Press release, Feb 4, 2021

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2021

Internationaler Literaturpreis 2021: 146 submissions. The jury has been established.

Again this year, the number of submissions increased: 80 publishing houses put forward 146 titles for the Internationaler Literaturpreis. They are all books translated for the first time into German from 34 languages and 55 countries of origin.

The publishing houses had been given until Jan 31, 2021 to submit up to three books published in their original languages within the past ten years and published for the first time in German between May 1, 2020 and May 20, 2021.

The 2021 jury has been established

This year Michael Götting, Dominique Haensell and Annika Reich are new to the jury, where they join members Robin Detje, Heike Geißler, Verena Lueken and Elisabeth Ruge.

In a multi-stage process, the jury first determines the shortlist of six titles from the books submitted and subsequently nominated by it and, in a further step, chooses the prize-winning duo.

The shortlist will be announced on May 20, 2021. The public award ceremony will be held on the roof terrace of Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin on June 30, 2021. Due to the pandemic, an alternative online ceremony is also planned.

The jury:

Robin Detje
Author and translator

Heike Geißler

Michael Götting
Author and director of the library of Each One Teach One (EOTO)

Dominique Haensell
Editor-in-chief of Missy Magazine

Verena Lueken
Author and editor at the FAZ

Annika Reich
Author and co-founder of WIR MACHEN DAS

Elisabeth Ruge
Editor and literary agent


May 20: Announcement of the shortlist
June 30: Award ceremony

Haus der Kulturen der Welt and Stiftung Elementarteilchen are awarding the Internationaler Literaturpreis for the thirteenth time. Endowed with €35,000 – 20,000 for the author, 15,000 for the translator – it honors an outstanding work of contemporary international literature in its first German translation. The award thus acknowledges both the original work and the translation, a dual focus that is unique in the German awards landscape.

More information about the jury members at
Press photos at

Haus der Kulturen der Welt is supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as well as by the Federal Foreign Office.

Press contact:
Jan Trautmann
Head of Press and PR
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin
+49 (0)30 397 87 192