2014, Sat, Mar 29

Algerian Cinema Sixty Years Later

with: Ahmed Bedjaoui, Safinez Bousbia, Manthia Diawara, Amor Hakkar, Said Ould Khalifa, Karim Moussaoui

Film directors and scholars will debate various aspects of Algerian cinematic history and current production, providing differentiated insights into the country’s film scene in response to pointed questions: If Algerian film is closely associated with the war of independence from 1954 onward, is this a trauma or a source of inspiration for the new generation? Were the first decades of Algerian cinema – before the civil war – a “golden age” and, if so, what would be its legacy? As successful as Assia Djebar, Algeria’s first female director, has been worldwide as a filmmaker and writer, has she actually opened doors for women who have followed? Has the end of the state monopoly improved the situation in the film sector? Is the Islamist period adequately reflected in films? What factors can promote the development of Algerian film, and what is the role of coproductions in this? What impulses are coming from the recent generation of directors who have achieved success in Europe, and what impulses can be expected in the future from today’s emerging filmmakers?


Participants

Ahmed Bedjaoui(*1943) The curator of “Algeria after 1954 – Cinematic Reflexions” (*1943) is a professor of film studies at Université 3 in Algiers and heads the Study Center of El Khabar, Algeria’s largest daily newspaper. Ahmed Bedjaoui was a founding member of both the Cinémathèque Algerienne and the Algerian League for Human Rights. He has also served as vice president of the Biennial of Young Artists from Europe and the Mediterranean and president of the Algerian Film Fund.

Safinez Bousbia Born in 1983, the Algerian-Irish filmmaker and producer studied architecture and design in Oxford and Dublin. In 2003 in Algiers she learned of the story of the chaabi musicians shown in her award-winning film debut, “El Gusto.” At the 2011 Abu Dhabi Film Festival she received awards including “Best Arab Director.”

Amor Hakkar The director and author, born in Algeria in 1958 and raised in France, made his directorial debut in 1990 with “Apprends-moi à compter jusqu’à l’infini.” Amor Hakkar was both director of and leading actor in “La maison jaune.” His “La Preuve” appeared at the 2013 Dubai International Film Festival.

Karim Moussaoui Born in 1975, the actor and director is a founding member of Chrysalide, one of Algeria’s most important independent film promotion organizations. He has directed a number of short films and acted in “Délice Paloma,” among other films. Karim Moussaoui’s “Les jours d’avant” is a critical examination of the issues of Islamist and state violence in Algeria.

Saïd Ould Khalifa Born in 1951, made his directorial debut in 1991 with the feature-length film “White Shadow.” Prior to that, he worked as a journalist from 1969 to 1989 – first in Algeria, then in France. His feature film “Zabana!” was a candidate for an Oscar nomination in 2013 in the category “Best Foreign Language Film.”

Sa, 29. März 2014

Algerischer Film, 60 Jahre später

mit: Ahmed Bedjaoui, Safinez Bousbia, Manthia Diawara, Amor Hakkar, Said Ould Khalifa, Karim Moussaoui

Regisseure und Filmwissenschaftler diskutieren Fragen der algerischen Filmgeschichte und der gegenwärtigen Produktion – und geben durch die pointierten Fragestellungen differenzierte Einblicke in die Filmszene des Landes. Wenn der algerische Film eng mit dem Befreiungskrieg ab1954 verbunden ist, ist das ein Trauma oder eine Quelle der Inspiration für die neue Generation? War das Kino der ersten Jahrzehnte – vor dem Bürgerkrieg – ein „Goldenes Zeitalter“, und was wäre sein Erbe? So erfolgreich Assia Djebar, die erste algerische Regisseurin, als Filmemacherin und Autorin weltweit war, öffnete sie die Türen für nachfolgende Frauen? Hat das Ende des staatlichen Monopols die Lage im Filmsektor verbessert? Wird die islamistische Periode in den Filmen ausreichend reflektiert? Welche Faktoren können die Entwicklung des algerischen Films befördern, welche Rolle spielen Koproduktionen dabei? Welche Impulse gibt die neue Generation von Regisseuren, die ihren Erfolg in Europa gemacht haben, und welche Impulse sind von den jüngsten Filmemachern zukünftig zu erwarten?


ZU GAST BEIM FESTIVAL

Ahmed Bedjaoui (*1943) der Kurator von „Algerien nach 1954 – Filmische Reflexionen“ ist Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der Université 3 in Algier und Leiter des Studien-Centers von El Khabar, der größten Tageszeitung des Landes. Er war Gründungsmitglied sowohl der Cinémathèque Algerienne als auch der algerischen Liga für Menschenrechte. Außerdem war Ahmed Bedjaoui Vizepräsident der Biennale für junge Künstler Europas und des Mittelmeerraums sowie Präsident des algerischen Filmfonds.

Safinez Bousbia (1983*) ist eine algerisch-irische Filmemacherin und Produzentin. Sie studierte Architektur und Design in Oxford und Dublin. 2003 begegnete sie in Algier der Geschichte der Chaabi-Musiker, die sie in ihrem preisgekrönten Filmdebüt „El Gusto“ zeigt. Beim Abu Dhabi Filmfestival 2011 erhielt sie u. a. den Preis für die „Beste arabische Regisseurin“.

Amor Hakkar (*1958) ist Regisseur und Schriftsteller. In Algerien geboren und in Frankreich aufgewachsen, führte er 1990 bei „Apprends-moi à compter jusqu’à l’infini“ erstmals Regie. In „La maison jaune“ übernahm er neben der Regie auch die Hauptrolle. 2013 war er mit „La Preuve“ beim internationalen Filmfestival in Dubai vertreten.

Karim Moussaoui (*1975) ist Schauspieler, Regisseur und Gründungsmitglied von Chrysalide, einer der wichtigsten Independent Filmförderungen Algeriens. Bei mehreren Kurzfilmen führte er Regie, als Schaupieler ist er u. a. in „Délice Paloma“ zu sehen. In „Les jours d’avant“ setzt er sich mit islamistischer und staatlicher Gewalt in Algerien auseinander.

Saïd Ould Khalifa (*1951) führte 1991 beim Langfilm „White Shadow“ erstmals Regie. Zuvor war er von 1969 bis 1989 als Journalist tätig – zunächst in Algerien, dann in Frankreich. Sein Spielfilm „Zabana!“ wurde bei den Oscars 2013 in der Kategorie „Bester ausländischer Spielfilm“ eingereicht.