2013, Sat, Nov 23 and 2013, Sun, Nov 24

Geographies of collaboration II

Universal horizons and the categories of art

Special Edition Stamp on occasion of the Bandung Conference, 1955

Special Edition Stamp on occasion of the Bandung Conference, 1955

The panel discussions take as their point of departure the Western, ideologically dressed-up concept of freedom, of which the Congress Hall – today the Haus der Kulturen der Welt – itself is a symbol. The building, conceived as an architectural signal in the Cold War, exemplifies the humanistic universalism of the “free West” that reordered itself after the Second World War.
GEOGRAPHIES OF COLLABORATION in turn begins with the question of the claim to universalism. It seeks a new formulation, from various locations and perspectives, for the pursuit and assertion of universality today.

What art form is understood as universal, and at what point in time? What form of expression remains particular and local, and why? How is the globally circulating icon in contemporary art constructed, and what is it determined by?


Saturday, Nov 23: Universal Horizons and categories of the art


3pm Film: Pays Barbare

D: Yervant Gianikian & Angela Ricci Lucchi, F 2013, 65 min, OmE, followed by talks with the filmmakers


Conference 5 - 9pm:


Session 1

5 - 7pm: Presentation and talk with Kader Attia (artist, Paris/Berlin),Ntone Edjabe (founder and chief editor "Chimurenga Magazine", Cape Town)


7 - 7.30pm: Break


Session 2

7.30 - 9pm: Presentation and talk with Lucy Steeds (writer/editor/teacher, London), Anselm Franke (curator "After Year Zero", Berlin)


Which institutional demarcations, museum categorizations and market mechanisms reflect the global power structures and the colonial legacy of the modern era? From the notorious “primitivism” of modern art to the globally operating system of contemporary art today, the conference contributions situate cultural production and aesthetics in the geopolitical geographies of modernity.


Sunday, Nov 24: Universal Horizons and categories of the art


Conference 5 - 8.30pm


Session 1

5 - 6.30pm: Presentation and talk with Bassam El Baroni (curator/writer, Alexandria), Koyo Kouoh (artistic director RAW Material Company, Dakar)


6.30 - 7pm: Break


Session 2

7 - 8.30 pm: Presentation and talk with David Barton (artist/writer, Chungli, Taiwan), Susanne Leeb (art historian, Basel)


Participants:

David Barton is a professor of Comparative Literature, film, the 'West' since 1994 at the National Central University, Chungli, Taiwan. He has published several books, among others “Pornography of the Emotions” (on Taiwan contemporary art), “Teachng Inghelish in Taiwan” (on William Burroughs versus TOEFL in Taiwan). His further interests include Asian subaltern subjectivity (the father complex and awkward passivity), Canadian multiculturalism as Corporate Strategy and 'mental illness' among Canadian aboriginal woodcarvers.


Ntone Edjabe is founder and Editor-in-Chief of Chimurenga, a publication of culture and politics. He is also co-editor of African Cities Reader, a biennial publication in collaboration with the University of Cape Town. He is the founder and co-curator of the Pan African Space Station (PASS), an internet based music project. He has collaborated with numerous radio stations and publications, including Bush Radio 89.5, Politique Africaine, L'Autre Afrique, BBC Focus on Africa. As DJ, he is a founder of the Fong Kong Bantu Sound System, a collective based in Cape Town. As speaker on contemporary African art and culture, he has participated in events around the world, including Documenta 12, Africa Remix, Dak’art biennial and many more.


Bassam El Baroni is a curator and art critic based in Alexandria, Egypt. In 2005 he co-founded the non-profit art space Alexandria Contemporary Arts Forum (ACAF), and was its Director until December 2012. In 2010, he was co-curator of Manifesta 8, Murcia, Spain, and is currently a PhD researcher in the Curatorial/Knowledge program at Goldsmiths, University of London.


Koyo Kouoh started RAW Material Company, center for art, knowledge and society, to stop complaining about the art scene in Dakar, but has not stopped complaining. She is neither a curator nor a writer, but makes exhibitions, publishes books and helps others in the same labor. Her discoursive programs, exhibitions and publications have included contemporary artists, thinkers, writers, activists, non-artists, designers, politicians, architects, maniacs and chefs.


Susanne Leeb works as a lecturer in art history at Universität Basel. Her doctoral dissertation was on „The Art of the Others: World Art and the Anthropological Configuration of Modernism“. Together with Kerstin Stakemeier and Johannes Paul Raether, she was responsible for the latest issue of the journal Texte zur Kunst on the topic of globalism.


Lucy Steeds is an editor of the Exhibition Histories research and publishing project of Afterall at Central Saint Martins (CSM), University of the Arts London. She is Pathway Leader for the Exhibition Studies MRes Courses at CSM. She is currently working on a book, “Exhibitions”, for the “Documents of Contemporary Art” series (Whitechapel Gallery and The MIT Press, 2014).

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Sa, 23. November 2013 und So, 24. November 2013

Geografien der Kollaboration II

Universelle Horizonte und die Kategorien der Kunst

Sonderbriefmarke zur Bandung-Konferenz 1955

Sonderbriefmarke zur Bandung-Konferenz 1955

Die Panels der Konferenz nehmen den ideologisch verbrämten Freiheitsbegriff des Westens zum Ausgangspunkt, für den nicht zuletzt die Kongresshalle steht – heute das Haus der Kulturen der Welt –, konzipiert als architektonisches Signal im Kalten Krieg. Der Bau exemplifiziert einen humanistischen Universalismus des „freien Westens“, der sich nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs neu formierte.

GEOGRAFIEN DER KOLLABORATION nimmt den Anspruch auf Universalismus wiederum zur Ausgangsfrage, um von verschiedenen Standorten und Standpunkten aus neu zu formulieren, worin das Streben und die Behauptung einer Universalität heute noch bestehen könnten.

Welche Kunstform wird zu welchem Zeitpunkt als universal verstanden, welche Ausdrucksform bleibt partikular und lokal, und warum? Wie konstruiert sich das weltweit zirkulierende Zeichen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst und wodurch wird es bestimmt?


Samstag, 23.11.: Universelle Horizonte und Kategorien der Kunst


15h: Film Pays Barbare
R: Yervant Gianikian & Angela Ricci Lucchi, F 2013, 65 min, OmE, anschließend Gespräch mit den Filmemachern


Konferenz 17h - 21h


Session 1

17h - 19h: Präsentation und Gespräch mit Kader Attia (Künstler, Paris/Berlin), Ntone Edjabe (Gründer und Chefredakteur "Chimurenga Magazine", Kapstadt)


19h - 19.30h: Pause


Session 2

19.30h - 21h: Präsentation und Gesprächmit Lucy Steeds (Autorin/Redakteurin/Lehrerin, London), Anselm Franke (Kurator "After Year Zero", Berlin)


Welche institutionellen Grenzziehungen, museale Kategorisierungen und Marktmechanismen reflektieren die globale Machtstrukturen und das koloniale Erbe der Moderne? Vom notorischen "Primitivismus" der Kunst der Moderne bis zum global operierenden System zeitgenössischer Kunst heute situieren die Beiträge kulturelle Produktion und Ästhetik in den geopolitischen Geographien der Moderne.


Sonntag, 24.11.: Universelle Horizonte und Kategorien der Kunst


Konferenz 17h - 20.30h


Session 1

17h - 18.30h: Präsentation und Gespräch mit Bassam El Baroni (Kurator/Autor, Alexandria), Koyo Kouoh (Künstlerische Leiterin RAW Material Company, Dakar)

18.30h - 19h: Pause


Session 2

19h - 20.30h: Präsentation und Gespräch mit David Barton (Künstler/Autor, Chungli, Taiwan), Susanne Leeb (Kunsthistorikerin,Basel)


Teilnehmer:

David Barton ist seit 1994 an der National Central University, Chungli (Taiwan) Professor für Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften, Film und den „Westen“. Er ist Autor mehrerer Bücher, darunter Pornography of the Emotions (über zeitgenössische taiwanesische Kunst) Teachng Inghelish in Taiwan (über William Burroughs gegen TOEFL in Taiwan). Zu seinen weiteren Interessen gehören die subalterne asiatische Subjektivität (der Vaterkomplex und unbeholfene Passivität), kanadischer Multikulturalismus als Unternehmensstrategie und „psychische Krankheit“ bei Holzschnitzern unter den Ureinwohnern Kanadas.


Ntone Edjabe ist Gründer und Chefredakteur von Chimurenga, einer Publikation über Kultur und Politik. Er ist ebenso Mitherausgeber des African Cities Reader, einer alle zwei Jahre in Zusammenarbeit mit der University of Cape Town erscheinenden Publikation. Zudem ist er Gründer und einer der Kuratoren der Pan African Space Station (PASS), eines netzbasierten Musikprojekts. Er arbeitet mit zahlreichen Radiosendern und Publikationen zusammen, dazu gehören unter anderem Bush Radio 89.5, Politique Africaine, L'Autre Afrique und BBC Focus on Africa. Als DJ ist er Gründer des Fong Kong Bantu Sound System, eines Kollektivs in Kapstadt. Als Redner über zeitgenössische afrikanische Kunst und Kultur nimmt er weltweit an zahlreichen Veranstaltungen teil, unter anderem an der Documenta 12, Africa Remix, Dak’art biennial und vielen anderen.


Bassam El Baroni lebt Alexandria, Ägypten, und ist Kurator und Kunstkritiker. 2005 war er einer der Gründer des freien Kunstraums Alexandria Contemporary Arts Forum (ACAF), dessen Leiter er bis Dezember 2012 auch war. 2010 war er Mitkurator der Manifesta 8 in Murcia (Spanien). Zur Zeit forscht er für seine Promotion am Curatorial/Knowledge-Programm an Goldsmiths, University of London.


Koyo Kouoh hat RAW Material Company, das Zentrum für Kunst, Wissen und Gesellschaft gegründet, um aufzuhören, über die Kunstszene in Dakar zu klagen, hat aber nicht aufgehört zu klagen. Sie ist weder Kuratorin noch Autorin, sondern macht Ausstellungen, publiziert Bücher und hilft anderen bei der selben Arbeit. Zu den Teilnehmern ihrer diskursiven Programme, Ausstellungen und Veröffentlichungen gehören zeitgenössische Künstler, Denker, Autoren, Aktivisten, Nicht-Künstler, Designer, Politiker, Verrückte und Köche.


Susanne Leeb arbeitet als Dozentin am Kunsthistorischen Seminar der Universität Basel. Sie hat über "Die Kunst der Anderen: Weltkunst und die anthropologische Konfiguration der Moderne" promoviert und die jüngste Ausgabe der Zeitschrift "Texte zur Kunst" zum Thema Globalismus zusammen mit Kerstin Stakemeier und Johannes Paul Raether konzipiert.


Lucy Steeds ist eine der Herausgeberinnen des Forschungs- und Publikationsprojekts Exhibition Histories von Afterall am Central Saint Martins (CSM), University of the Arts London. Sie ist Pathway Leader für die Mres-Kurse in Exhibition Studies am CSM. Zur Zeit arbeitet sie an dem Buch „Exhibitions“ für die Reihe Documents of Contemporary Art (Whitechapel Gallery und MIT Press, 2014).