Cinema

Cinema is a space of opportunity and a place of action, even under the open sky. On six weekends, Kino Arsenal will show film highlights from the Arsenal archive on HKW’s roof terrace. The films take the audience outdoors: They head out to gather pictures in landscapes sacrificed to tourism. They dig up images from the earth and from archives to take them where they tell stories. They observe animals that critically meet our gaze. They cross the desert. And finally, the films explore the interior of HKW as a stage, as a frame of content reference, and as a production location. The program includes the world premiere of Michael Busch’s How Long is Now, Thomas Heise’s Heimat ist ein Raum aus Zeit, and Vaginal Davis’s film performance series Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome.

Films by James Benning, Filipa César, Denis Coté, Thomas Heise, Armin Linke, Maha Maamoun, Hila Peleg, Philip Scheffner, Kidlat Tahimik, Akram Zaatari and many others. arsenal 5 film program in collaboration with Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e. V.

Past Events
Sunday, Aug 23
Saturday, Aug 22
Friday, Aug 21
Thursday, Aug 20
Wednesday, Aug 19
Saturday, Aug 15
Friday, Aug 14
Thursday, Aug 13
Saturday, Aug 8
Friday, Aug 7
Thursday, Aug 6
Saturday, Aug 1
Friday, Jul 31
Thursday, Jul 30
Saturday, Jul 25
Friday, Jul 24
Thursday, Jul 23
Saturday, Jul 18
Friday, Jul 17
Thursday, Jul 16