Wassermusik will be held on the roof terrace and in the restaurant. HKW is undergoing renovations. | More information...

Fiktion

International Model Project
2013–2016

Fiktion | Congress

Fiktion | Congress "Literatur digital" | Photo: www.edisonga.de

Under the program management of Mathias Gatza and Ingo Niermann, communications management of Henriette Gallus, and organized by Julia Stoff, the international model project Fiktion, with support from the Kulturstiftung des Bundes, is further developing the opportunities arising from digitization for the perception and distribution of challenging literature. Since 2013, Fiktion has promoted the expansion of an international network of authors by digitally publishing literary texts and essays in German and English. The work of the project is accompanied by a literary advisory committee including, among others, Rajeev Balasubramanyam, Nina Bußmann, Douglas Coupland, Katharina Hacker, Elfriede Jelinek, Tom McCarthy, Ben Marcus, Ou Ning, Thomas Pletzinger, Stephan Porombka, Verena Rossbacher, and Sabine Scholl.

Fiktion tests new forms of digital distribution and explores questions of copyright, distribution, reading habits, translation, and communication processes in digital practice. It seeks to discuss these topics in literary as well as non-literary – that is, broader societal – contexts and put them forward for public debate. At international conferences and workshops in New York, Barcelona, Berlin and Basel, Fiktion has continuously grown its original network. Since its founding, it has influenced public discourse on digital literature with new ideas at literary events and repeatedly incited provocative discussion among critics. The theses pointedly summarized in September 2013 in the Declaration on the Digital Future of Literature still form the starting point for these encounters, which have been conducted in the framework of numerous international collaborations.

Konzentration, an anthology published this spring, gathers the results of the debates thus far on the subjects of concentration and immersion, and brings together writings by, among others, Boris Groys, Kenneth Goldsmith, Emily Segal, Ingeborg Harms, Dirk Baecker, Charis Conn, Arthur Jacobs and Raoul Schrott. This and other titles already published in digital form by Fiktion are constantly being introduced, in both German and English, in a series of presentations that will invite the audience to read along digitally. These works include “Herr F” and “Popppappp” by the British author and musician Momus in 2015, the debut novel Elephant Chronicles by the Romanian author and historian Sînziana Păltineanu, and a story by the Leipzig-based author Francis Nenik.

The open-source-based e-reader created by and for Fiktion is currently undergoing further development in conjunction with a reading research study headed by Arthur Jacobs (professor of neurocognitive psychology at FU Berlin). At the end of the year, Fiktion will publicly present the experiences compiled from digital practice to authors, advisory committee members and readers for discussion and criticism.

FIKTION is a project of Fiktion e.V., developed in cooperation with the Haus der Kulturen der Welt with support from the Kulturstiftung des Bundes.

Project Managers, Program: Mathias Gatza, Ingo Niermann (Fiktion e. V.), Project Manager, Communications: Henriette Gallus (Fiktion e. V.), Project Manager, HKW: Katrin Klingan, Academic Director, “Literatur digital” Congress: Katharina de la Durantaye, Humboldt University, Berlin

In cooperation

Bis Ende 2016 schließt das HKW und ist out and about – unterwegs mit Projekten in Berlin, Hamburg und München. | Mehr Infos...

Fiktion

Internationales Modellprojekt
2013–2016

Fiktion | Kongress

Fiktion | Kongress "Literatur digital" | Foto: www.edisonga.de

Unter der Programmleitung von Mathias Gatza und Ingo Niermann, der Kommunikationsleitung von Henriette Gallus und organisiert von Julia Stoff, entwickelt das internationale Modellprojekt Fiktion, gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, die sich durch die Digitalisierung eröffnenden Chancen für die Wahrnehmung und Verbreitung anspruchsvoller Literatur weiter. Mit der digitalen Veröffentlichung literarischer Texte und Essays in deutscher und englischer Sprache treibt das Projekt Fiktion seit 2013 den Ausbau eines internationalen Autorennetzwerkes voran, begleitet von einem literarischen Beirat, dem u.a. Rajeev Balasubramanyam, Nina Bußmann, Douglas Coupland, Katharina Hacker, Elfriede Jelinek, Tom McCarthy, Ben Marcus, Ou Ning, Thomas Pletzinger, Stephan Porombka, Verena Rossbacher und Sabine Scholl angehören.

Fiktion erprobt neue Formen digitaler Distribution und erkundet Fragen von Copyright, Distribution, Lesegewohnheiten, Übersetzung und Kommunikationsprozessen in der digitalen Praxis und sucht, diese in literarischen und nicht-literarischen, sprich breiteren gesellschaftlichen Kontexten zu erörtern. In internationalen Konferenzen und Workshops in New York, Barcelona, berlin und Basel hat Fiktion sein anfängliches Netzwerk stetig weiterentwickelt. Mit neuen Konzepten im Bereich Literatur-Veranstaltung beeinflusst Fiktion seit seiner Gründung den den öffentlichen Diskurs über digitale Literatur und hat bei Kritikern immer wieder für kontroverse Diskussionen gesorgt.. Die im September 2013 in der „Deklaration zur digitalen Zukunft der Literatur“ markant zusammengefassten Thesen bilden hierbei noch immer den Referenzpunkt der in zahlreichen internationalen Kollaborationen geführten Auseinandersetzungen.

Der im Frühjahr erschienene Sammelband „Konzentration“ führt Teilergebnisse dieser Debatten zu den Themen Aufmerksamkeit und Immersion zusammen und versammelt Beiträge u.a. von Boris Groys, Kenneth Goldsmith, Emily Segal, Ingeborg Harms, Dirk Baecker, Charis Conn, Arthur Jacobs und Raoul Schrott.Dieser sowie weitere der aktuell digital veröffentlichten Titel von Fiktion werden kontinuierlich in einer Serie von Präsentationen, zweisprachig und zum digitalen Mitlesen vorgestellt. So 2015 unter anderem die Titel, „Herr F“ und „Popppappp“ des britischen Autors und Musikers Momus, derDebütroman „Elephantenchronike“ der rumänischen Autorin und Historikerin Sinziana Paltineanu undeine Langerzählung des Leipziger Autoren Francis Nenik..

Verbunden mit einer Studie zur Leseforschung unter der Leitung von Arthur Jacobs (Professor für Neurokognitive Psychologie an der FU Berlin) wird der eigens für und von Fiktion entwickelte Open Source-basierte E-Reader weiter entwickelt.Zum Ende des Jahres wird Fiktion die bisher gesammelten Erfahrungen aus der digitalen Praxis mit Autoren, Beiratsmitgliedern und den Lesern öffentlich zur Diskussion und Kritik stellen.

Programmleitung: Mathias Gatza, Ingo Niermann (Fiktion e. V.), Kommunikationsleitung: Henriette Gallus (Fiktion e. V.) Projektleitung HKW: Katrin Klingan

In Kooperation