf welche Weise sind die Erfahrungen in Detroit und New York, Berlin und Johannesburg miteinander verbunden, obwohl die Lebensrealitäten so verschieden sind?

Auf die Diskussion folgt Musik: Sarah Farina, DJ und Produzentin, spielt ein Set mit den Lieblingsstücken der Panel-Gäste. Phatstoki, Teil des Johannesburger Pussy Party Teams, beendet den Abend mit Sounds, die Genre-Grenzen aufbrechen.

Kuratiert von Sarah Farina und Kerstin Meißner