HKW will be closed from Jan 7 until 26.

Find the File: Concerts & Talks

The festival opens with four commissioned works by Berlin musicians: Aerea Negrot, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Bernadette La Hengst and Barbara Morgenstern with the Chor der Kulturen der Welt and Olith Ratego have worked with found sounds from digital archives, research volumes and old band videos. The non-dogmatic reissue label Sublime Frequencies presents the rhythm psychedelics Hayvanlar Alemi and the Mandingo band led by Baba Commandant; label founder Alan Bishop then plays Indonesian singles.

The preservation of collective musical memory is a particularly urgent matter in many African countries. Many recordings are stored in German museums or American universities. DJ Raph from Nairobi awakens such material from its slumber of conservation. Radio Mogadishu’s unique archive battles for digital survival: Its tapes are crumbling since the civil war, thus risking the loss of evidence of Somalia’s vibrant music scene. Dur-Dur Band International revives their golden era of the 1970s and 1980s at HKW. Also footage about the Afrobeat icon Fela Kuti recently found in an Italian private archive raises questions about selection and accessibility. The fragments can be seen for the first time in an installation by filmmaker and photographer Armin Linke. Saxophone virtuoso Femi Kuti has commemorated his father and the entire Afrobeat movement with his club, the New Africa Shrine in Lagos. He also pays tribute to this musical heritage live with The Positive Force.

A broad discourse program including contributions from artist, author and DJ Jace Clayton, music ethnologist Diane Thram, Retromania author Simon Reynolds and artist Cornelia Sollfrank discusses the core issues and problems that collecting, storing and reactivating music entail.

A network meeting gathers operators and employees of counter archives and special collections to get to know each other, exchange ideas and identify common problems: What counter narratives and enlargements of official narratives are conceivable?

Find the File: Konzerte & Talks

Vier Auftragsarbeiten von Berliner Musikerinnen eröffnen das Festival: Aerea Negrot, Tellavision & Derya Yıldırım, Bernadette La Hengst sowie Barbara Morgenstern mit dem Chor der Kulturen der Welt und Olith Ratego haben gefundene Sounds – aus digitalen Archiven, Forschungsbüchern, alten Bandvideos – bearbeitet. Das undogmatische Reissue-Label Sublime Frequencies präsentiert die Rhythmus-Psychedeliker Hayvanlar Alemi und die von Baba Commandant angeführte Mandingo-Band; Labelgründer Alan Bishop legt anschließend indonesische Singles auf.

Der Erhalt des musikalischen Kollektivgedächtnisses wird in vielen afrikanischen Ländern besonders drängend diskutiert: Viele Aufnahmen lagern in deutschen Museen oder US-amerikanischen Universitäten. DJ Raph aus Nairobi weckt solches Material aus dem Konservierungsschlaf. Das einzigartige Archiv von Radio Mogadishu kämpft um den digitalen Fortbestand, denn nach dem Bürgerkrieg droht nun die Zersetzung der Tonbänder und damit der Verlust der Zeugnisse von Somalias pulsierender Musikszene. Die Dur-Dur Band International lässt im HKW ihre goldene Ära der 1970er und 80er Jahre wieder aufleben. Auch kürzlich in einem italienischen Privatarchiv gefundenes Filmmaterial über die Afrobeat-Ikone Fela Kuti wirft Fragen nach Selektion und Zugänglichkeit auf. Die Fragmente sind erstmals öffentlich in einer Installation von Filmemacher und Fotograf Armin Linke zu sehen. Der Saxofon-Virtuose Femi Kuti hat mit dem Club The New Afrika Shrine in Lagos seinem Vater und der gesamten Afrobeat-Bewegung ein Denkmal gesetzt. Auch live mit The Positive Force huldigt er diesem musikalischen Erbe.

Ein breites Diskursprogramm – darunter Beiträge von Künstler, Autor und DJ Jace Clayton, Musikethnologin Diane Thram, Retromania-Autor Simon Reynolds und Künstlerin Cornelia Sollfrank diskutiert die zentralen Fragen und Probleme, die das Sammeln, Speichern und Reaktivieren von Musik mit sich bringt.