Hannes Meyer: Co-op Interieur

Texts: Aristide Antonas, Pier Vittorio Aureli, Raquel Franklin
German / English
ISBN 978-3-95905-045-6
EUR 16.00

Available at bookstores, the shop at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and online at Spector Books.

In his photographs of the corner of a room that is characterised at least as much by the absence of people, objects, and spatial features as by the distinctiveness of its design, Hannes Meyer gave expression to a radical, anti-bourgeois style of interior. Architecture and design were not meant to fulfil historically determined needs but to overcome these very constraints. Meyer’s Co-op Interieur was not a recommendation for a mode of interior design but rather a manifesto proclaiming an alternative principle of housing and “living” and, by extension, a new world.


In 1926 the Berlin architecture critic Adolf Behne received a photograph from Basel: depicted on it were four objects, prosaically arranged in a makeshift corner of a room. Entitled Co-op. Interieur, the photo had been sent by the architect Hannes Meyer who had composed the scene. Bearing the caption “Die Wohnung,” (The Apartment) the photo was published in the journal Das Werk, as the last of a series of images accompanying Meyer’s article “Die Neue Welt” (The New World). Behne used it almost simultaneously in an essay for the popular Berlin monthly magazine Uhu, commenting: “Extreme. A modern room, which will not be to everyone’s taste.”

As the two parallel publications of that year intimate, Meyer sought to position this motif of a sparsely furnished interior as the illustration of an idea. With the photo of a room, distinguished as much by the absence of people, objects, and spatial characteristics, as it is by the uniqueness of its design, he was articulating a radical, anti-bourgeois lifestyle: rather than serving to gratify needs shaped historically, architecture and design were now the means to overcome precisely these constraints.

What Behne interpreted as a matter of taste, constituted a general standard for Meyer. For Co-op. Interieur was not the draft of an interior design, but a manifesto for a different principle of living and thus for a new world. Featuring a critique of the image by Raquel Franklin, together with essays by Aristide Antonas and Pier Vittorio Aureli, this volume discusses how, by invaginating this new world into the corner of a room, the principles of collectivity and utility are represented as counterpoints to private property.

Verkehrsbehinderungen wegen des Berlin-Marathons bis 25.9. Mehr Infos...

Hannes Meyer: Co-op Interieur

Texte: Aristide Antonas, Pier Vittorio Aureli, Raquel Franklin
Deutsch / Englisch
ISBN 978-3-95905-045-6
EUR 16,00

Erhältlich im Buchhandel, im Shop des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt und online bei Spector Books.

Mit der Fotografie einer Zimmerecke, die sich mindestens so sehr durch die Abwesenheit von Menschen, Dingen und Raumeigenschaften wie durch die Besonderheit ihrer Gestaltung auszeichnet, artikulierte Hannes Meyer einen radikal anti-bürgerlichen Wohnstil. Architektur und Gestaltung sollten nicht der Erfüllung historisch geformter Bedürfnisse dienen, sondern der Überwindung genau dieser Zwänge. Meyers Co-op Interieur war kein Vorschlag zur Inneneinrichtung. Es war ein Manifest für ein anderes Prinzip des Wohnens und damit für eine neue Welt.

*

Im Jahr 1926 erhielt der Berliner Architekturkritiker Adolf Behne einen Fotoabzug aus Basel: darauf vier Gegenstände, in einer provisorischen Raumecke lapidar angeordnet. Das Bild hieß Co-op. Interieur, Absender war der Architekt Hannes Meyer, der die Szene auch arrangiert hatte. Mit dem Untertitel „Die Wohnung“ versehen, veröffentlichte Meyer das Bild in der Zeitschrift Das Werk als letztes einer Reihe von Begleitmotiven zu seinem Artikel „Die Neue Welt“. Behne verwendete es nahezu zeitgleich in einem Beitrag für das populäre Berliner Monatsmagazin Uhu. Er kommentierte: „Extreme. Ein modernes Zimmer, das nicht nach jedermanns Geschmack sein wird.“

Wie die beiden parallel gesetzten Publikationen jenes Jahres nahelegen, wollte Meyer dieses Motiv einer spartanischen Inneneinrichtung als Illustration einer Idee positionieren. Mit dem Bild eines Zimmers, das sich mindestens so sehr durch die Abwesenheit von Menschen, Dingen und Raumeigenschaften wie durch die Besonderheit seiner Gestaltung auszeichnet, artikulierte er einen radikal anti-bürgerlichen Wohnstil: Architektur und Gestaltung dienen nicht länger der Erfüllung historisch geformter Bedürfnisse, sondern der Überwindung genau dieser Zwänge.

Was Behne als Geschmacksfrage interpretierte, stellte für Meyer einen allgemeinen Standard dar. Denn Co-op. Interieur war kein Vorschlag zur Inneneinrichtung, sondern ein Manifest für ein anderes Prinzip des Wohnens und damit für eine neue Welt. Mit einer Bildbetrachtung von Raquel Franklin sowie weiterführenden Essays von Aristide Antonas und Pier Vittorio Aureli erörtert der vorliegende Band, wie mittels einer Einstülpung dieser neuen Welt in eine Raum- ecke die Prinzipien von Kollektivität und Gebrauch als Gegenmomente zum Individualeigentum zur Darstellung gebracht wurden.