The HKW program continues in digital form. The building will be closed until Jan 28, 2021. More…

2013, Fri, Nov 01

Orientalism Traps

with Ahl al Kahf, Subhi Hadidi, Meltem Ahiska

This session will consider the status of Orientalism following the emergence of a number of social and political movements. Orientalist images of Tunis will be questioned, subverted, and transposed to Berlin, alongside neo-Orientalist perceptions of political Islam within the context of the Syrian uprising. Questions will be raised about the potential of the latest Turkish uprising to change a future and a past that are framed within Orientalist and Occidentalist practices.


Ahl al Kahf THE Orientalism

Subhi Hadidi Recycled Orientalism: Covering Islam(s) of the “Arab Spring”

Meltem Ahiska Thinking the Eruptions and Thresholds of Memory in Turkey through the Imperial Complex



Participants:

Meltem Ahiska is a writer and professor of sociology at Boğaziçi University, Istanbul. She has published broadly on the topics of Occidentalism, Orientlism, and identity, social memory, gender, public space, and archives. She is a co-publisher of "Waiting for the Barbarians: A Tribute to Edward Said" (2008).


Ahl al Kahf is an artistic movement founded in 2011 in Tunis, a network that fulfils and spreads aesthetic terrorism. Ahl al Kahf is neither Tunisian nor Egyptian, nor of any other nationality. It is an epidemic propagated by contagion.


Subhi Hadidi is a Syrian critic and political commentator, who lives in Paris. He is renowned for his work on contemporary Arab poetry and translations, amongst others of works by Said. Hadidi serves also as a political commentator and regular contributor to Al-Quds Al-Arabi and Le Nouvel Afrique-Asie.


Hanan Toukan is a sociologist and currently a post-doc fellow at the Zentrum Moderner Orient, ZMO, Berlin. Her PhD thesis at SOAS, completed at University of London in 2011, looked at “global” and “local” discourses on culture and the arts and travelling theoretical conceptions and enactments of what “the political” holds in visual artistic production.

Fr, 01. November 2013

Fallstricke des Orientalismus

mit Ahl al Kahf, Subhi Hadidi, Meltem Ahiska

Was ist aus dem Orientalismus nach den gesellschaftlichen und politischen Umwälzungen der vergangenen Jahre geworden? In diesem Panel werden orientalistische Bilder von Tunis kritisch betrachtet, interpretiert und nach Berlin übertragen wie auch neo-orientalistische Sichtweisen des politischen Islam im Kontext der syrischen Revolte befragt. Auch das Potenzial der Protestbewegung in der Türkei steht zur Diskussion: Kann der türkische Widerstand Einfluss auf das Bild einer Vergangenheit und Zukunft nehmen, das von orientalistischen und okzidentalistischen Sicht- und Handlungsweisen bestimmt wird?


Ahl al Kahf DER Orientalismus

Subhi Hadidi Orientalismus Recycled: Islam-Berichte des »Arabischen Frühlings«

Meltem Ahiska Ausbruch und Grenzerfahrung: Zur türkischen Erinnerung im imperialen Gefüge



Teilnehmer:

Meltem Ahiska ist Autorin und Professorin für Soziologie an der Boğaziçi-Universität in Istanbul. Sie hat Artikel und Bücher zu den Themen des Okzidentalismus, Orientalismus, der Identität, des gesellschaftliche Gedächtnisses, zu Gender, öffentlichem Raum und Archiven publiziert. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von "Waiting for the Barbarians: A Tribute to Edward Said" (2008).


Ahl al Kahf ist eine 2011 in Tunis gegründete künstlerische Bewegung, ein Netzwerk, das ästhetischen Terrorismus vertritt und verbreitet. Ahl al Kahf ist weder tunesisch noch ägyptisch, es gehört keiner Nationalität an. Ahl al Kahf ist eine Epidemie, die sich durch Ansteckung ausbreitet.


Subhi Hadidi ist ein syrischer Kritiker und Politikkommentator; er lebt in Paris. Er ist für seine Arbeit über zeitgenössische arabische Lyrik sowie für seine Übersetzungen bekannt, unter anderem von Werken von Edward Said. Hadidi kommentiert zudem politische Ereignisse in Syrien und anderen arabischen Ländern und schreibt regelmäßig Beiträge für Al-Quds Al-Arabi und Le Nouvel Afrique-Asie.


Hanan Toukan ist Soziologin und arbeitet zurzeit als Postdoc-Fellow am Zentrum Moderner Orient, ZMO, Berlin. In ihrer Dissertation, die sie 2011 am SOAS, University of London beendete, untersucht sie „globale“ und „lokale“ Diskurse über Kultur und Kunst sowie wandernde Theorien und Praktiken zum „Politischen“ in künstlerischen Produktionen.