Between Walls and Windows. Architektur und Ideologie


2012, Sep 01, Sat — 2012, Sep 30, Sun

Only in September, as part of the exhibition Between Walls and Windows. Architecture and Ideology, curated by Valerie Smith, can this architectural landmark be experienced anew as a large-scale sculpture, reinterpreted through artistic and architectural interventions that lay bare the ideological agenda of post-war modernity. With free admission and access from north, south, east or west, the exhibition promises new insights and perspectives on form, function and history.

The architecture of the former congress hall and the history behind it form the focal point of Between Walls and Windows. Architecture and Ideology. The artistic approach is focused not on the building itself but on the ideas and questions which architecture answers, as an instrument of construction history, philosophy and politics.

The project presents ten location-specific new productions by international artists and architects, who will transform the interior spaces and exterior surfaces of Haus der Kulturen der Welt, facilitating a discussion of all the things “architecture“ can be. The exhibition places the local history of the former congress hall in a new, contemporary and global context and casts a spotlight on the Haus der Kulturen der Welt as a sculpture.

A catalog with numerous texts and a comprehensive photo section is being published by the Hatje Cantz Verlag to mark the exhibition opening on 1 September.

With new works by
Studio Miessen, Supersudaca, Amateur Architecture Studio (Wang Shu & Lu Wenyu), Arno Brandlhuber, Ângela Ferreira, Terence Gower, Initiative Weltkulturerbe Doppeltes Berlin, Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, Marko Sancanin (Platforma 9,81), Eran Schaerf, Studio Miessen, Supersudaca, and others

Past Events
Sunday, Nov 11 2012
Sunday, Sep 30 2012
2012, Sep 1, Sat – 2012, Sep 30, Sun
Saturday, Sep 29 2012
Friday, Sep 28 2012
Sunday, Sep 23 2012
Saturday, Sep 22 2012
Friday, Sep 21 2012
Thursday, Sep 20 2012
Sunday, Sep 16 2012
Saturday, Sep 15 2012
Friday, Sep 14 2012
Sunday, Sep 9 2012
Saturday, Sep 8 2012
Friday, Sep 7 2012
Sunday, Sep 2 2012
Saturday, Sep 1 2012