2013, Sat, Nov 02

Power, Weakness, and Agency

with Mahmood Mamdani, Rana Barakat, Asef Bayat, Samia Mehrez, Interlocutor: Adania Shibli

This session will examine the workings of power on multiple levels. One main level is the question of violence in postcolonial societies, and the historical discourses that have been internalized in colonial contexts by both the colonizer and the colonized. Another level that the speakers will consider is the very process of knowledge production by academics, and the ways this knowledge is used, or misused, by agents of power.


14h Keynote

Mahmood Mamdani Beyond Nuremberg: The Historical Significance of the Post-Apartheid Transition in South Africa

Rana Barakat (live from Ramallah): A Colonial History? The Lost Narrative of Liberation in Palestinian Historical Discourse


16h

Asef Bayat Our Knowledge, Their Power

Samia Mehrez On Walls, Revolutions, and Universities: In Dialog with Edward Said



Participants:

Asef Bayat is the Bastian Professor of Global and Transnational Studies and teaches Sociology at the University of Illinois. The Iranian-American scholar has written extensively on non-movements, politic and everyday life, Islam and the modern world. Among his most notable publications is "Life as Politics: How Ordinary People Change the Middle East" (2nd edition, 2013).


Rana Barakat is an assistant professor of history and contemporary Arab studies at Birzeit University in Palestine and an adviser for the Palestinian Policy Network Al Shabaka. Her research interests include the social history of Jerusalem, colonialism, and revolutionary social movements.


Mahmood Mamdani is the Herbert Lehman Professor of Government at Columbia University and director of the Markerere Institute for Social research (MISR), Kampala. His work explores the intersection between politics and culture, the modern state and the colonial subject, and the theory, history and practice of human rights.


Samia Mehrez is a professor of Arabic Literature and director of the Center for Translation Studies at the American University in Cairo. She is the editor of "Translating Egypt’s Revolution: the Language of Tahrir" (2012).


Adania Shibli is a writer and scholar who is living and working between Berlin and Jerusalem. She has twice been awarded with the Qattan Young Writer's Award-Palestine, in 2001 and 2003. Her scholarly work engages with visual culture and the history of vision especially in Arabic Culture; her writing-span reaches from fiction to narrative essays with critical inputs on political and social realities.

Sa, 02. November 2013

Macht, Ohnmacht und Handlungsvermögen

mit Mahmood Mamdani, Rana Barakat, Asef Bayat, Samia Mehrez, Gesprächsführung: Adania Shibli

Die Ausübung von Macht auf verschiedenen Ebenen steht im Zentrum dieses Themenschwerpunktes. Ein Fokus liegt auf der Frage nach Gewalt in postkolonialen Gesellschaften und wie historische Diskurse in kolonialen Kontexten von Kolonisatoren und Kolonisierten internalisiert wurden. Eine weitere hier zur Diskussion stehende Ebene ist der Vorgang der Wissensproduktion in den akademischen vier Wänden und die Form, in der dieses Wissen von Machthabern ge- oder missbraucht wird.


14h Keynote

Mahmood Mamdani Nach Nürnberg: Die historische Bedeutung des Post-Apartheid-Übergangs in Südafrika

Rana Barakat (live aus Ramallah): Was ist Kolonialgeschichte? Zur vergessenen Befreiungs-Erzählung im palästinensischen historischen Diskurs ·


16h

Asef Bayat Unser Wissen, ihre Macht ·

Samia Mehrez Über Mauern, Revolutionen und Universität: Im Dialog mit Edward Said



Teilnehmer:

Asef Bayat ist Bastian Professor of Global and Transnational Studies und lehrt Soziologie an der University of Illinois. Der amerikanisch-iranische Wissenschaftler publiziert zum Non-Movement sowie zu Politik und Alltagsleben und schreibt über den Islam und die moderne Welt. Zu seinen wichtigsten Publikationen gehört "Leben als Politik: Wie ganz normale Leute den nahen Osten verändern" (deutsche Ausgabe 2012).


Rana Barakat ist Assistenzprofessorin für Geschichte und Zeitgenössische Arabische Studien an der Birzeit-University Palestine. Sie berät zudem das palästinensische Politiknetzwerk Al Shabaka. Zu ihren Forschungsinteressen gehören die Sozialgeschichte von Jerusalem, Kolonialismus und revolutionäre Bewegungen.


Mahmood Mamdani ist Herbert Lehman Professor of Government an der Columbia University sowie Direktor des Institute for Social Research (MISR), Kampala. In seiner Forschung untersucht er Schnittpunkte zwischen Politik und Kultur, dem modernen Staat und dem kolonialen Subjekt sowie die Theorie, Geschichte und Praxis der Menschenrechte.


Samia Mehrez ist Professorin für arabische Literatur und Direktorin des Center for Translation Studies an der American University in Cairo. Sie ist Herausgeberin von "Translating Egypt’s Revolution: the Language of Tahrir" (2012).


Adania Shibli ist Autorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin; sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Jerusalem. 2001 und 2003 wurde sie mit dem Qattan Young Writer's Award-Palestine ausgezeichnet. In ihrer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit setzt sie sich mit visueller Kultur sowie mit der Geschichte des Blicks, insbesondere in der arabischen Kultur, auseinander. Als Autorin hat sie sowohl Romane als auch erzählerische Essays mit kritischen Einsichten über politische und gesellschaftliche Fakten veröffentlicht.