2014, Fri, Feb 21

How to Narrate War? Limits of Narration or: Guilt, Shame, Humiliation 2

Jon Lee Anderson, Ulrich C. Baer, Colette Braeckman

Under what circumstances can direct experience be an interfering factor in memory and reporting?

Talk with Jon Lee Anderson, Ulrich C. Baer and Colette Braeckman


Jon Lee Anderson is an American author and journalist. He began his reporting career in Latin America in 1979 and has since reported from over forty conflicts around the world. Since 1998, he has been a staff writer with The New Yorker, reporting from Syria, Libya, Iraq, Lebanon, Afghanistan, Somalia, Liberia, Angola and numerous other countries. His latest book is The Fall of Baghdad (2004).


Ulrich C. Baer is Vice Provost for Faculty, Arts, Humanities and Diversity and Professor of German and Comparative Literature at New York University. His research areas include literary theory, representations of trauma in literature, photography and other media.


Colette Braeckman is a Belgian journalist for various international newspapers and magazines. She is on the editorial board of the Belgian French-language newspaper Le Soir, where she has directed coverage of Africa since 1985. She reports in particular on armed conflicts and humanitarian crises and has testified as a witness at the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

Fr, 21. Februar 2014

Wie erzählen? Grenzen des Erzählens oder: Schmach, Scham, Schuld 2

Jon Lee Anderson, Ulrich C. Baer, Colette Braeckman

Unter welchen Umständen kann das Erleben selbst Störfaktor für Erinnerung und Bericht sein?

Gespräch mit Jon Lee Anderson, Ulrich C. Baer und Colette Braeckman


Jon Lee Anderson ist ein US-amerikanischer Autor und Journalist. Begann seine journalistische Karriere 1979 in Lateinamerika und hat seither aus über vierzig Krisengebieten der Welt berichtet. Als Redakteur für den New Yorker (seit 1998) hat er u.a. aus Syrien, Lybien, dem Irak, Libanon, Afghanistan, Somalia, Liberia und Angola berichtet. Sein neuestes Buch ist The Fall of Baghdad (2004).


Ulrich C. Baer ist Vice Provost für Forschung, Künste, Geisteswissenschaften und Gleichstellung und Professor für Deutsche und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft an der New York University. Seine Schwerpunkte bilden u. a. Literaturtheorie, Darstellung von Trauma in Literatur, Fotografie und anderen Medien.


Colette Braeckman ist eine belgische Journalistin. Tätig für verschiedene internationale Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, seit 1985 Leiterin des Afrika-Ressorts bei Le Soir. Seit 2011 arbeitet sie als unabhängige Journalistin besonders über bewaffnete Konflikte und humanitäre Krisen und hat als Zeugin vor dem internationalen Kriegsverbrechertribunal in Ruanda ausgesagt.