2017, Tue, Jun 13 and 2017, Wed, Jun 14

The Publishing Sphere – Ecosystems of Contemporary Literatures

Twitter profile for the bot Subtitle buoy by Gregor Weichbrodt, 2017, @subtitle_buoy | Source: National Data Buoy Center, NOAA.

Twitter profile for the bot Subtitle buoy by Gregor Weichbrodt, 2017, @subtitle_buoy | Source: National Data Buoy Center, NOAA.

The realm of writing has never been so extensive; nor has the idea of publication ever been so plural. Not a day passes without a great percentage of humanity publishing one or numerous texts: on a blog, a social media network, or elsewhere. A two-day program of performative live publishing will celebrate this emerging sphere with talks and conversations, readings, sound performances, interventions, and more. Radio Brouhaha, launched at the event, will livestream [voicerepublic.com] the final evening, capturing sounds of ambiance and infrastructure.

The traditional idea of the solitary author in direct contact with his editor, and speaking in absentia to an anonymous public is obsolete. In recent years an abundance of literary practices – performances, public readings, sound and visual work and new public spaces– have emerged, forming a vibrant artistic and political “publishing sphere.” If it is true that the imaginary of modern literature is constitutive of the fantasy of a “good” public sphere of democracy then we must find what kind of societies are emerging from the publishing sphere we are faced with today.

At The Publishing Sphere scholars, writers, artists, and representatives of initiatives will investigate the different locations of contemporary literatures between an abstract sphere and a material space. They explore what constitutes a literary work beyond the materiality of the book, expose other forms of publishing besides texts, and survey the agents and players who inhabit the field. Alternating between round table discussions, performative miniature elements, workshop reach-outs, and literary readings they will scrutinize their pre-reflections, research notes, image materials, literary references, to create a publishing sphere of their own.

The Publishing Sphere is convened by Lionel Ruffel (Université Paris 8) with Annette Gilbert (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen) in cooperation with Franziska Morlok (Fachhochschule Potsdam). With Hannes Bajohr, François Bon, Vincent Broqua, Manuel Bürger, Thomas Boehm, continent. – Publishing Collective (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears and Bernhard Garnicnig), David Desrimais, Hanna Engelmeier, Christiane Frohmann, Mathias Gatza, Mara Genschel, Tobias Haberkorn, Margaret Hillenbrand, Ho Tzu Nyen, Jan Niklas Howe, Hanna Kuusela, Geert Lovink, Olivier Marboeuf, Ingo Niermann, Jakob Nolte, Miriam Rasch, Gerald Raunig, Felwine Sarr, Danny Snelson, Camille de Toledo, Marcello Vitali-Rosati, Elena Vogman, Binyavanga Wainaina, Caleb Waldorf, Gregor Weichbrodt

Please register for the conference at registration@hkw.de. The conference language is English.

The Publishing Sphere is affiliated to the 9th Internationaler Literaturpreis awarded at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt on July 6, 2017.

The Publishing Sphere is supported by Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Université Paris Lumières, the Institut Universitaire de France and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation via the professorship of Irene Albers at Peter Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft of the Freie Universität Berlin.

Di, 13. Juni 2017 und Mi, 14. Juni 2017

The Publishing Sphere – Ecosystems of Contemporary Literatures

Twitter profile für den bot Subtitle buoy by Gregor Weichbrodt, 2017, @subtitle_buoy | Quelle: National Data Buoy Center, NOAA

Twitter profile für den bot Subtitle buoy by Gregor Weichbrodt, 2017, @subtitle_buoy | Quelle: National Data Buoy Center, NOAA

Nie zuvor hat das Schreiben einen so großen Raum eingenommen, nie war die Idee des Publizierens so plural. Kein Tag vergeht, ohne dass ein Großteil der Menschheit einen oder mehrere Texte veröffentlicht: auf einem Blog, in einem sozialen Netzwerk oder anderswo. In den letzten Jahren hat sich um die Literatur und das Publizieren herum eine Sphäre entwickelt, die über das Dreieck Autor - Verleger - Publikum hinausgeht. Eine Fülle an literarischen Praktiken – Performances, öffentliche Lesungen, Klang- und Bildarbeiten und öffentlichen Räumen– ist entstanden, die eine künstlerische und politisch engagierte „Sphäre des Publizierens“ bilden. Während es im Projekt der modernen Literatur darum ging, den Strukturwandel der Öffentlichkeit hin zu einer Demokratie zu vollziehen, müssen wir uns fragen, welche Art von Gesellschaft die heutige Sphäre des Publizierens hervorbringt.

Als performativer Live-Publishing-Workshop stellt The Publishing Sphere diese so kreative wie heterogene und agonistische Sphäre vor: Akademikerinnen, Autoren, Künstlerinnen und Vertreter von Initiativen untersuchen die unterschiedlichen Orte der Gegenwartsliteraturen zwischen einer abstrakten Sphäre und einem konkreten Raum. Sie erforschen, was literarische Texte jenseits der Materialität des Buches ausmacht, welche Formen des Publizierens es jenseits von Texten gibt und welche Agenten und Spielerinnen das Feld bestimmen. In Gesprächen, Miniatur-Performances, Wrap-Ups und Lesungen nehmen sie ihre Vorüberlegungen, Recherchenotizen, Bildmaterialien und literarischen Bezüge in den Blick, um so live und vor Ort eine eigene „publishing sphere“ zu schaffen. Radio Brouhaha, das erstmals auf Sendung geht, wird die experimentelle Atmosphäre des Abschlussabends in einer Live-Übertragung einfangen.

The Publishing Sphere wird von Lionel Ruffel (Université Paris 8) mit Annette Gilbert (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen) und in Kooperation mit Franziska Morlok (Fachhochschule Potsdam) organisiert. Teilnehmende sind u. a. Hannes Bajohr, François Bon, Vincent Broqua, Manuel Bürger, Thomas Boehm, continent. – Publishing Collective (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears and Bernhard Garnicnig), David Desrimais, Hanna Engelmeier, Christiane Frohmann, Mathias Gatza, Mara Genschel, Tobias Haberkorn, Margaret Hillenbrand, Ho Tzu Nyen, Jan Niklas Howe, Hanna Kuusela, Geert Lovink, Olivier Marboeuf, Ingo Niermann, Jakob Nolte, Miriam Rasch, Gerald Raunig, Felwine Sarr, Danny Snelson, Camille de Toledo, Marcello Vitali-Rosati, Elena Vogman, Binyavanga Wainaina, Caleb Waldorf, Gregor Weichbrodt

The Publishing Sphere findet im Vorfeld des 9. Internationalen Literaturpreises statt, der am 6. Juli 2017 im Haus der Kulturen der Welt verliehen wird.

The Publishing Sphere wird unterstützt vom Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, der Université Paris Lumières, dem Institut Universitaire de France und der Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung über den Arbeitsbereich von Irene Albers am Peter Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin.