2014, Sat, Feb 22

Who Narrates War? The Mercenaries Speak – Warheads

Directed by Romuald Karmakar

Warheads

Directed by Romuald Karmakar, D/F 1992, 179 min, English/German/French original with English subtitles

In what is presumably his most controversial film, Karmakar lets mercenaries speak – entirely without outside commentary. Followed by a discussion between the director and Verena Lueken on perspectives on war that have a deterrent effect, and how these can be dealt with in film.


Romuald Karmakar is director and screenwriter of numerous feature films and documentaries. Karmakar has earned critical praise for his attention to the imperfections of society in modern history, especially his focus on the perpetrators of injustice and crime. His first feature film, The Deathmaker, garnered three German film awards. His documentary The Himmler Project was honored with the Grimme Award.


Verena Lueken studied sociology, film and German philology in Frankfurt am Main and dance in Philadelphia and New York. Since 1991, she has worked for the arts section of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, serving from 1995 to 2003 as a cultural correspondent based in New York.

Sa, 22. Februar 2014

Wer erzählt? Die Söldner sprechen – Warheads

Regie: Romuald Karmakar

Warheads

Regie: Romuald Karmakar, D/F 1992, 179 min, engl./dt./frz. OmeU

In Warheads lässt Karmakar – gänzlich unkommentiert – Söldner zu Wort kommen und löste damit eine heftige Kontroverse aus. Gefolgt von einem Gespräch des Regisseurs mit Verena Lueken über abschreckende Perspektiven auf den Krieg und den filmischen Umgang mit diesen.


Romuald Karmakar ist Regisseur und Drehbuchautor zahlreicher Dokumentar- und Spielfilme. Karmakar hat kritische Anerkennung für seine künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Versagen der Gesellschaft in der modernen Geschichte gewonnen, besonders durch seine Beschäftigung mit Verantwortlichen von Ungerechtigkeit und Verbrechen. Sein Spielfilmdebut Der Totmacher erhielt drei deutsche Filmpreise, die Dokumentation Das Himmler Projekt den Grimme-Preis.


Verena Lueken studierte Soziologie, Filmwissenschaft und Germanistik in Frankfurt am Main und Tanz in Philadelphia und New York. Seit 1991 Redakteurin im Feuilleton der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, davon zwischen 1995 und 2003 Kulturkorrespondentin in New York.