2014, Sat, Feb 22

Who Narrates War? Perspective: Rwanda

Philip Gourevitch, Milo Rau, Andrea Böhm, Elisabeth Kaneza

How can the Rwandan genocide be dealt with in narrative? What influence do cultural, religious, and sexual identities have on the perception of war?

Talk with Philip Gourevitch, Milo Rau, Andrea Böhm and Elisabeth Kaneza


Philip Gourevitch is an author, journalist and staff writer for The New Yorker. Served as editor and cultural editor of The Paris Review and The Forward. Gourevitch writes reports and essays on conflicts in Africa, Europe, Asia and the US for numerous international newspapers. He is known for his writings on the aftermath of the Rwandan genocide.


Andrea Böhm has worked for taz and DIE ZEIT as a correspondent in the United States and reported on countries such as Congo, Somalia and South Sudan. Since 2013, she has headed DIE ZEIT’s Middle East office in Beirut.


Milo Rau is a Swiss director, playwright and journalist. In 2009 he established reenactment as a format for political theater. His play Hate Radio is conceived in this way and deals with the hate speeches heard in radio broadcasts prior to the Rwandan genocide.


Elisabeth Kaneza is founder and president of the German-Rwandan youth network Rwanda Connection and communications officer for the Embassy of the Republic of Rwanda in Berlin.

Sa, 22. Februar 2014

Wer erzählt? Perspektive Ruanda

Philip Gourevitch, Milo Rau, Andrea Böhm, Elisabeth Kaneza

Mit Blick auf Ruanda diskutieren die Teilnehmer über den Einfluss kultureller, religiöser und sexueller Identität auf die Wahrnehmung des Kriegs und Möglichkeiten der erzählerischen Aufarbeitung des Völkermords.

Gespräch mit Philip Gourevitch, Milo Rau, Andrea Böhm und Elisabeth Kaneza


Philip Gourevitch ist Autor, Journalist und Redakteur für The New Yorker, The Paris Review und The Forward. Gourevitch schreibt Reportagen und Essays über Konflikte in Afrika, Europa, Asien und den USA für zahlreiche internationale Zeitungen. Bekannt ist er für seine Werke über den Genozid in Ruanda.


Milo Rau ist Schweizer Regisseur, Theaterautor und Journalist. Im Jahr 2009 etablierte er das Reenactment als Format des politischen Theaters. Auch sein Stück Hate Radio ist als solches angelegt und behandelt die dem Genozid in Ruanda vorausgehenden Hassreden im Radio.


Andrea Böhm war für die taz und die ZEIT als Korrespondentin in den USA tätig und berichtete aus dem Kongo, Somalia und Südsudan. Seit 2013 ist sie ZEIT-Korrespondentin für den Nahen und Mittleren Osten mit Sitz in Beirut.


Elisabeth Kaneza ist Mitbegründerin und Vorsitzende des deutsch-ruandischen Jugendnetzwerks, Ruanda Connection und Referentin für Kommunikation in der Botschaft der Republik Ruanda in Berlin.