Cinema

Cinema is a space of opportunity and a place of action, even under the open sky. On six weekends, Kino Arsenal will show film highlights from the Arsenal archive on HKW’s roof terrace. The films take the audience outdoors: They head out to gather pictures in landscapes sacrificed to tourism. They dig up images from the earth and from archives to take them where they tell stories. They observe animals that critically meet our gaze. They cross the desert. And finally, the films explore the interior of HKW as a stage, as a frame of content reference, and as a production location. The program includes the world premiere of Michael Busch’s How Long is Now, Thomas Heise’s Heimat ist ein Raum aus Zeit, and Vaginal Davis’s film performance series Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome.

Films by James Benning, Filipa César, Denis Coté, Thomas Heise, Armin Linke, Maha Maamoun, Hila Peleg, Philip Scheffner, Kidlat Tahimik, Akram Zaatari and many others. arsenal 5 film program in collaboration with Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e. V.

Past Events
Sunday, Aug 23 2020
Saturday, Aug 22 2020
Friday, Aug 21 2020
Thursday, Aug 20 2020
Wednesday, Aug 19 2020
Saturday, Aug 15 2020
Friday, Aug 14 2020
Thursday, Aug 13 2020
Saturday, Aug 8 2020
Friday, Aug 7 2020
Thursday, Aug 6 2020
Saturday, Aug 1 2020
Friday, Jul 31 2020
Thursday, Jul 30 2020
Saturday, Jul 25 2020
Friday, Jul 24 2020
Thursday, Jul 23 2020
Saturday, Jul 18 2020
Friday, Jul 17 2020
Thursday, Jul 16 2020