Ensemble Modern + Ganesh Anandan

(Germany + India/Canada)

Mon, Jun 6, 2005
8 pm
Admission: 13 Euro, concessions 10 Euro
Ensemble Modern, Copyright: Wonge Bergmann

The result and development of co-operation between the Ensemble Modern and Indian virtuosos. At this concert, the Ensemble is working with Indian percussionist Ganesh Anandan from Canada, who experiments with a variety of drumming styles.

"A club of indefatigable experimenters, and virtuosos in crossing boundaries", is how the Die Zeit newspaper described the Ensemble Modern. This formation, one of the world’s leading ensembles for new music, is famous for its openness towards different musical worlds, which are generally considered untranslatable. In 2003, the House of World Cultures presented the result of their first co-operation project with Indian composers and instrumentalists under the title Rasalîla - the Play of Feelings. This music, which is deeply rooted in tradition, remains avant-garde nonetheless. "One can hardly underestimate this experiment," wrote the F.A.Z. literary pages. Now, the successful project of an East-West encounter with Ganesh Anandan and compositions of New Indian Music is being continued. The percussionist, composer and instrument-maker is working on the transference of rhythm concepts. He combines the classical style of his South Indian home with the North African and Persian traditions of playing and his own technique, thus creating a unique hybrid system of hand and finger techniques.

Kanjira / Drums: Ganesh Anandan

Flute: Dietmar Wiesner

Oboe: Antje Thierbach

Clarinet: Karin Dornbusch

Violine: Helena Winkelman

Drums: Rainer Römer

Sound director: Norbert Ommer


Ganesh Anandan: After life - dedicated to Wolfgang Stryi (1957 - 2005) with Rainer Römer (percussion), Wolfgang Stryi (sample: bass clarinet), and Ganesh Anandan (String drum).

Giacinto Scelsi: Hyxos (1955) for alto flute and percussion.

Ganesh Anandan: THA KI TA (2002) solo for framedrum with Ganesh Anandan.

Ganesh Anandan: Autorickshaw Ride (2003) newly arranged 2005 by Claude Maheu for Ooboe, flute, violine, bass clarinet, percussion, canjira (South Indian tambourine) and tape shirish.

Korde: Tenderness of Cranes (1990) for flute solo.

Francis Silkstone: Is this Raag? (2005) commissioned for Ensemble Modern.