Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2013, Thu, Oct 24 — 2013, Sun, Oct 27

Installations

Acoustically and visually striking dances of the Mafia and the musical quintessence of evil are presented here. The public is invited to experience for itself how music can be used as a weapon, punishment, and means of enforcing order.

STALKER 1

Documentation by Anke Eckardt (2013)

The effect of ultrasonic loudspeakers in public space is documented using a collection of YouTube videos, with a smaller, lower-power model being deployed at HKW. The technology behind the hypersonic speakers was originally developed by the American military for purposes of psychological warfare. The Washington Times quotes a police officer as saying, “It is designed to get people to do what police want.”


STALKER 2

Sound installation by Anke Eckardt (2013)

“What was it? A meteorite? A visitation from outer space? We sent in troops. None returned...” (from “Stalker” by Andrei Tarkovsky). In a dramatic parallel to the film, the Chernobyl disaster led to the depopulation of its entire surrounding area, the “Zone of Alienation.” Here at HKW, a sonic beam wandering through the space creates an alien auditory “zone” that invites exploration. At once “old school” and science fiction, a parabolic dish reminiscent of a radar unit is transformed from a “listening ear” to a reflector, to a voice.


V FOR VILLAINS by Branded To Kill

An audiovisual staging of the cinematic rogue logos

Villains, scoundrels, and killers don’t draw attention only by their looks, but also by killer tonal motifs that grab the ear. Catchy, recognizable, unforgettable, and usually too cool for the good guys – they’re the audible essence of evil. Branded to Kill includes: Georg Spehr, independent sound director and sound designer, associate professor in the master’s degree program in Sound Studies at Berlin University of the Arts; and Max Schneider, sound designer and artist, head of the sound art section of the audiovisual lab at the Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig.


The Culture of Violence

Works on the ’Ndrangheta by Francesco Sbano

Francesco Sbano’s multimedia documentary works investigate the Mafia as a social phenomenon. They show the baptism of the fiori, the newest members of the Honorable Society; the latitanti hiding in the mountains; general meetings of the ’Ndrangheta; the annual procession to honor the Madonna of Polsi, where the leadership presumably also meets to consult; and the tarantella dance, commanded by the local Mafia capi.


Music as Punishment

Sound installations

Playlists aren’t always put together with benign intentions. To find out how it feels when common genres like rock, pop, and classical music are used to punish or even torture, step into the three cells and experience these authentic historical, hostile musical sequences.


Cell 1 - Scenario: Panama City, December 1989/January 1990

After the invasion by US troops, Panamanian governor Manuel Noriega, suspected of involvement in organized crime, sought refuge at the Papal Nunciature. For days, US marines subjected him to rock music. He surrendered on January 3, 1990.


Cell 2 - Scenario: Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, Camp Delta, sometime between 2002 and today

Prisoners are subjected to American rock and pop music, which is intended to inflict pain and/or humiliation through its content or high volume.


Cell 3 - Scenario: Hamburg, Main Railway Station, sometime between 2000 and today

Since 2000, classical music has been played at Hamburg’s central station, ostensibly with the effect of driving away drug addicts, homeless people, and petty criminals.

Do, 24. Oktober 2013 — So, 27. Oktober 2013

Installationen

STALKER 1

Dokumentation von Anke Eckardt (2013)

Mit einer Sammlung von Youtube-Videos wird die Wirkung von Ultraschall-Lautsprechern im öffentlichen Raum dokumentiert und ein kleineres, leistungsreduziertes Modell kommt hierbei im HKW zum Einsatz. Die den hypersonic speakers zugrunde liegende Technologie entwickelte das amerikanische Militär ursprünglich zum Zwecke der psychologischen Kriegsführung. "It is designed to get people to do what police want“, zitiert die Washington Times einen Polizisten.


STALKER 2

Klanginstallation von Anke Eckardt (2013)

“… was es war? Der Fall eines Meteoriten? Der Besuch von Bewohnern des menschlichen Kosmos? Wir schickten sofort Truppen hin. Sie kamen nicht zurück … (aus "Stalker" von Andrej Tarkovsky) Eine dramatische Parallele zum Film stellt die Katastrophe von Tschernobyl dar, nach der die gesamte Umgebung entvölkert wurde, "Zone of alienation" genannt. Hier im HKW kreiert ein durch den Raum wandernder Schallbeam eine fremde auditive "Zone", die zum Erkunden einlädt. Ein an Radaranlagen erinnernder Parabolspiegel, Old School und Science Fiction zugleich, wird dabei vom "listening ear" zum Reflektor, zur Stimme.


V FOR VILLAINS by Branded To Kill

Eine audio-visuelle Inszenierung des Schurkenlogos im Film

Bösewichter, Schurken und Killer setzen sich nicht nur visuell in Szene, sondern auch mit klanglichen Killer-Motiven, die direkt ins Ohr stechen. Einprägend, wiedererkennbar, unvergesslich und meist zu cool, um zu den Guten zu gehören - eine hörbare Essenz des Bösen. Branded to Kill sind: Georg Spehr, freier Sound Director und Klang-Gestalter, lehrt am Masterstudiengang Sound Studies der UdK, und Max Schneider, Sound Designer und Künstler, leitet den Klangkunst-Bereich des Audiovisuellen Labors der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig.


The Culture of Violence

Arbeiten zur ’Ndrangheta von Francesco Sbano

Die multimedialen-dokumentarischen Arbeiten von Francesco Sbano untersuchen die Mafia als soziales Phänomen. Sie zeigen die Taufe der "Fiore", der Neuanfänger der Ehrenwerten Gesellschaft, die "Latitanti", die in den Bergen Untergetauchten, Mitgliederversammlungen der ’Ndrangheta, die Prozession zu Ehren der Madonna von Polsi, wo sich alljährlich wohl auch die Führung zur Beratung trifft, und den von den örtlichen Mafia-"Capos" kommandierten Tanz der Tarantella.


Musik als Strafe

Soundinstallationen

Nicht immer werden Playlisten mit freundlichen Absichten zusammengestellt. Wer wissen möchte, wie es sich anfühlt, wenn gängige Musik wie Rock, Pop, Klassik als Bestrafung, ja Folter empfunden werden soll, begebe sich in die drei Zellen und setze sich historischen, feindseligen Original-Musikreihenfolgen aus.


Zelle 1 - Szenario: Panama Stadt, Dezember 1989/ Januar 1990

Nach der Invasion durch US-Truppen flüchtet Manuel Noriega, der der Verstrickung in Organisierte Kriminalität verdächtigte Regierungschef Panamas, in die Nuntiatur des Vatikans. Er wird dort von US-Marines mit Rockmusik beschallt, bis er sich am 3. Januar 1990 ergibt.


Zelle 2 - Szenario: Guantanamo Bay Naval Base, Camp Delta, irgendwann zwischen 2002 und heute

Gefangene werden amerikanischer Rock- und Popmusik ausgesetzt, was entweder durch große Lautstärke oder aber aufgrund der Inhalte schmerzhaft und/oder demütigend wirken soll.


Zelle 3 - Szenario: Hamburg, Hauptbahnhof, irgendwann zwischen 2000 und heute

Seit dem Jahr 2000 wird der Hamburger Hauptbahnhof mit klassischer Musik beschallt, was angeblich den Effekt hat, Drogensüchtige, Prostituierte und Kleinkriminelle zu vertreiben.