Sat, Oct 20: Traffic obstructions around HKW. More…

2013, Wed, Sep 04

The Whole Earth Catalog. Berlin Edition

Theme Day with Berlin Schools

Tools for the future: students from four Berlin schools, working together with artists, film-makers, media educators and teachers, have realized their ideas for tomorrow. The starting point was the “Whole Earth Catalog” which was developed in the 1960s in the US. Now, the HKW’s “The Whole Earth Catalog. Berlin Edition” once again invites several schools to engage in artistic research and to present the analog results in the digital space.

What images do we have of tomorrow’s world? How can we meet our responsibilities toward the blue planet? These were the questions posed in the 1960s by the American Stewart Brand, who later coined the term “Personal Computer”, when he set about developing a handbook for the counter-culture. The result was the “The Whole Earth Catalog”, a compendium of the tools and manuals needed to apply individual initiative and a new consciousness to shaping an alternative future for humanity’s existence on the planet.


Based on the catalog and the exhibition “The Whole Earth”, which took place in the spring of 2013 in the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, students developed analog objects, literary texts, images of all kinds and cinematic essays, reports and audio recordings as an artistic expression of their ideas, stories and Utopias. The results have been collated in a digital encyclopedia and will be presented during the theme days.


10:30 a.m.: Presentations and workshops for students and teachers (not open to the public)

3:00 p.m.: Public presentation

3.45 p.m.: Panel discussion: Analog/Digital/Whatever?

Students, teachers and project leaders discuss their artistic experiences in the analog and digital spaces.


An educational program accompanying the “Anthropocene Project” and the exhibition “The Whole Earth. California and the Disappearance of the Outside”.


In cooperation with: Oberstufenzentrum Kommunikations-, Informations- und Medientechnik (OSZ KIM) - Berlin Wedding, Anna-Seghers-Schule - Berlin Treptow-Köpenick, Carl-von-Ossietzky-Schule - Berlin Kreuzberg, Privatgymnasium der bundtStift_Schulen – Strausberg.

Mi, 04. September 2013

The Whole Earth Catalog. Berlin Edition

Thementag mit Berliner Schulen

Werkzeuge für die Zukunft: Schülerinnen und Schüler aus vier Berliner Schulen haben gemeinsam mit Künstlern, Filmemachern, Medienpädagogen und Lehrkräften ihre Ideen für die Welt von morgen umgesetzt. Ausgangspunkt war der „Whole Earth Catalog“, der in den 1960er Jahren in den USA entstand. Mit „The Whole Earth Catalog. Berlin Edition“ lädt das HKW zum zweiten Mal gleich mehrere Schulen dazu ein, künstlerisch zu forschen und die analogen Ergebnisse im digitalen Raum zu präsentieren.

"Welche Bilder haben wir für die Welt von morgen? Wie stellen wir uns unserer Verantwortung für den blauen Planeten"? Von diesen Fragestellungen ging in den 1960er Jahren der US-Amerikaner Stewart Brand, später Erfinder des Begriffs „Personal Computer“, aus, um ein Handbuch für die Gegenkultur zu entwickeln. So entstand „The Whole Earth Catalog“, ein Kompendium der Werkzeuge und Ratgeber, die notwendig sind, um mit Eigeninitiative und neuem Bewusstsein für die menschliche Existenz auf dem Planeten eine alternative Zukunft zu gestalten.


Angelehnt an den Katalog und die Ausstellung „The Whole Earth“, die im Frühjahr 2013 im Haus der Kulturen der Welt stattfand, haben Schülerinnen und Schüler analoge Objekte, literarische Texte, Bilder jeder Art oder filmische Essays, Reportagen und Tonaufnahmen entwickelt als künstlerische Umsetzung von Ideen, Geschichten und Utopien. Die Ergebnisse werden in einer digitalen Enzyklopädie zusammen gefasst und während des Thementages präsentiert.


ab 10:30 h: Präsentationen und Workshops für Schüler und Lehrer (nicht öffentlich)

15:00 h: Öffentliche Präsentation

15:45 h: Panel: Analog/Digital/Egal?

Über künstlerische Erfahrungen im analogen und digitalen Raum diskutieren Schüler, Lehrer und Projektleiter.


Ein Vermittlungsprogramm im Rahmen des Projekts „Das Anthropozän-Projekt“ und der Ausstellung „The Whole Earth. Kalifornien und das Verschwinden des Außen“


In Kooperation mit dem Oberstufenzentrum Kommunikations-, Informations- und Medientechnik (OSZ KIM) - Berlin Wedding, der Anna-Seghers-Schule - Berlin Treptow-Köpenick im Rahmen des Modellprogramms „Kulturagenten für kreative Schulen“, der Carl-von-Ossietzky-Schule - Berlin Kreuzberg und dem Privatgymnasium der bundtStift_Schulen – Strausberg.