In the discussion series Theatre of Reconciliation, Max Czollek encounters people who are exploring questions of memory. How do societies remember? What does the much-lauded German Erinnerungskultur—culture of remembrance—have to do with the question of belonging? What does remembrance mean for the German, European, and international present? 

The focus of the series rests on a pluralistic present, especially that of German society, and on all those without whom the present would look very different. In 2023 the series launches, guided by the motto it has been, continues in 2024 with it could have been, before it passes through the phases is and will be, to arrive, with the future perfect, at will have been.

The title of the series is also the title of Max Czollek’s third volume of essays,Versöhnungstheater, which was published by Carl Hanser Verlag in 2023.

Peggy Piesche was born and raised in the GDR and is one of the best-known voices of Black women in Germany. She studied literature and cultural studies and has worked for decades on intersectionality, the critique of racism and power, and the reflection of whiteness in science, society, and politics. Piesche has been active in the Black feminist movement in Germany and internationally since 1990, for example as a co-founder of ADEFRA e. V. – Schwarze Frauen in Deutschland (Black Women in Germany) and since 2016 as an Executive Board Member of ASWAD (Association for the Study of the Worldwide African Diaspora). Piesche currently works in adult education and is a consultant for diversity, intersectionality, and decoloniality at the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).

Information on Theatre of Reconciliation in German Sign Language (DGS):

Video

Video: Handgold Service in Gebärdensprache / Mandy Wyrostek

Bei der Gesprächsreihe Versöhnungstheater trifft Max Czollek auf Menschen, die sich mit Fragen der Erinnerung auseinandersetzen. Wie erinnern Gesellschaften? Was hat die viel gepriesene deutsche Erinnerungskultur mit der Frage nach Zugehörigkeit zu tun? Was bedeutet Erinnerung für die deutsche, europäische und internationale Gegenwart? 

Das Augenmerk der Reihe liegt dabei auf der pluralen Gegenwart insbesondere der deutschen Gesellschaft. Und auf all jenen, ohne die diese Gegenwart ganz anders aussähe. 2023 startet die Reihe unter dem Motto Ist gewesen, geht 2024 über zu hätte gewesen sein können, bevor sie die Phasen ist und wird sein durchläuft, um schließlich im Futur 2 von wird gewesen sein können anzukommen.

Der Titel der Reihe ist auch der Titel des dritten Essaybands von Max Czollek, der 2023 im Carl Hanser Verlag erschienen ist.

Peggy Piesche, geboren und aufgewachsen in der DDR, ist eine der bekanntesten Stimmen Schwarzer Frauen in Deutschland. Studiert hat sie Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften und arbeitet seit Jahrzehnten zu Intersektionalität, Rassismus- und Machtkritik sowie Weißseinsreflexion in Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Politik. Peggy Piesche ist seit 1990 in der Schwarzen feministischen Bewegung in Deutschland und international aktiv, z. B. als Mitfrau* bei Generation ADEFRA e.V. (Schwarze Frauen* in Deutschland) und seit 2016 als Executive Board Member von ASWAD (Association for the Study of the Worldwide African Diaspora). Aktuell arbeitet Peggy Piesche in der Erwachsenenbildung und ist in der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung als Referentin für Diversität, Intersektionalität und Dekolonialität tätig.

Informationen zum Versöhnungstheater in Deutscher Gebärdensprache (DGS):

Video

Video: Handgold Service in Gebärdensprache / Mandy Wyrostek