2014, Fri, Mar 21

Independently Electric

with Nikola Richter (mikrotext), EJ van Lanen (Frisch & Co), Marc Degens (SuKuLTur), Zoe Beck. Moderation: Sabine Scholl (author, Berlin)

Independent Berlin ebook publishers discuss their various approaches: Frisch & Co. publishes English translations and cooperates exclusively with several European publishing houses, CulturBooks focuses on contemporary originals in brief formats, licensing, and out-of-print works, while mikrotext focuses on international debates. SuKuLTuR has created its own creative, original model of distribution and curates the e-book boutique minimore.de.


Zoe Beck, publisher (CULTurBOOKS), Hamburg, is a publisher, writer, and translator. She writes stories and novels and for the online CulturMag and is a columnist for the show LiteraturEN for SWR 2. Together with Jan Karsten, she directs the E-book publishing company CULTurBOOKS, specialized on the publication of unusual formats of contemporary prose, out-of-print works, and texts between and outside genres.

Marc Degens, publisher (SuKuLTuR, minimore.de), Berlin, writes novels, short stories, essays, poetry, and works as a cultural journalist. As a part of alle3 (with Torsten Franz and Frank Maleu) he has been running the Berlin independent publishing house SuKuLTuR and the online culture website satt.org since 2000. Since March 2014, he has been curating the e-book boutique minimore.de. In addition, he edits the series Schöner Lesen, which has been distributed in vending machines since 2004.

EJ van Lanen, publisher (Frisch & Co), Berlin. An American editor and publisher, Van Lanen founded the digital publishing house Frisch & Co. Electronic Books in Berlin in 2012, specializing in new English translations of well-known and upcoming writers.

Nikola Richter, publisher (mikrotext), Berlin, is a writer, freelance journalist, and runs a publishing house in Berlin. She writes short stories and poetry, and plays, also working as a journalist and contributing to several blogs. She is the founder of the online literature magazine schriftstelle.de and the Berlin reading platform visch & ferse. In 2013, she founded the digital publishing house mikrotext for brief digital texts, for which she was nominated for the Virenschleuderpreis and the Berlin Innovation Consensus. In 2013/14, Richter curated the event series Netzkultur on digital changes in culture and society at the Berliner Festspiele.

Sabine Scholl, Author, Berlin, Literary advisor Fiktion, is a freelance writer, whose publications include numerous novels, essays, poems, plays, and audio plays. Both as a writer and as a member of the jury, she has participated in the Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis competition several times, and she has taught creative writing internationally. Her latest novel Wir sind die Früchte des Zorns was published in 2013. Scholl is a member of the Grazer Autorenversammlung and a literary advisor for Fiktion e.V.

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

Fr, 21. März 2014

Unabhängig elektrisch

mit Nikola Richter (mikrotext), EJ van Lanen (Frisch & Co), Marc Degens (SuKuLTur), Zoe Beck. Moderation: Sabine Scholl (Autorin, Berlin)

Unabhängige Berliner Verlage, die ausschließlich oder im Besonderen E-Books veröffentlichen, diskutieren ihre unterschiedlichen Ansätze: Frisch & Co. publiziert englische Übersetzungen und kooperiert exklusiv mit mehreren europäischen Publikumsverlagen. CulturBooks widmet sich zeitgenössischen Originalen oft in Kurzform, Lizenzen und vergriffenen Werken, mikrotext internationalen Debatten. SuKuLTuR hat sich mit dem Automatenverkauf von Büchern ein eigenständiges, originäres Vertriebsmodell geschaffen und soeben die kuratierte E-Book-Boutique minimore.de gestartet.


Zoe Beck, Verlegerin (CULTurBOOKS), Hamburg, ist Verlegerin, Autorin und Übersetzerin. Sie schreibt Erzählungen und Romane sowie journalistische Texte unter anderem für das Online-Feuilleton CulturMag und ist Kolumnistin für die Sendung LiteraturEN beim SWR2. Zusammen mit Jan Karsten leitet sie den E-Book-Verlag CULTurBOOKS, der sich auf Veröffentlichung außergewöhnlicher Formate zeitgenössischer Prosa, vergriffene Werke und Texte zwischen und außerhalb der Genres spezialisiert hat.

Marc Degens, Verleger (SuKuLTur, minimore.de), Berlin, schreibt Romane, Erzählungen, Aufsätze, Gedichte und Feuilletons. Er betreibt als Teil von alle3 (mit Torsten Franz und Frank Maleu) seit 1996 den Berliner Independent-Verlag SuKuLTuR, seit 2000 das Online-Feuilleton satt.org und seit März 2014 die kuratierte E-Book-Boutique minimore.de. Zudem gibt er die Heftreihe „Schöner Lesen“ heraus, die seit 2004 in Süßwarenautomaten vertrieben wird.

EJ van Lanen, Verleger (Frisch & Co) Berlin. US-amerikanischer Lektor und Verleger. EJ van Lanen gründete im Jahr 2012 den digitalen Verlag Frisch & Co. Electronic Books in Berlin, der sich auf Neuübersetzung bekannter und aufstrebender Autoren ins Englische spezialisiert.

Nikola Richter, Verlegerin (mikrotext), ist Autorin, Verlagsleiterin und freie Redakteurin in Berlin. Nikola Richter schreibt Erzählungen und Lyrik, Theaterstücke, journalistische Texte und in verschiedenen Blogs. Sie ist Gründerin des Online-Literaturmagazin schriftstelle.de und der Berliner Lesebühne visch & ferse. 2013 rief sie den digitalen Verlag mikrotext für kurze digitale Lektüren ins Leben, der für den Virenschleuderpreis und den Berlin Innovation Concensus nominiert wurde. 2013/2014 hat sie die Veranstaltungsreihe Netzkultur zu digitalen Veränderungen in Kultur und Gesellschaft bei den Berliner Festspielen kuratiert.

Sabine Scholl, Autorin, Berlin, Literarischer Beirat Fiktion, freie Schriftstellerin. Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen zählen zahlreiche Romane, Essays, Gedichte, Theaterstücke und Hörspiele. Sabine Scholl nahm als Autorin und Jurorin am Ingeborg-Bachmann-Preis teil und hat an verschiedenen internationalen Hochschulen Creative Writing gelehrt. 2013 erschien ihr jüngster Roman „Wir sind die Früchte des Zorns“. Scholl ist Mitglied der Grazer Autorenversammlung und im Literarischen Beirat von Fiktion e.V.