LISTEN [Miyagi Haikus] – Phase I

Pre-Opening Concert, Public Rehearsals

Thu, Jan 10, 2019
Conference Room 1
3 pm
Free admission
Sandeep Bhagwati, Seventen Miyagi Haikus, score 2011, © Sandeep Bhagwati

A single formal poetics can elicit manifold variations: Sandeep Bhagwati’s open score of seventeen musical haikus was written in 2011 as a reaction to the Fukushima disaster.

On the first day of the Listen project, three international chamber ensembles present their own versions. Afterwards, Bhagwati begins to work with them as well as with musicians of the Berlin ensemble Extrakte on an orchestral version for the concert on January 11. During their public rehearsals the audience is invited to listen and engage with the musicians.


3 pm–4.30 pm
Concert Phase I—Version with 3 Ensembles
Conference room 1

5.30 pm–9 pm
Public Rehearsals of the 4 Ensembles
Conference room 1