Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past, Rebellions for the Future

Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past Rebellions for the Future

Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past Rebellions for the Future

Editors: Tom Avermaete, Serhat Karakayali, Marion von Osten
English
320 pages, numerous color and black and white illustrations
Black Dog Publishing, London 2010
ISBN: 978-1907317118
Price: € 34,90

Available at bookstores, the shop at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, or at Black Dog Publishing

In the post-war aesthetic regime of modernism, architecture and urban planning acquired a highly symbolic function. They stood not only for the aesthetic project of modernism, but also for social modernity and the shift to a new society, whose viability and planning they literally represented. This symbolic function of settlement architecture, however, was embedded in areas of conflict. The demographic strategies which had been tested within the colonial context were integrated into the architecture of the 1950s and 1960s. On the other hand, the architects also tried to incorporate the experience of decolonization into their planning. They did this by synthesizing “pre-modern” apostrophized lifestyles of people in the North African colonies into the project of modernity, thus creating a new and different modernity.

The focus of this volume is the relationship between the aesthetic regime of modernity on the one hand, and the project of modernization on the other. The reciprocal relationship between both becomes evident, particularly within the explosive context of colonialism. The exhibition upon which this volume is based, “In the Desert of Modernity: Colonial Planning and After,” traces the entangled histories of European modern architecture and urban planning in colonial North Africa, showing the ambivalences between colonial rule and the utopias of modernity. This publication provides not only the most current research on the subject, but given the thesis of the “Negotiated Modernity,” it has initiated a new, interdisciplinary (and international) debate on the understanding of modernity (and, therefore, postmodernism as well) outside the discourse on architecture.

With contributions by
Mogniss H. Abdallah/Agence IM’media, Nezar AlSayyad, Kahina Amal Djiar, Kader Attia, Tom Avermaete, Madeleine Bernstorff, Mark Crinson, Hassan Darsi, Monique Eleb, Serhat Karakayali, Christian Kravagna, Brigitta Kuster, Labor k3000, André Loeckx, Kobena Mercer, Valentin Mudimbe, Françoise Navez-Bouchanine, Alona Nitzan-Shiftan, Marion von Osten, Bernd M. Scherer, Horia Serhane, Sven-Olov Wallenstein and Daniel Weiss

Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past, Rebellions for the Future

Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past Rebellions for the Future

Colonial Modern: Aesthetics of the Past Rebellions for the Future

Herausgeber: Tom Avermaete, Serhat Karakayali, Marion von Osten
Englisch
320 Seiten, zahlreiche Farb- und Schwarzweiß-Abbildungen
Black Dog Publishing, London 2010
ISBN: 978-1907317118
Preis: € 34,90

Erhältlich im Buchhandel, im Shop des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt oder bei Black Dog Publishing

In der Nachkriegsmoderne hatten Architektur und Stadtentwürfe einen hohen symbolischen Wert. Sie standen nicht nur für das ästhetische Projekt der Moderne, sondern auch für soziale Modernität und Aufbruch in eine neue Gesellschaft, deren Machbarkeit und Planbarkeit sie buchstäblich repräsentierten. Diese Zeichenfunktion der Siedlungsarchitektur war allerdings in ein Konfliktfeld eingebettet. Denn in die Architektur der 1950er und 1960er Jahre flossen bevölkerungspolitische Strategien ein, wie sie im kolonialen Kontext erprobt wurden. Andererseits versuchten die Architekten, die Erfahrung der Dekolonisierung in ihre Planungen einzubeziehen. Sie taten dies, indem sie die als „vormodern“ apostrophierten Lebensweisen der Menschen in den nordafrikanischen Kolonien mit dem Projekt der Moderne zu einer neuen, anderen Moderne synthetisierten.

An diesen Fluchtlinien setzt der Band an. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Verhältnis zwischen dem ästhetischen Regime der Moderne einerseits und dem Projekt der Modernisierung andererseits. Gerade im Kontext des Kolonialismus tritt die spannungsgeladene Verschränkung beider Ebenen deutlich hervor. Die diesem Band zugrunde liegende Ausstellung „In der Wüste der Moderne. Koloniale Planung und danach“ hat diese verschränkten Geschichten von moderner Architektur und urbaner Planung Europas im kolonialen Nordafrika und damit die Ambivalenzen zwischen kolonialer Herrschaft und den Utopien der Moderne nachgezeichnet. Auf dieser Basis gibt die Publikation nicht nur den aktuellen Stand der zeitgenössischen Forschung wieder, sondern stößt mit der These von der „ausgehandelten Moderne“ eine neue, transdisziplinäre (und internationale) Debatte um das Verständnis der Moderne (und damit auch der Postmoderne) auch außerhalb der Architekturdebatten an.

Mit Beiträgen von
Mogniss H. Abdallah/Agence IM’media, Nezar AlSayyad, Kahina Amal Djiar, Kader Attia, Tom Avermaete, Madeleine Bernstorff, Mark Crinson, Hassan Darsi, Monique Eleb, Serhat Karakayali, Christian Kravagna, Brigitta Kuster, Labor k3000, André Loeckx, Kobena Mercer, Valentin Mudimbe, Françoise Navez-Bouchanine, Alona Nitzan-Shiftan, Marion von Osten, Bernd M. Scherer, Horia Serhane, Sven-Olov Wallenstein und Daniel Weiss