2013, Thu, Nov 14

The Global Prayers Congress - Eröffnung

Faith in the City

The city is not an a-religious space. This is demonstrated by all of the insights gained through the art and research project Global Prayers - Redemption and Liberation in the City since 2009. Rather, it is in the global metropolises that new religious movements are finding the fertile cultural, political, and economic ground in which to take root. In the dynamic life of the city, religion, too, is in constant motion. New religious groups are subverting the traditional order and hierarchies of urban society. Powerful religious economies and a new kind of religious mainstream are establishing themselves in the heart of the city.

In its concluding event, Global Prayers will set its analyses within current theoretical and methodological approaches aimed at the postcolonialization and decentering of both urban studies and the arts. In discussions, presentations, film as well as spatial installations, academics and artists will explore current manifestations of the religious in the global city. Under the catchphrase "decolonizing research," they will illuminate pitfalls, methods, and theoretical and practical implications of academic and artistic research. A special focus will be placed on the performance of artistic research.


The exhibition "Speaking in Tongues" by the Dutch artist Aernout Mik will open the congress. The work sets new kinds of religious communities opposite the large secular congregations of the business world.

The publication Global Prayers by Jochen Becker, Katrin Klingan, Stephan Lanz, and Kathrin Wildner (eds.) is based on the critical engagement of an international network of researchers as well as artists, focusing on diverse urban assemblages and religious communities.

With Sammy Baloji, Mustapha Adebayo Bello, Filip de Boeck, Ayşe Çavdar, Rima Chahrour, Köken Ergun, Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez, Mona Harb, Stefan Heidenreich, Christine Hentschel, Marloes Janson, Grada Kilomba, Mikhail Lylov, Elke Marhöfer, Christian Nowatzky, Martijn Oosterbaan, Peter Ott, Jennifer Robinson, Sandra Schäfer, AbdouMaliq Simone, Lokman Slim, Eda Ünlü-Yücesoy among others.


Initiated by metroZones in 2009, Global Prayers is carried out in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the European University Viadrina. Global Prayers - Redemption and Liberation in the City is a research project at the Forum Transregionale Studien. In the framework of the Forum, Global Prayers receives essential funding from the State of Berlin. globalprayers.info

Do., 14. November 2013

The Global Prayers Congress - Eröffnung

Faith in the City

Die Stadt ist kein a-religiöser Raum, das zeigen alle Erkenntnisse, die das internationale Kunst- und Forschungsprojekt Global Prayers - Erlösung und Befreiung in der Stadt seit 2009 versammelt hat. Es sind vielmehr die globalen Metropolen, in denen neue religiöse Bewegungen ihre kulturellen, politischen und ökonomischen Einbettungen finden. Im dynamischen Alltag der Stadt ist auch das Religiöse in ständiger Bewegung. Neue Religionsgemeinschaften unterlaufen tradierte stadtgesellschaftliche Ordnungen und Hierarchien. Mächtige religiöse Ökonomien und ein neuartiger religiöser Mainstream etablieren sich im Herzen der Stadt.

Auf der Abschlussveranstaltung verortet Global Prayers seine Analysen innerhalb aktueller theoretischer und methodischer Ansätze, die auf die Postkolonialisierung und Dezentrierung der Urban Studies sowie der Künste zielen. In Gesprächen, Präsentationen, Film- und Rauminstallationen erkunden Wissenschaftler und Künstler gegenwärtige Manifestationen des Religiösen in der globalen Stadt und beleuchten unter dem Schlagwort "decolonizing research" Fallstricke, Methoden sowie theoretische und praktische Implikationen von wissenschaftlicher und künstlerischer Forschung. Der Performanz des künstlerischen Forschens gilt dabei ein besonderes Augenmerk.

Die Ausstellung "Speaking in Tongues" des niederländischen Künstlers Aernout Mik, in der er Versammlungen religiöser Gemeinschaften denen der Geschäftswelt gegenüberstellt, eröffnet den Kongress.

Parallel zum Kongress erscheint die von Jochen Becker, Katrin Klingan, Stephan Lanz und Kathrin Wildner herausgegebene Publikation Global Prayers, die in ihren Beiträgen die kritische Auseinandersetzung eines internationalen Netzwerks von Forschern und Künstlern mit verschiedenen urbanen Gruppierungen und religiösen Gemeinschaften weltweit spiegelt.


Mit Sammy Baloji (Fotokünstler, Brüssel/Lubumbashi), Jochen Becker (Kurator, Berlin), Mustapha Adebayo Bello (Islamwissenschaftler, Lagos), Filip de Boeck (Anthropologe, Leuven), Manuela Bojadžijev (Europäische Ethnologin, Berlin), Sabeth Buchmann (Kunsthistorikerin, Wien/Berlin), Ayşe Çavdar (Journalistin und Stadtforscherin, Istanbul), Rima Chahrour (Multimedia-Künstlerin, London), Sabrina Dittus (Filmemacherin, Berlin), Köken Ergun (Filmemacher, Berlin/Istanbul), Encarnación Gutiérrez Rodríguez (Soziologin, Gießen), Mona Harb (Stadtforscherin, Beirut), Stefan Heidenreich (Autor, Berlin), Christine Hentschel (Stadtsoziologin, Berlin), Marloes Janson (Anthropologin, London), Grada Kilomba (Schriftstellerin und Gendertheoretikerin, Berlin), Katrin Klingan (Kuratorin, Berlin), Stephan Lanz (Stadtforscher, Berlin), Mikhail Lylov (Filmemacher, Paris), Elke Marhöfer (Filmemacherin, Paris), Birgit Meyer (Anthropologin, Utrecht), Aernout Mik (Künstler, Amsterdam), Christian Nowatzky (Pastor und Leiter des „Berlinprojektes“, Berlin), Martijn Oosterbaan (Kulturanthropologe, Amsterdam), Peter Ott (Filmemacher,Basel/Stuttgart), Jennifer Robinson (Stadtforscherin, London), Joseph Rustom (Architekt und Forscher, Beirut / Berlin), Sandra Schäfer (Filmemacherin, Berlin), Werner Schiffauer (Anthropologe, Berlin), Denise Scott Brown (Architektin, Philadephia), AbdouMaliq Simone (Stadtsoziologe, Adelaide/London), Lokman Slim (Publizist, Beirut), Eda Ünlü-Yücesoy (Stadtsoziologin, Istanbul), Kathrin Wildner (Stadtethnologin, Berlin), Paola Yacoub (Künstlerin, Beirut / Berlin)


Im Rahmen des GLOBAL PRAYERS CONGRESS findet die Fachtagung „On Research II. Reflections on research methodologies“ statt (Teilnahme auf Einladung). In Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung.

Von metroZones 2009 initiiert, wird GLOBAL PRAYERS in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und der Europa-Universität Viadrina durchgeführt. GLOBAL PRAYERS – REDEMPTION AND LIBERATION IN THE CITY ist ein Forschungsprojekt am Forum Transregionale Studien. Im Rahmen des Forums wird GLOBAL PRAYERS maßgeblich durch Mittel des Landes Berlin finanziert. globalprayers.info