2014, Sat, Feb 22

What Does Reporting Cost?

Marcel Mettelsiefen, Kattrin Lempp, Michael Kamber, Valentin Groebner

What is the cost of security for traveling reporters? What aspects of war are not reported on because the costs are too high?

Panel with Marcel Mettelsiefen, Kattrin Lempp and Michael Kamber. Moderation: Valentin Groebner


Marcel Mettelsiefen is a freelance photographer. Since 2001, he has worked as a photographer in crisis zones. He has covered the Middle East, Afghanistan, Iraq and Haiti for AP and dpa, and has worked from Egypt, Libya, Syria and Afghanistan for stern, Der Spiegel and Geo.


Kattrin Lempp worked as a freelance journalist during her studies of medicine and journalism. From 2000, she worked as a press officer at Ärzte ohne Grenzen e.V., the German section of Doctors Without Borders. Since January 2006, she has headed the organization’s media and public relations work in Berlin.


Michael Kamber is currently the director of the Bronx Documentary Center. He has worked as a photojournalist for 25 years and is a former contract photographer and writer for The New York Times. As a conflict photographer he covered a dozen conflicts including Afghanistan, Somalia, Iraq, Liberia, Darfur and the Congo.

Sa, 22. Februar 2014

Was kostet erzählen?

Marcel Mettelsiefen, Kattrin Lempp, Michael Kamber, Valentin Groebner

Die doppelte Ökonomie des Erzählens vom Krieg: Was kostet die Sicherheit reisender Berichterstatter? Welche Aspekte des Krieges werden nicht erzählt, weil sie als zu kostspielig gelten?

Gespräch mit Marcel Mettelsiefen, Kattrin Lempp und Michael Kamber. Moderation: Valentin Groebner


Marcel Mettelsiefen ist Fotograf und berichtete für AP und dpa aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten wie dem Nahen Osten, Afghanistan, Irak und Haiti. Für stern, Der Spiegel und Geo fotografierte er in Ägypten, Libyen, Syrien und Afghanistan.


Kattrin Lempp studierte Medizin und Journalistik und war währenddessen als freie Journalistin tätig. Ab 2000 Pressereferentin bei der deutschen Sektion von Ärzte ohne Grenzen e. V., seit 2006 Leiterin der Medien- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Organisation in Berlin.


Michael Kamber ist derzeit der Direktor des Bronx Documentary Center. Er war 25 Jahre als Fotojournalist und Autor der New York Times tätig. Als Fotograf berichtete er aus unzähligen Konfliktregionen, darunter Afghanistan, Somalia, Irak, Liberia, Darfur und Kongo.