Accessibility

Equal cultural participation is important to HKW. In our landmarked building, we make every effort to continue to improve all facets of accessibility. Your feedback can help us in this regard. We appreciate your questions and suggestions:
oder 030 – 397 87 175

Persons with limited mobility and wheelchair users

Haus der Kulturen der Welt has barrier-free, stepless entrances to the main lobby. Other barrier-free entrances are located on the west and north sides of the building. The entrances to the main lobby on the south side of the building have wheelchair-height intercom systems. A barrier-free elevator leads to the basement, mezzanine and auditorium. Another elevator on the mezzanine level leads to the roof terrace. The elevators are equipped with tactile writing. Two all gender restroom facilities for people with reduced mobility are located in both the basement and on the mezzanine level.

Persons who are partially sighted or blind

At the main entrance of HKW, a tactile model offers orientation about the building levels. Information about the architecture of the building and its surroundings are provided in braille and are marked by strong visual contrasts.

Glass doors are labeled with safety markings. The elevators are equipped with braille panels and the stops are announced.

Tickets

Admission is free for the accompanying person of visitors with disability cards. Holders of the cards are eligible for reduced-price tickets.

Barrierefreiheit

Dem HKW ist gleichberechtigte kulturelle Teilhabe wichtig. In einem denkmalgeschützten Gebäude sind wir darum bemüht, die Barrierefreiheit vor Ort und online weiter zu verbessern. Dabei kann uns Ihr Feedback helfen. Wir freuen uns über Fragen und Anregungen:
oder 030 – 397 87 175

Menschen mit Gehbehinderung und Rollstuhlfahrer*innen

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt verfügt über barrierefreie, stufenlose Zugänge zum Hauptfoyer. Weitere barrierefreie Eingänge finden Sie an der West- und Nordseite des Hauses. Die Eingänge zum Hauptfoyer an der Südseite des Gebäudes verfügen über rollstuhlgerechte Gegensprechanlagen. Ein barrierefreier Aufzug führt in Untergeschoss, Zwischengeschoss und Auditorium. Ein weiterer Aufzug im Zwischengeschoss führt auf die Dachterrasse. Im Untergeschoss und im Zwischengeschoss befinden sich je zwei geschlechtsneutrale WC-Anlagen für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität.

Menschen mit Sehbehinderung und blinde Menschen

Am Haupteingang des HKW bietet ein taktiles Modell Orientierung über die Ebenen des Hauses. Informationen zur Architektur des Hauses und seiner Umgebung sind in Brailleschrift und visuell kontrastreicher Schrift verfügbar.

Glastüren sind mit Sicherheitsmarkierungen gekennzeichnet. Die Aufzüge sind mit taktiler Schrift ausgestattet. Die Halteposition wird angesagt.

Tickets

Die Begleitperson von Besucher*innen mit einem Schwerbehinderten-Ausweis hat freien Eintritt. Ausweisinhaber*innen erhalten eine ermäßigte Karte.